1. OCAU Merchandise is available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion in this thread.
    Dismiss Notice

The Great Big NBN Sticky Thread

Discussion in 'Networking, Telephony & Internet' started by Akh-Horus, Dec 21, 2016.

  1. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    12,403
    Location:
    Melbourne
    alexc likes this.
  2. millsy

    millsy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    14,050
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Awyis, finally have telstra home 5G available, will tide me over till I can get FTTP
     
    alexc likes this.
  3. alexc

    alexc Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,865
    Location:
    Adelaide
    It randomly arrived in my area a while back too!

    I tried it for a couple of months, and it was amazing!

    Really fast, I was easily getting 800Mbps+ down in speed tests!

    I'm not sure any CDNs were ever delivering content that fast though LOL

    Epic and Steam still took forever to download updates!

    However, the 1TB data allowance wasnt enough to make it worth keeping!
     
  4. millsy

    millsy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    14,050
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Fortunately I'm boomer spec in terms of consumption, rarely using more than 500gb.

    I'll keep my FTTN regardless, just in case. I currently have 50mbit FTTN and a 400gb/mth 5g mobile broadband plan, so this should be a nice jump for little cost and relegate FTTN to being the backup
     
    alexc likes this.
  5. neRok

    neRok Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,316
    Location:
    Perth NOR
    The wait is over. I'm connected right now, FTTP :D Speed test ping seems improved (and of course I'm getting the 50mbps I'm now paying for), so now I need to test some games.

    2 questions though, because I had to config my router manually with the root mode (the settings weren't appearing in admin mode);
    1. "NAT Type" I can choose NAPT (the default that is working), Full-Cone NAT, or Disabled. Which one should I be using? I'm with AussieBB if that makes a difference.
    2. IP Protocol I had on 4&6, and 4 connected, but 6 stayed at "Connecting", so I disabled 6 (4 only now). Is this correct?
     
    alexc likes this.
  6. jpw007

    jpw007 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,800
    iirc IPV6 is still an opt-in beta with ABB, so only IPV4 works for most users.

    Can't help you with the NAT Type though.
     
    neRok likes this.
  7. glennsfield

    glennsfield Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    387
    Location:
    Central Coast, Sydney
    Hey everyone i have telstra FTTC NBN at the moment and just the telstra smart modem
    Is there a better modem to use and should i change providers for better speeds?
    Cheers?
     
  8. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    12,403
    Location:
    Melbourne
    for FTTC the RSP supplied device functions as a router, not a modem. unless you have specific needs the "smart modem" is not too bad. the wifi could be better and they do seem to sag under multiple client devices, but for the average home they work OK. and they have the advantage of 4G failover.
     
    alexc likes this.
  9. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    12,403
    Location:
    Melbourne
    new network throughput high score - 21.51Tbps.
     
    alexc likes this.
  10. cvidler

    cvidler Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    16,330
    Location:
    Canberra
    sorry, I was re-downloading my Steam collection....
     
    alexc likes this.
  11. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    12,403
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I told them it was Linux isos and educational videos.
     
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2022
    alexc likes this.
  12. millsy

    millsy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    14,050
    Location:
    Brisbane
    upload_2022-7-11_10-25-29.png

    _sigh_
     
    alexc likes this.
  13. glennsfield

    glennsfield Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    387
    Location:
    Central Coast, Sydney
    I just game and like minimum latency really. Also live in a really big house so better wifi would be great
     
  14. Slug69

    Slug69 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2002
    Messages:
    10,397
    Location:
    Sydney
    Ubiquiti Edge router, secondhand HP switch, Ubiquiti AP, Ethernet cable to your gaming PC FTW. I have my Telstra Smart Modem plugged in on seperate range on second Router port so home phone still works and if NBN goes down I have 4G backup.
     
  15. mooboyj

    mooboyj Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Messages:
    1,074
    The gradual decline of our FTTN connection continues. We've had massive road works and now peak at 30/6. I only have our TV now consuming stuff at 1080, everything else has been dialled back. Our next door neighbour gets 33/6.5 and both of them WFH basically full-time. They are now looking at permanent 5G options...

    We had 40/10 only a few months ago but it has steadily decline. We've also had Telstra and NBNCo out over 10 times now. It's better than ADSL2, but it won't be for much longer :Paranoid:.
     
    eva2000 and alexc like this.
  16. Unbanable

    Unbanable Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012
    Messages:
    233
    Does anyone have an idea how i can speak to a person from nbn???

    All the extensions on the contact number lead to recordings!!!

    I am so fking pissed atm!
     
  17. TheWedgie

    TheWedgie Insert Custom Title Here

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2002
    Messages:
    3,184
    Generally speaking, you can’t speak to anyone at NBN - you need to go via your RSP.

    What’s actually the problem - there’s a few people around that may be able to help or offer advice if they’ve had similar issues.
     
  18. Unbanable

    Unbanable Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012
    Messages:
    233
    The problem is pretty much all the houses adjacent to mine can upgrade to fttp

    There is nothing special about our property

    I called all providers including my own “optus” and they said their system doesn’t have my address as upgradable from fttn to fttp even though the entire street is ready

    The providers are saying it’s an nbn thing and they have no control

    Guess what? I can’t contact the fkers from nbn!

    So i’m left hanging!

    Because of this garbage company I was forced from 100mbit coax cable (which is speeds from 15 fking YEARS ago) to now 50mbit FTTN

    So In a span of almost 2 decades, my internet speed has gone DOWN!!! Even some third world countries have faster internet than I do lmfao!

    That is why I hate this garbage company so much!
     
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2022
    alexc likes this.
  19. TheWedgie

    TheWedgie Insert Custom Title Here

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2002
    Messages:
    3,184
    Hrmm. When I had an issue with an address “not existing” my ISP (ABB) were able to submit a query to NBN to have it looked at.

    It did have to get escalated to someone that knew the process but at least the first person I spoke to knew that it existed and who to ask.
     
  20. Unbanable

    Unbanable Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012
    Messages:
    233
    And did nbn contact you or did you have to go back and forth with your service provider?
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: