The Great Big NBN Sticky Thread

Discussion in 'Networking, Telephony & Internet' started by Akh-Horus, Dec 21, 2016.

  1. cvidler

    cvidler Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    12,213
    Location:
    Canberra
    You can check the BGP route maps (there's a few places online) so you can see which ISPs have the fewest hops to your destinations.
     
  2. ir0nhide

    ir0nhide Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    4,230
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Problem is ISPs can and do regularly change routing on their international networks, so this information can only be taken as a 'point in time' reference.
     
  3. cvidler

    cvidler Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    12,213
    Location:
    Canberra
    yep, but it's 100% better than some noob coming in and saying 'my connxion is teh fasts'

    ISPs will also change CVC and peering bandwidth at will too.

    Unless you're buying SLA'd business connections there's no guarantees.
     
  4. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    10,261
    Location:
    Melbourne
    ^^ this. consumer grade connections basically guarantee you a connection, not the quality of it.

    as soon as you want quality guarantees, the price will send you white.
     
  5. TehCamel

    TehCamel Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,183
    Location:
    Melbourne
    stupid question but it's escaping me just now.

    FTTN service was put in place over an existing PSTN Service, which does nothing.
    I beleive it has voice continuity on the service
    the PSTN service is with a different provider to the NBN service provider

    Can I cancel the PSTN line.. ?
     
  6. chrissara

    chrissara Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    715
    Location:
    Mackay, Qld
    Hmmm I thought someone here on the forums said that FTTN is pretty much a straight swap as opposed to FTTP which requires the telco to come out.

    Telstra are telling me that this isn't correct and there is a three to four week wait for a tech to come out for FTTN.
     
  7. asho444

    asho444 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1,034
    Location:
    Sunny Coast
    They may have meant for the Tech to come and switch your lines at the node.
     
  8. chrissara

    chrissara Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    715
    Location:
    Mackay, Qld
    Ahh cheers.
     
  9. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    10,261
    Location:
    Melbourne
    yep. this isn't Telstra any more, every NBN FTTN service is "naked" with optional POTS passthrough.

    VoIP is not "voice" as far as NBN are concerned, it's just a QoS class suited to carrying it.
     
  10. VirtualNinja

    VirtualNinja Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2003
    Messages:
    923
    Location:
    North Parramatta
    Had FTTB recently installed. It was $10 cheaper than my old iinet plan. :D

    [​IMG]

    NBN in our area is due in 2019.
     
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2017
  11. DonutKing

    DonutKing Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,210
    Location:
    Tweed/Gold Coast
    So a few months ago I signed up for FTTN via tesltra, then got a call a couple of weeks later saying that 'additional work is required to make my address NBN-ready'. The telstra guy said it was 'category 10' whatever that means.
    Didn't stop the flood of junk mail coming in telling me to switch to NBN.

    Anyway, now when I check on nbnco.com.au it says NBN is available at my address, but Telstra, iiNet etc all says its not available. All sites says my neighboring addresses can get NBN.

    What's the story here? I hope I haven't missed out and they are going to force me onto fixed wireless in a couple of years :thumbdn:
     
  12. zero_velocity

    zero_velocity Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,559
    Location:
    QLD
  13. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    10,261
    Location:
    Melbourne
    so their plan is to offer 1Gbps plans on a loss-making basis, and hope pricing drops below the purchase resistance point inside a year? GLWT.
     
  14. scips

    scips Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    424
    NBN tech has come and gone.
    Installed in crap spot (due to the house layout/construction I can understand why, not fussed can always just run a cable for it to where i want my pfsense box/nas etc)

    But no mac etc was in the order so its not activated, activations had to escalate.....save me cas-penobi :(
     
  15. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    10,261
    Location:
    Melbourne
    sorry dude, I don't have anything to do with the HFC network. should be pretty quick, they won't want to blow their activation SLA.
     
  16. Gibbon

    Gibbon grumpy old man

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    5,558
    Location:
    2650
    Pushed put another 6 months sometime in the last few weeks. H1 2019 for us now. -sigh-
     
  17. Plonkflopped

    Plonkflopped Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Messages:
    296
    Location:
    Brisbane
    4BRA-01
    4BRA-20

    Actual Ready for Service /
    Disconnection Commencement 19 May 17

    Still no connection. ISP's are giving me the ready soon crap.

    Perhaps I should just pack up and move somewhere that already has NBN. Probably get it quicker.
     
  18. Doc-of-FC

    Doc-of-FC Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2001
    Messages:
    3,336
    Location:
    Canberra
    NBNco dslams do any AQM (codel?) within the CBQ configuration or are is it just tail dropping / creating additional buffer bloat?

    should nbnco only be offering plans that are less than the line sync rate to stop serialisation delay in the DSLAM. Otherwise the ISP TX's at the avc rate to NBNco who then buffers / tail drops the traffic before the copper.

    interesting scenario for people on quotas ;)

    Or do we all implement google BBR for everything and abandon tcp slow start:
    https://cloudplatform.googleblog.co...mes-to-GCP-your-Internet-just-got-faster.html
    http://queue.acm.org/detail.cfm?id=3022184
     
  19. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    10,261
    Location:
    Melbourne
    this is why NBN offer line rate insertion, see section 5.2.3 of the PTS. specifically there to allow ISPs to shape outgoing data to a rate appropriate for the line rate, in the event that the speed tier exceeds what the line can transmit.
     
  20. Doc-of-FC

    Doc-of-FC Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2001
    Messages:
    3,336
    Location:
    Canberra
    sweet, so 100% of NBN experience comes back to RSP provider edge management (cvc / queue management)
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: