The Incompetence of Major Corporations in Australia

Discussion in 'Business & Enterprise Computing' started by SiliconAngel, Feb 7, 2014.

1. SiliconAngel

SiliconAngel Member

Consider the following statement: "I'm a web developer and I'm building a portal for a new financial services industry startup with major backing that bridges the gap between key banking products from all the major vendors and financial product resellers. Customers can plug right into those banks, getting financial data on a range of areas that only certified and authorised brokers can access. Obviously we need to consider security, so I'm going to publish my own SSL certificate and then we'll get clients to change the security settings in Java to allow both the SSL and plain HTTP parts of the site to be trusted explicitly, so they can access everything without it breaking. Oh and we'll make sure they know to click through the 'untrusted certificate' warnings so their experience isn't tarnished by their unsophisticated understanding of the tech."

If you think that's a serious statement, alarm bells should be ringing and you should be about ready to hand me my own backside.

The good news is, I'm not a web developer and I'm not creating any such portal. The bad news is, this sort of thing is pretty common practice in Australia, and I think it's about time it stopped - in fact, pretty much this exact scenario is playing out right now, but not from a startup.

Today I was thrust into the middle of yet another failure on the part of two large corporations that has gone unnoticed with zero ramifications for the organisations in question, despite the them being in breach of Best Practices and numerous security agreements and exposing their customers to security vulnerabilities.