The Mozilla.org Thread, Everything Firefox, Mozilla and Thunderbird related.

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Hari, Oct 15, 2003.

  1. mikezilla2

    mikezilla2 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    174
  2. mevereyn

    mevereyn Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    998
    Is there anything like IE-style cookie management, for Firefox?

    I did a bit of googling, but admittedly, I am a bit hungover and therefore, feeling lazy. :p

    What I mean is, the setting in IE, where you can have the browser prompt you every time an undefined domain goes to shove a cookie down your throat. You select allow or refuse, and optionally have either choice stick for that domain. Almost always, I'd be having the choice stick, incidentally.

    Add-on? Hack? Shit out of luck? :confused:
     
  3. von Stalhein

    von Stalhein Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,908
    Location:
    Thurgoona NSW
    Would this do some of the stuff you are after?
     
  4. TheWedgie

    TheWedgie Salty

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2002
    Messages:
    2,756
    Location:
    South Australia
    Wow, looks interesting!
    Might have to give it a go - I'm certainly no tinfoil hat wearer, but I am fairly curious when it comes to who's tracking my internet usage.
     
  5. von Stalhein

    von Stalhein Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,908
    Location:
    Thurgoona NSW
    Well, other than the Ghostery people watching everywhere I go, and the keylogger and TeamViewer like program they installed, it's all good!

    Ok, it was only the keylogger.......:sick:
     
  6. grum00

    grum00 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    2,557
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Cookie Monster:
    https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/cookie-monster/

    but I also use RequestPolicy (it's similar to Ghostery but I prefer it)
    https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/requestpolicy/
     
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2012
  7. mevereyn

    mevereyn Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    998
    Yeah, RP is great. I use that too, along with a ton of other security/privacy/utility/convenience addons. My general policy (except, usually, when setting up servers) is a whitelist approach.

    It doesn't look like Cookie Monster actually throws up a dialogue window every time a cookie is "offered" - that's what I like about IE (and no, pretty much nothing else, lol). All I would need is a prompt for my whitelist, every time. The additional blacklisting in IE is unnecessary, for me anyway.

    Still, if CM is the closest it gets, I guess I'll try that. Thanks. :thumbup:

    Otherwise, maybe I could just always have "IE Tab 2" switched on. :weirdo: Hm, or not.
     
  8. SLATYE

    SLATYE SLATYE, not SLAYTE

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    26,805
    Location:
    Canberra
    Quick question regarding Firefox v3.6.22: is there some way to make it remember links to files?

    When I visit a website (eg. www.msy.com.au) it obviously remembers that, and if I type "www.m" into the address bar it'll fill in the rest. However, it refuses to remember www.msy.com.au/Parts/PARTS.pdf, which is the one I actually need to use all the time.

    It'll even remember mis-spellings of that which don't exist (eg. www.msy.com.au/Parrts/PARTS.pdf) because these eventually point to a valid webpage (the Google "link is broken" one).

    Any help?
     
  9. Rezin

    Rezin Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    9,486
    I'd just set it as a bookmark. You could even create a shortcut on the desktop (with that URL) which would start up Firefox and open the PDF.
     
  10. HumbleBum

    HumbleBum Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    16,773
    Location:
    United States
    Its fixed in future versions.. I would just type 'parts' and it would be first to come up most likely.

    I know that doesnt help.
     
  11. SLATYE

    SLATYE SLATYE, not SLAYTE

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    26,805
    Location:
    Canberra
    Good idea!

    That does actually help. Do you know which version they fixed it in? I probably should upgrade to a slightly newer version at some point.
     
  12. Rezin

    Rezin Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    9,486
    It was about a year (or so) ago. Version.. 6, or 7.. one of those. They're up to 11 now, btw. :lol:
     
  13. HumbleBum

    HumbleBum Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    16,773
    Location:
    United States
    lol.. Yer it was about a year ago.

    to prove it, I just tested it.. it works. As long as the site is in your history. :thumbup:

    Ver 11
     
  14. mixsetup

    mixsetup Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,603
    Location:
    Wynyard Tasmania
    Hi there have Firefox 8.01 and now I can not watch youtube video's.
    I reinstalled Firefox and reinstalled Flash player and still nothing.

    I get a black box but do downloading line and it just sits there.

    It all works with IE and Safari.

    This has just started about three days ago.

    Any help is appreciated.

    Thanks
     
  15. Dimtar

    Dimtar Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,304
    Location:
    Coffs Harbour
    Is there a reason your not on the latest version of Firefox? Its at 13 now.
     
  16. mixsetup

    mixsetup Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,603
    Location:
    Wynyard Tasmania
    No just never bothered to update it. The backup file is for 8.01 so just left it.

    Thanks updated Firefox to 12.0 and youtube works now. Thanks again
     
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2012
  17. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    128,638
    Location:
    Canadia
    Anyone with any flash issues at the moment? I'm getting crashes with the latest version of Flash player.....and FF3.6.
     
  18. Dass Booty

    Dass Booty Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2001
    Messages:
    1,681
    Location:
    Logan, Queensland
    Flash crashed so often I went to Chrome and never looked back. I do still use Firefox for ABC iView downloading.

    You can minimize flash issues in Firefox by disabling hardware acceleration [Options -> Advanced -> General tab].
     
  19. mixsetup

    mixsetup Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,603
    Location:
    Wynyard Tasmania
    yeah I get them I just keep reloading the page and hit cancel when I get a popup. Don't know what else to do.
     
  20. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    128,638
    Location:
    Canadia
    For me I've discovered it's just an issue with the latest flash : (

    So just a few minutes ago I removed the current, 11.3 r300 and went back to 11.2 r202. Everything seems to be up and working again :thumbup: The crashes were starting to give me the shites.

    mix: Try going back a version of your flash. worked for me.
     

Share This Page