The Mozilla.org Thread, Everything Firefox, Mozilla and Thunderbird related.

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Hari, Oct 15, 2003.

  1. Lunchbox

    Lunchbox (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Messages:
    123
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Bookmarks -> Manage Bookmarks -> File -> export to file

    then just import them via the same menu :)
     
  2. aerospyke

    aerospyke Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    Messages:
    3,245
    Location:
    Sydney NSW
    lol too simple, no wonder.

    cheers mate
     
  3. grum00

    grum00 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    2,557
    Location:
    Adelaide
    The bookmarks are stored in the file "bookmarks.html" in your profile directory (which by default is C:\Documents and Settings\*username*\Application Data\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles). ;) So, alternatively you can just copy that file across. Whatever's easiest.
    Also, if you want to save for a format you can just copy the whole profile folder . Then when you reinstall, create a shortcut to "firefox.exe -p" which will start the profile manager and you can just create a new profile that points to the profile folder you saved (or you can also edit profiles.ini, which is the recommended way of doing it). You will then have everything back. (See here)
     
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2006
  4. nux

    nux Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    16,780
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I use MozBackup for Firefox and Thunderbird backups.
     
  5. syxx

    syxx Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,994
    Location:
    Everton Hills , Brisbane
    same :) it is the best


    syxx
     
  6. Zzapped

    Zzapped Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2001
    Messages:
    12,352
    Location:
    Madora Bay
    Annoying firefox problem

    Ive been using firefox for the past month or so and have come across an annoying issue, take the OCAU front page for example, I want to click on the recent threads links on the left hand side of the page and have those links open up in a new tab in the existing window but they still spawn a new browser window instead, now I have been through the settings and told firefox to open links in a new tab but it still opens in a new window instead

    Cheers

    Z
     
  7. foxmulder881

    foxmulder881 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Messages:
    5,884
    Location:
    Gold Coast, QLD OS:Linux
    Before I migrated to Opera Browser, I used to have this common problem using FF. I seem to remember uninstalling FF and deleting all it's related files and settings and then reinstalling.
     
  8. EsKy

    EsKy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2003
    Messages:
    15
    In Firefox:
    Tools > Options > Tabs > Check the "Force links that open windows to open in" then select a new tab.

    [​IMG]
     
  9. Zzapped

    Zzapped Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2001
    Messages:
    12,352
    Location:
    Madora Bay
    I dont have that screen.........there is no "tabs" option under tools

    :confused:

    Running ver Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.7.12) Gecko/20050915 Firefox/1.0.7

    Cheers

    Z
     
  10. _slappy_dn

    _slappy_dn Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    715
    u may wanna try out the tabbed browser preferences extension, it could help.
     
  11. Zzapped

    Zzapped Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2001
    Messages:
    12,352
    Location:
    Madora Bay
  12. Wired_man

    Wired_man Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    1,033
    Location:
    Sydney
    Upgrade to Firefox 1.5
     
  13. holdennutta

    holdennutta Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,849
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I want to run firefox 2 beta because the spell check feature is awesome!

    But I need to use the 'net useage item' extension - which doesn't say it supports the beta.

    Is there someway to hack it so that it will?
     
  14. blakeyboysmith

    blakeyboysmith Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2004
    Messages:
    379
    there is a version that works with RC1
     
  15. da_neural

    da_neural Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    953
    FireFox + THunderbird HELP

    I just rebooted my pc and all my bookmarks and thundebird profile has been delted :upset: :upset: :upset: does anyone know if there are any backups automaticalyl made by thunderbird and firefox?
     
  16. nux

    nux Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    16,780
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Are you logged in as the default profile?
     
  17. timmay556

    timmay556 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,283
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Fire Fox 1.5 Re-size issue.

    When ever I open a Fire Fox window it constantly isn't full screen, it used to open all the time full screen but now opens and take up only 1/2, any way to remedy this?
     
  18. timmay556

    timmay556 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,283
    Location:
    New Zealand
  19. ABS

    ABS Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    849
    Location:
    Brisbane, QLD
    Disabling Downloads in Firefox???

    Is there an extention I can use to disable downloads in Firefox? I'm trying to stop a family member from downloading and installing trash on their computer.
     
  20. Toker

    Toker (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    Messages:
    225
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Firefox bookmarks question..

    Just wondering if there is a plugin for firefox that makes the bookmarks work like IE..

    The only thing I want from IE is when you start typing in a web addy, say overclockers for an example, if you had it saved in IE faves as "overclocker" as soon as you typed "ov" IE would list the faves starting with "ov"

    Can firefox do that ??

    Cheers.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: