The Razer Mamba Review

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Hardware' started by eastley, Apr 28, 2009.

Tags:
  1. eastley

eastley Member

It's been a long time since I ever laid my hands on a wireless mouse, the last being a MX Revolution. I have been a gamer for years and have always used corded mice, from the popular Logitech MX518 to the G9, but my most favorite is the Razer Death Adder.

I was extremely excited when I first came across the announcement of a new Razer mouse, the Mamba. A wireless mouse with 1ms polling rate, I thought to myself it can't be.

Then there were the options to have it cabled while it charged, superb I thought, but the one thing that I needed from it was that the shape be like a Death Adder, I have tried the Lachises and found it to hard to get to the side buttons, which I use to knife in Call Of Duty 4.

I studied the pictures, the videos, anything I could find, it appeared to be a similar shape of the Death Adder, not the Lachesis, with an added bonus of a better looking scroll wheel.

So I took the plunge and ordered one, to my surprise is was delivered quickly and within no time I had it in my hands. How did it feel? Well, like a Death Adder, and I was stoked. All buttons with my usual grip I could get too, the only slight issue is the two buttons on top of the mouse on left side of the right click, they need to much pushing and it gives it a weak feeling, even though it is not.

The mouse has all the usual buttons Razer normally uses, with the addition of those two buttons I just mentioned. On the bottom of the mouse it has a On/Off button, Wireless connection and an eject button to remove the usb cable. The wheel is a little different than Razer's usual, the side of each wheel now has a strip which lights up blue while the center remains Razer's usual style, but black.