[WORKLOG] The Tiny Super Development Rig - Preplanning

Discussion in 'Extreme and Water Cooling' started by Tazor, Sep 6, 2015.

1. Tazor

Tazor Member

Hey all,

It's been a while since I've built a system. Last time I just did a Fractal Node 304 with 780ti Classified and a 3770K with an H90. It was fast and small and I loved it. But it wasn't fast or small enough. So I'm going to build, what I believe to be, the most overly-powerful-while-still-being-tiny system I can think of. So I'll run through what I have planned.

For reference I'm building this PC because I'm a games designer when I'm not working and my laptop just can't quite cope with some of the super high poly sculpts I do. SO I figured this system might be able to cope. Also I just got a new, higher paying job, so I can afford to be mental with this one.

So what am I planning? Well, as the name would suggest I really want to use an Ncase M1. It's super small, but also super well thought out and pleasant to behold. I've seen a lot of powerful builds and plenty of water cooled builds in these so I knew what I'm planning could be done. But I'm taking it a step further. I'm not using a Z170 board and i7. I'm going for X99. With a Xeon 2699 V3 chip. For anyone who doesn't know what that is, it's an octadeca core processor. So that's 18 cores and 36 threads. To complement that I will be using a Titan X graphics card and 32Gb of registered ECC DDR4 Kingston memory. I will also have a 1Tb SSD and a 240Gb M.2 Boot drive. Powering all this will be a custom cabled Silverstone 600W SFX power supply.