The Uninviting *Tales of an Ugly Gaming PC*

Discussion in 'PC Build Logs' started by StreekG, Oct 12, 2017.

1. StreekG

StreekG Member

Hi guys,

I have just started purchasing parts for my new LAN gaming PC. The name was a hard one, i basically just used 3 words that describe deceit/trickery and put them into one sentence.
    My main rig is just too big and chunky to cart around to events, also don't feel comfortable carting a custom loop around in my car

The idea: I have always liked the retro beige PCs people have built with modern high end hardware. I want to take this to the next level.
    Not only do i want the exterior to look nothing special and ordinary, but i want to do the same with the hardware, while retaining modern high end components. However i'm not a expert case modder so i will not be going too over the top. I'm thinking to do a case window showing off the incredibly ordinary and old looking equipment inside.
    The desired result is people looking at the computer wondering what the hell it is and why is it chomping out frame rates like a boss

Parts:
    Case: Supermicro DS3a, modern server case, top mounted PSU for old school appeal​
    [​IMG]

Motherboard:Supermicro X11SAE-M - Micro ATX, green motherboard. Supports 7th Gen Intel CPU, m.2 support and has one PCI-E 16x slot, enough for high end graphics cards and chomping frame rates
    [​IMG]

CPU: Probably a 7700K - Delidded. Decided to use an Intel TS15A Cooler, it's pretty beefy and gives it the old school look with a bit of beef.

Graphics: Looking at this stage for the GTX 1070 Katana Single slot card with PCB showing, or possibly a powerful Quadro for ugliness
    [​IMG]

Power Supply: Will use a Seasonic X-650 unit with a custom sticker made to look like an old underpowered PSU, get custom sleeving in PCB Green/Beige
    [​IMG]

Storage: M.2 Drive with an EK-m.2 silver heastink and SSD hidden somewhere