[WORKLOG] The water cooled X99 BEHEMOTH - 5960X - 2+ meters of monsta rads

Discussion in 'Extreme and Water Cooling' started by Jrcjamie, Apr 29, 2013.

  1. Jrcjamie

    Jrcjamie Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Messages:
    176
    Location:
    Port Stephens
    Components

    Case -Case labs TH10 case with pedestal and 120mm top cover

    PSU - Corsair AX 1200 / DIY sleeving

    Mobo - Waiting for ASUS X99 Work Station

    CPU - Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme

    RAM - (interim) Crucial 8gb DD4 :(

    GFX - Asus 290x

    Rads - 2x 560mm monsta's & 2 x 480mm Monsta's

    Res - 3 x Aquacomputer Aqualis 880ml XT Pro

    Pumps - moving to 4x D5's with dual pump tops over two loops

    Controllers - Aquaero 6 XT


    Jump to X99 onwards




    Monitors - Dell u2713hm 27" ultra sharp. 4 x 24" Dell 2407's

    HDD's
    512gb SSD Samsung 830 series (steam)
    120gb SSD corsair (OS)
    2x 2tb (raid 1)


    Thanks for looking and feel free to throw in your 2 cents. I need all the advice and help I can get.

    Cheers
    Jamie

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2015
  2. Lichking

    Lichking Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    917
    Location:
    Nangiloc
    Getting in early maybe BUT IF you want to sell the 800D at some stage fell free to pm me..
    and btw
    welcome to OCAU or Ward 8..not a lot of difference really :)
     
  3. electro rc

    electro rc Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,332
    Location:
    Sunny Coast bruh
    First question. Whats your budget? Please don't say "I don't have a budget" or you will get suggestions saying "buy 50 SSDs and RAID them:thumbup::thumbup::thumbup:" haha. Aparenly the performance leap between 1155 and 1150 CPUs will be minimal so I wouldn't suggest waiting unless you really want to.
    Cheers,
     
  4. OP
    OP
    Jrcjamie

    Jrcjamie Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Messages:
    176
    Location:
    Port Stephens
    My Budget at this point is open as I will be funding pieces bit by bit each week and month etc. I dont plan on odering 6k of stuff in one hit. I plan on selling a lot of old bits and pieces from other hobbies to help fund components. Because of this it is hard to predict what i will throw at it. At current i still have a fairly decent system that will keep me up and running.
     
  5. electro rc

    electro rc Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,332
    Location:
    Sunny Coast bruh
    Triple/quad SLI Titans? I'll post something more constructive when I'm back on my PC haha.
    Cheers,
     
  6. Frontl1ne

    Frontl1ne Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,886
    Keep your current CPU/Mobo and throw all the dosh at Titans + big screen. :thumbup:
     
  7. OP
    OP
    Jrcjamie

    Jrcjamie Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Messages:
    176
    Location:
    Port Stephens
    Pedestal arrived and assembled. 120mm Top cover arrived with it, oddly enough the case didn't arrive with them. Tomorrow I suppose. 2nd Last pic is the 2x 560mm radiator mounts installed. Last pic is the 560's I'm hoping to drop in. I'm ready to buy a Titan when they are back in stock. What's the deal with the EVGA card being cheaper than palit etc? Is the factory overclock a disadvantage or something? Can't figure it out, want EVGA or ASUS though. Thinking about going OS if the wait is too long. At this stage I'm like the look of the EVGA X79 dark mobo for this build. Has mixed feedback on looks but I think I like it.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  8. OP
    OP
    Jrcjamie

    Jrcjamie Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Messages:
    176
    Location:
    Port Stephens
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2013
  9. Carcin0Genic

    Carcin0Genic Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    1,575
    Location:
    Sunshine Coast
    For ultimate L33TN3SS put the dog in the case :thumbup::lol::D:weirdo:
     
  10. OP
    OP
    Jrcjamie

    Jrcjamie Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Messages:
    176
    Location:
    Port Stephens
    Haha....so many people had cats in their build logs so i decided to showcase Moose the 16 week old rottie :) I will do my best to squeeze him in if i can :) will make a sweet pic inside TH-10 (easy done ;)).
     
  11. loony979

    loony979 Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    Nice build that tower looks enormous , screen positioning reminds me of that movie SwordFish .

    looks clean & crisp keep up the good work :):):)
     
  12. Kommandant33

    Kommandant33 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3,869
    Location:
    Cheltenham VIC
    Social worker.

    Shape-o and kids toys in the back ground.

    TH10 and Titan?

    Ladies and gentlemen, we have a drug dealer.

    haha

    Looking good so far, can't wait to see your jaw drop when you start ordering watercooling bits and it ends up costing more than the TH10 :D

    Good luck!
     
  13. OP
    OP
    Jrcjamie

    Jrcjamie Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Messages:
    176
    Location:
    Port Stephens
    Thanks for the feedback guys

    Had a good laugh Komm. I was on my iPhone and couldn't see the highlighted part until i got on the PC.

    If you must know how I'm funding it :)

    [​IMG]

    I just read through your build log and can see why water cooling parts will add up. Damn you have a nice system, great work.. I want your ram too. Do you notice any difference in PC speed with faster ram?



    Ended up taking this advice and will keep some gear for a little longer, Cheers.
     
    Last edited: May 19, 2013
  14. OP
    OP
    Jrcjamie

    Jrcjamie Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Messages:
    176
    Location:
    Port Stephens
    Forgot to order SSD brackets with the case :( temp fix

    [​IMG]

    1st run with Titan, I think from memory I got about 10k with my 680 classified
     
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2014
  15. Kommandant33

    Kommandant33 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3,869
    Location:
    Cheltenham VIC
    Ram is good -you defiantly don't have to go for the platinum - there are plenty of other 2400MHz sticks with tighter timing for less dollars, but in the real world use of a PC you don't notice much difference.. I mainly went for the platinums for the look AND the guarantee that you would be able to run at rated speed.

    As for your AX1200, you can buy pre-sleeved cable sets, which is the easy way of getting sleeved cables in the system. It may be a bit more expensive than buying Bitfenix sleeved cables, but at least you get EVERYTHING and you don't have to hide mountains of stock cables.

    As for your SSD's, you don't need the bracket, this is where you can get creative, and knock something up yourself!
     
  16. STUdog

    STUdog Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,294
    Why such a small build?

    And such a large case? I assume your upgrading soon?

    Also how can you run 5 screens off 1 titan?
     
  17. OP
    OP
    Jrcjamie

    Jrcjamie Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Messages:
    176
    Location:
    Port Stephens


    Yep upgrading soon. Just had this hardware from my old PC. Can only run 4 screens at the moment however I have an old GTS9800 I thought about throwing in to run the last screen to see what it looks like.

    I got given the 4 24" dells from work so I thought I would use them. I'm not quite sure how they are going to work out for me. I imagine I will sell them and try and grab 2 more ultra sharp 27's. in which case I would then need two more titans I would say.
     
  18. aeries

    aeries Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,364
    Location:
    Sydney
    sub'd for the nice build.

    :thumbup:

    now check out mine
     
  19. OP
    OP
    Jrcjamie

    Jrcjamie Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Messages:
    176
    Location:
    Port Stephens
    If anyone wants 2x 7970 HIS stock coolers swing me a PM. You can have them for free. I would post in the for sale section but I still have 3 weeks left on my sentence!
     
  20. tiro_uspsss

    tiro_uspsss Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,436
    I won't if I were you - you might need them for RMA / re-sale purposes :thumbup:
     

Share This Page