Three days in Shanghai! Suggestions?

Discussion in 'Holidays & Travel' started by ItsDanK, Oct 13, 2012.

1. ItsDanK

ItsDanK Member

So I'm heading to Shanghai to watch the Battle.net World Champions but it's my first time to China and I really wanted to get out and explore the city. Sure there's the touristy places but other than that I'm fairly unsure as to where I would be heading out to!

Any suggestions will certainly be taken on board :)

2. karun

karun Member

Make sure you have a Visa.

3. spilla2003

spilla2003 Member

4. OP
    OP
    ItsDanK

ItsDanK Member

Luckily Sydney has it's own Chinese consulate so this shouldn't be very difficult to obtain.

Ah yes, loved the Octopus card especially seeing as most fast food places and the all important 7/11 accepted it. I last went to HK in 2005 and I'm really quite disappointed to see such a system hasn't spread largely in Australia and until I can pay wave journeys on public transport and then head to buy food with the same card I'll never be content!

I'll look out for the Cloud Theatre whilst I'm there, thanks for the advice!

5. karun

karun Member

Well I have seen some people turn up without Visas in the past in front of me, or with only a european ID card where they needed a passport, for some international flights, not specifically China.

For the price the Maglev train is not really worth it from Pudong Airport, other than if you want to go 300km an hour to Longyan Road. Its about 50 yuan.

The metro from Pudong airport is about 7 yuan or so, but slower. Although with the Maglev, you still dont arrive in the centre of the City.

6. OP
    OP
    ItsDanK

ItsDanK Member

Yeah it's a bit strange, I asked my mate if he needed a Visa entering China and he said when he got to Shanghai he filled a few forms out and huzzah! I don't want to risk being turned away though so I'll cough up the 60 ought for a 3 month pass.

7. Mjollnir

Mjollnir Member