Thunderbird cop out

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting Help' started by Gipsyking, Oct 7, 2017.

1. Gipsyking

Gipsyking Member

About 5 days ago Mozilla Thunderbird decided to reject my password so I have no emails coming in or going out. I know my password, it has been printed out with the bunch of other passwords but I can't login. They ask me to create another account but when I try it says this email address has already been taken. Of course-by me and I don't want another email address as I have been using mine for about 15 years.

Any advice?

2. Mad Mike

Mad Mike Member

Are you using imap or pop?
    If your using imap, you could delete your user profile and try again.

3. miicah

miicah Member

Thunderbird is just a client, what email provider are you with?

4. elvis

elvis Old school old fool

This.

Providers like Google (GMail) are now blocking out of date clients that don't meet their minimum security requirements.

Give us some more information. What's your mail provider, what protocol are you using (POP, IMAP, something else), are you on the latest version of Thunrderbird, and are you accessing all services via the correct SSL/TLS settings that your mail provider has mandated?

5. broccoli

broccoli Member

What is the specific message it gives you?
    Who is "they"?

6. OP
    OP
    Gipsyking

Gipsyking Member

Thunderbird is an email client. It talks to one or more email servers and gets your messages from them.