"Tight & Lazy"... The Ghetto Mod Thread

Discussion in 'Modding' started by BlueRaven, Aug 11, 2011.

  1. 3th4n

    3th4n Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    311
    Oh god thats ghetto!

    LOVE IT.
     
  2. C0ncrete

    C0ncrete Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Messages:
    1,757
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    Carpet Call really are the experts in the trade. Try them.
     
  3. Kie

    Kie Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,386
    Location:
    6065
    So tempted to dust off an old machine of mine and make a cardboard case with lots of duct tape.
     
  4. timace

    timace Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,784
    Location:
    Sydney
    If Blacktown is ghetto, this post is the housing estate suburbs around Mt Druitt (Whalan, Tregear, Shalvey, etc)
     
  5. Creekin

    Creekin (Taking a Break)

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Messages:
    10,109
    bahaha
    wishbone is from the ghetto! :lol:



    nice sig btw :D
     
  6. WishBone17

    WishBone17 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Messages:
    4,494
    Location:
    Dundas (Sydney)
    Aka Mogadishu
     
  7. Garido

    Garido Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5,247
    Location:
    Parramatta, NSW
    I decided to add my fans to a passive graphics card. It's a Gigabyte card that came with a bundled game (Neverwinter Nights 2).

    [​IMG]

    ^ I initially had it but never used it. Gave it to a friend for 3 years who used it for gaming but the case had poor airflow so the thermal paste caked on to the heatsink and temps were quite poor.

    [​IMG]

    ^ I recently came back into ownership of the card and attached a slim case fan 12mm thick. Thankfully the fan is very quiet, 1000RPM and wafts air gently over the heatsink.

    [​IMG]

    ^ Initially it was enough but I've overclocked it from the stock (the stock setting was also overclocked). I've also added another fan which is very similar to the new Gigabyte coolers. The temps aren't great but compared to having no fan, it's a dramatic improvement and still EXTREMELY quiet, near silent. My HDD is the most noticable sound in the system now.

    So I've gone from an 8600GT @ 540/1190/700 to 675/1450/1000 (effectively turning the card into an 8600GTS, without the PCIe power connector). Very happy with the result. Great performance for a card which requires little power and is near silent. With the overclocked setting the card would hit 95+ on load, now it's 70 on load and 50 on idle, all while remaining very very close to silent.

    [​IMG]

    ^ Gigabyte's newer/recent windforce cooler, very similar to my type of set up. Considering I got the fans cheaply off a lovely OCAU member (CM96), I'm extremely pleased.
     
  8. kilebantick

    kilebantick Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    813
    Saw this over on another forum.
    Fuck yes ramsinks!
    [​IMG]
     
  9. echineon

    echineon Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    643
    Location:
    2203
    oh lol, and the cap at the top left of the card hanging :lol: I'm tempted to use my thermal pad and screw for ramsink now :lol:
     
  10. kilebantick

    kilebantick Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    813
  11. tdepreacher

    tdepreacher Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Dear god... i never thought how well copper or brass screws would dissipate heat... farkin genius
     
  12. Anisawrus

    Anisawrus Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Messages:
    227
    Location:
    Launceston TAS
    they are most probably CAD (cadmium) plated, and probably dissipate heat pretty shit but nice ghettoing right there, wouldn't want to poke around that computer in the dark XD
     
  13. Hive

    Hive Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    6,245
    Location:
    AvE
    So i wanted a decent videocard in my poweredge 2900 server while my main PC was out of action... However it has no x16 slots...

    More coming soon when i duct tape it inside the case :D

    [​IMG]
     
  14. the Fan-Man

    the Fan-Man Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,580
    Location:
    Botany Bay NSW
    [​IMG]

    Case: Free
    Fan: $20
    internals: $300
    psu just to run the fan: $350
    Result: f***ing loud

    the fan ran at 32 amps, which had its own 750w enermax psu (not pictured)

    case has 2 x 60mm rear fans, which spin at about 1750rpm. turning the radiator fan on over spun them to 4500rpm and reversed the front 80mm fan. infact putting it on a skateboard the computer would move forward slowly :)

    also who could forget :D

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    from this thread
     
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2011
  15. Creekin

    Creekin (Taking a Break)

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Messages:
    10,109
    Gold! :thumbup:
    needs vid or gtfo though :p

    i see where u got ur username from then?
     
  16. OP
    OP
    BlueRaven

    BlueRaven Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,282
    Location:
    Central Coast NSW
    lol at self-propelled skateboard. I agree, needs moar vid.

    Nice pipework on the 'Airbus' case. Time for a 787 mod too?

    I note a reference to "bodgy radiator mod" in your build log... got pix? :D
     
  17. brayway

    brayway Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6,801
    Location:
    New Zealand
    lol.......:rolleyes::p
     
  18. Hive

    Hive Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    6,245
    Location:
    AvE
    Yeah last submission was fail.

    I've scraped the idea of using the dodgey fucking PCI-E riser cable and went full rambo on the x8 PCI-E slot.

    Results:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  19. brayway

    brayway Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6,801
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Haha nice, What did you use to cut it?
    Does it still work?
     
  20. Hive

    Hive Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    6,245
    Location:
    AvE
    Scalpel + butane torch and dremel, Oh yes it still works, very well infact ;)

    [​IMG]

    Lol @ dell saying PCI-E videocards will never work in servers
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: