1. OCAU Merchandise now available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion here.
    Dismiss Notice

Time for the Pentax K-7

Discussion in 'Photography & Video' started by jaebea, May 19, 2009.

  1. jaebea

    jaebea Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    386
    Location:
    Sydney
    So for those P shooters out there, some of you may or may not be aware that in less than 24 hours, the new K-7 will be formally announced.

    Cute little countdown here : http://www.pentaximaging.com/

    Ricehigh's blog has some good, clear photos of the body, but I'd take the specifications listed on his page with a grain of salt. The ergonomics look quite interesting, shades of the Sony bodies with their contoured grips and otherwise squared up dimensions.
     
  2. nisstrust

    nisstrust Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,362
    Location:
    Outbush, NT
    i like pentax glass, hopefully the K-7 does it justice, and either goes Full Frame or 1.3 crop.
     
  3. waiter

    waiter Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    79
    Location:
    Sydney
  4. Lukey

    Lukey Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,886
    Location:
    Newcastle, NSW
    Very doubtful it will be FF, either 1.3 or stay the same, my guess is it may well stay the same, but all speculation hah.
     
  5. Lukey

    Lukey Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,886
    Location:
    Newcastle, NSW
    Hang on wait, they actual specs on Rice Highs page now or not?

    edit: Cause of this baby does 5.2FPS then "wow".

    A new metering, and focussing system, as well as a better focus screen. Holy shit, this camera delivers the goods if they are real specs.
     
    Last edited: May 19, 2009
  6. sir_bazz

    sir_bazz Team Papparazi

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    9,760
    Location:
    Mentone, Vic.
    Who knows? :shrug:

    If they're real it looks nice but pricing will be more important. I'm guessing over $2K which will be a bit rich.

    bazz.
     
  7. Lukey

    Lukey Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,886
    Location:
    Newcastle, NSW
    Well yeah that's what it all comes down to. Given the K20D is round the $1200 mark new (and it's now old), it most likely will come in at over $2000. Which at that price i'd want it, but not be able to justify (I don't make money off this hobby).

    What I really want to see is weather or not the performance improvement is there in the focussing, iso, and exposure. If it does prove to be a much much nicer camera, perhaps in 6 months time it may be on the cards!

    I still can't help getting caught up in the hype, even if it won't be a reality for some time yet regardless.
     
  8. r00b0y

    r00b0y Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    1,419
    Location:
    Sydney
    What would a RAW button do?
     
  9. Lukey

    Lukey Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,886
    Location:
    Newcastle, NSW
    Same as it does now? :lol:.

    Just activates raw, raw+jpeg, jpeg, etc "on the fly".
     
  10. sir_bazz

    sir_bazz Team Papparazi

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    9,760
    Location:
    Mentone, Vic.
    Which is slightly more useful than a Direct Print button. :)

    bazz.
     
  11. Lukey

    Lukey Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,886
    Location:
    Newcastle, NSW
    Oh yes, what a totally useful and awe inspiring button right there. Tbh I have -never- used the raw button except when seeing what it did. That was on the K10D, and haven't touched it at all on the K20D.

    But hey with Lightroom now it's just so easy to always shoot in RAW and sift through them. Used to shoot RAW+JPEG, but then realised that was useless as I still process nearly every shot to some degree (even just a basic auto adjustment can do wonders sometimes).
     
  12. r00b0y

    r00b0y Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    1,419
    Location:
    Sydney
    Isn't there already a button for changing file type/quality?

    A poke in the eye with a burnt stick is more useful than that button. Less insulting to our intelligence :p
     
  13. Lukey

    Lukey Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,886
    Location:
    Newcastle, NSW
    Um correct me if i'm wrong here Bazz, but the RAW button does the file type (ie, raw, raw+jpeg, or jpeg), but won't do quality. Both file type/quality can be adjusted in the menu.
     
  14. Midz

    Midz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Messages:
    690
    Location:
    Sydney
    $USD669 for the k20d at bhp.
     
  15. Andres

    Andres Motor Admin

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    8,051
    Location:
    Adelaide
    The 50D and G10 uses that as a user programmable shortcut. Pretty handy...
     
  16. clonex

    clonex Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    23,421
    Location:
    north pole
    Well 18hrs and ill know what my next camera is, either this or start saving for a canon 5d/s mkii:D
     
    Last edited: May 19, 2009
  17. Lukey

    Lukey Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,886
    Location:
    Newcastle, NSW
    Well the real question is going to be do you want FF or cropped?
     
  18. jezza323

    jezza323 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Messages:
    1,374
    Location:
    Brisbane
    im keen to see the specs

    might give me something to aim for in 18 months time :) lol
     
  19. sir_bazz

    sir_bazz Team Papparazi

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    9,760
    Location:
    Mentone, Vic.
    More leaked images of the new body.

    bazz.
     
  20. xhanatos

    xhanatos Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,040
    Last edited: May 19, 2009

Share This Page

Advertisement: