To convert to PC ... or not ? [SD]

Discussion in 'PC Games' started by Dogo, Nov 29, 2011.

1. Dogo

Dogo Member

So.. I've been gaming on my Xbox 360 for many years now. I would say I mainly (but not only) play single player FPS and RPG games. I used to do a lot of team-based-FPS online gaming back in the day when I was gaming on PC (90s to mid 00s) but not since I went to console. I'd love to get into BF3.

My last PC was a Pentium 3, single core and I can't even remember the gfx card. I don't use it anymore, I use a macbook pro laptop for everyday use.

Recently I've found myself interested in getting back into PC gaming. I've re-educated myself on the latest hardware and spent a fair bit of time lurking in the 'what to buy' threads. I want to get something fairly decent. perhaps $1.5k ish but it may creep, since I have almost nothing to carry forward; my peripherals are getting old. ( my kbd doesnt even work anymore)

I hear a lot of bitching from PC gamers about the current quality and stability of gaming on a PC. It makes me wary of pulling the trigger on jumping back into PCs.
    Just want to fire up a discussion and see what people's opinions are about , given the current situation where many game devs seem to be leaning towards consoles as the primary platforms, whether its worth spending $$ to convert to be a PC gamer , or if I should give in and just stick with my console

Apart from the obvious case of better graphics and loading times from SSD, what do you see as the benefits of gaming on a PC ?
    Does the extra CPU grunt get you better AI, physics etc ?

Personally I've always found PCs to be more immersive than console, purely I suppose based on the proximity to the screen and the environment that I use them in. I have a dedicated study that I can set up to game without people walking through the room.
    I think I'd still keep the xbox in the lounge for some local MP gaming on the couch such as FIFA with my brother.

Thanks.