TPG to buy iiNet

Discussion in 'Networking, Telephony & Internet' started by Ravennoir, Mar 13, 2015.

  1. cdtoaster

    cdtoaster Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4,694
    Location:
    Tokara forest
    Service levels at iinet are already crap, that's why i changed to cable
     
  2. Bold Eagle

    Bold Eagle Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    8,797
    Location:
    Brisbane
    The service desk is the only reason we have persisted with Internode for the last 2-3years. I haven't used the free content or my.games for 2-3 years.

    They really helped us after the Brisbane 2011 Floods (we were ~7KM from the closest water) but our line Copper line went to shit ever since. Telstra tried a massive "headjob" on us leading to more than 40 points of contact with Telstra, >15 tech call outs for static or DC line, and 3-4 contacts to TIO to demonstrate I had enough of their lies. In comparison we had to contact Internode 4-5 times during this period (the last 4.5 years and Aussie talking to me with 5mins or leave number for a call back), 1 tech call out who ran a cable shark and clearly demonstrated it was the cooper line about 87m from our house (and not our equipment as Telstra kept trying to pin the blame on ever after complete swap out of every piece of the networking gear over the years) and they aggressively pursued Telstra for required works on our behalf (significantly impaired service delivery due to crappy line quality).

    Once the Service Desk goes that's it and I will blame TPG for that loss and never consume their products.
     
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2015
  3. Copie

    Copie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    13,541
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Well that and with NBN allowing many smaller RSP's to actually be semi competitive people can now get even better call support.
     
  4. Sankari

    Sankari Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    26,921
    Location:
    Adelaide, SA
    TPG's call centres are based in the Philippines. No curry accent there. In fact, you'll find most Filipinos speak English with an American accent.
     
  5. IKT

    IKT Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Messages:
    4,278
    Here's to skymesh, (hopefully) the saviour of us all. :Pirate:
     
  6. Camm

    Camm Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    858
    The accent's one thing.

    The 'script to a t' customer service that has no fucking idea what they are talking about is however.

    Hell, I would still have been on TPG if I was able to resolve a 'exchange has massive amounts of congestion' phone marathon, rather than have you tried turning it off and on again.

    Yeah, I've tried turning it off and on. And its just magical that the Internet is unuseable between 6:30pm and 11pm.
     
  7. Everlong

    Everlong Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    770
    Location:
    Hysperia
    Ausgamers is still kicking along for news
     
  8. nCrypt

    nCrypt Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,470
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Thank god im not on adsl any more

    had TPG, was shit, had optus, was shit, had internode, and hands down where the best.

    When i had to move, i only moved to where i could get cable.
     
  9. Aetherone

    Aetherone Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2002
    Messages:
    8,554
    Location:
    Adelaide, SA
    Heh, I still have stickied threads on the tech forum. :lol: :thumbup:
    Wonder if I've got a pre-release backup of the site lurking around in my archives somewhere :confused:
     
  10. tygrus

    tygrus Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Left TPG because of poor service and went with iHug which became iiNet

    Many years ago I left TPG because of poor service and looked around for a better deal. iHug (later purchased by iiNet) offered a better deal and ADSL2 came with their own DSLAM well before Telstra offered it.

    I think TPG should keep another brand as their premium service or just offer $/mth upgrade options. Add options for: short wait Australian service; local game servers; local cached content; lower bandwidth contention; business services. Tell the user how much these extras actually cost and let us decide.

    I had a Telstra supplied copper line (PSTN) with iiNet ADSL using it also. Kept getting terrible phone crackle and the ADSL dropping speed & sync. Phoned Telstra with the faults, they would send someone out to "fix" it but soon after they came it would return to being bad. The final "temporary fix" was using 1 wire from each pair to make a complete circuit. Both pairs had a bad wire that would require the whole cable from me to the box 400m away to be replaced. It's been working liked that for more than a year. They obviously don't want to pay for replacing the copper.

    Never use a standard phone extension cable. It's a tiny copper thread in the shop bought leads. I made my own with Cat5e cable and RJ11 connectors (using RJ crimping tool). 20% faster (4.0 instead of 3.3 Mbps, 10m from wall socket, >4km from exchange).
     
  11. SupremeMoFo

    SupremeMoFo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    5,008
    Location:
    Adelaide
    They can be fine. Was using a $2 shop 15m phone cable at my old place before I knew better. No difference in sync speed at all compared to a 1.5m cable (and having the router in the fking kitchen)
     
  12. Sphinx2000

    Sphinx2000 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2001
    Messages:
    7,485
    Location:
    Brisbane
    iiNet network (now presented as TPG Premium?) seems to be still pretty good as well (noticeable on NBN 100/40), impressive overseas speeds compared to Skymesh - which cannot afford larger bandwidth for it's smaller user base.
    Just hope it doesn't got to shit.
     
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2015
  13. BurningFeetMan

    BurningFeetMan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    Messages:
    8,276
    Location:
    Veg City
    Maybe it was running parallel with some power cable?
     
  14. raX

    raX Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Messages:
    735
    the TPG/iinet networks are still unlinked for the time being, it's still far too soon for any merging to have occurred at all..

    I expect once they start migrating users from one to the other (cvc, nni, scalability reasons) is when we'll see if there will be an issue or not.

    I think from economy of scale there will be no issues, the biggest problem seems to be small providers or unpopular ones on the NBN. TPG and iinet are both popular, albeit to different crowds, both will benefit from the others userbases' being merged together for the NBN
     
  15. bart5986

    bart5986 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Messages:
    3,616
    Location:
    Brisbane
    iinet has impressive overseas speed and skymesh doesn't?

    Why do so many people here on ocau go on about skymesh being the best for overseas speeds?
     
  16. SupremeMoFo

    SupremeMoFo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    5,008
    Location:
    Adelaide
    No idea. Let's test it :D

    Internode 50/20 connection -

    Los Angeles, Time Warner server

    [​IMG]

    Los Angeles, HugeServer... server

    [​IMG]

    Singapore, Softlayer server

    [​IMG]

    Tokyo, Cordeos server

    [​IMG]

    London, Softlayer server

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2015
  17. summoner

    summoner Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,531
    Location:
    Perth
    I don't think I've ever seen anyone say skymesh has good overseas speeds. But I mainly see them mentioned on whingepool.
     
  18. bart5986

    bart5986 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Messages:
    3,616
    Location:
    Brisbane
  19. Sphinx2000

    Sphinx2000 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2001
    Messages:
    7,485
    Location:
    Brisbane
    On 100/40 NBN I found local speeds and gaming excellent on Skymesh, but overseas traffic would be noticeable slower throughput - the MD admitted on Whirlpool that there is not enough business case to lease higher overseas bandwidth - which is fair enough. No Youtube or Twitch buffering on max settings at all on IInet, and full 100mbs throughput for uncle torrenz, where others don't quite max it out.

    Don't think I would ever go TPG though sorry, have always preferred to pay for a performance service with limits over an unlimited service which is bound to be abused by whoever. Also, no static IP option is meh.
    Different strokes.
     
  20. kryzak260

    kryzak260 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Messages:
    2,335
    Location:
    London Gov'na
    Yeah, Skymesh were a great company from a support perspective, but their overseas speeds were rubbish. Averaged 2-3MB/s and peaked at 5MB/s on usenet. On iinet I averaged 8-9MB/s and frequently got 10MB/s...
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: