Trinity gaming in an antec isk 110

Discussion in 'Portable & Small Form Factor' started by mathiex, Feb 25, 2013.

  1. mathiex

    mathiex Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Messages:
    309
    Location:
    Brisbane 4152
    Inspired by this:
    https://gist.github.com/sliverstorm/4199804
    minus the silly fan on the outside at the end.

    Anybody done this locally? From benchmarks it should be respectable at 720p.

    Issues:

    Motherboard-
    The MSI mobo FM2-A75IA-E53 he uses eventually isn't in Australia yet. Hopefully 2-3 weeks they say.
    The Asrock Mobo FM2A75M-ITX sounds truly awful- with reports of it catching on fire.
    So what are the options? Asrock FM2A85M can't find much about, other than it doesnt catch on fire.

    CPU-
    A10-5700 isn't available in Australia either, so the A8-5600 or the A10-5800 (and under-clock? to keep stock psu 90w)

    Mounting- I would like to mount this behind a monitor on vesa mount, then mount whole thing on wall, does anybody know a local supplier of such a "dual mount".

    Cheers
     
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2013
  2. mAJORD

    mAJORD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Messages:
    8,912
    Location:
    Griffin , Brisbane
    I looked at a low powered Trinity gaming in a review I did

    http://forums.overclockers.com.au/showthread.php?t=1068853

    Might be of interest.. down in the undervolting section.
    .

    and yes 5700 is unavailable. You can get the 5500 from PChome , but it's a bit of a step down in GPU cores..
     
  3. OP
    OP
    mathiex

    mathiex Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Messages:
    309
    Location:
    Brisbane 4152
    Thanks for that, I actually found your post as you replied to this one.

    Good result on the power consumption, hopefully the Asrock 75 mobo is just an anomaly.
     
  4. akromatic

    akromatic Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Messages:
    430
    yeh i've done an trinity ISK100 build quite a while back around xmas and i build it as soon as parts are available locally, no silly fans outside, PCCG stocks the A85X now. my build is currently using the older A75. if you wish to keep the stock 80w PSU ( yes its really 80w) the you would have to downclock to around 2.6ghz and undervolt to around 1v and certainly not recommended as the stock brick feels hot

    http://www.overclock.net/t/1300645/usff-sff-club/30#post_19368423

    what i have in it is:
    A10 5800k
    Asrock FM2A75M-ITX
    8GB Gskill sniper 1866mhz
    160W pico PSU with 192w brick
    Crucial M4 120gb SSD
    Seagate momentus 500GB 7200RPM drive
    Zigmatek Preaton low profile heatsink
    Scythe 120mm slim fan
    50mm Deepcool fan

    some minor mods to making the PSU plug bigger so i can use the original hole, flipping the mesh side panel and replacing the stock 90mm fan with a larger one
     
  5. OP
    OP
    mathiex

    mathiex Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Messages:
    309
    Location:
    Brisbane 4152
    Cool cheers.. did you try with stock cpu fan or go straight to that setup?
     
  6. akromatic

    akromatic Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Messages:
    430
    went straight for it, i knew from the start the stock fan was rubbish and it wont fit
     
  7. issa2006

    issa2006 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    3,143
    Location:
    AUSTRALIA (ADL)
  8. akromatic

    akromatic Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Messages:
    430
  9. OP
    OP
    mathiex

    mathiex Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Messages:
    309
    Location:
    Brisbane 4152
  10. issa2006

    issa2006 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    3,143
    Location:
    AUSTRALIA (ADL)
    hypernetdist (sa grange road welland) is becoming a distr/reseller..says should be sim price from ebay? wait n see

    i also had that idea a month ago same case ..cpu+board.. not sure of gpu) for a media center.

    but i pickup a mx11 cheap. it has a nvidia 335 (avg gpu)

    im adding a ssd 128g plex m5 pro..but it slow for gaming..

    unless you built one of these..

    (i have older model)

    i built it to be a nedia center + power pc if i want to
    orig it had a 800w zalman (quiet psu)
    775 asus board with a 9450 quad oc to 3.6g + 8800gt sli

    then pud out cpu+ psu + 1 card
    turn it into quiet.
    fanless psu
    fanless heattsink (i added fan below for extra cooling if needed (65w cpu dual core cel)
    added fanless heatsing to 8800gt card

    system overheaded a bit so fan below cpu added with automatic fan control (only kicks in if needed)


    http://www.pccasegear.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=25_1290_608&products_id=20115

    [​IMG]


    iv got the silverstone 400w fanles psu + heatsink
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    http://www.silverstonetek.com/product.php?pid=368&area=en

    (in it is a 8800 gtx fanless) (a bit old)

    iv had it from 2008(a few upgrades) 775 board/psu etc..

    its dead quiet ex for hdd

    but you can put in a ssd.. n no noise.. steam from wirless from diff pc..

    you could built a high end setup in that case..(iv built a sli setup in 2011) for a customer..but its not quiet...but it play everything

    so i got this box.. dead quiet(exp hdd 2tb) i could make it fully quiet...but it take up some space next to screen.. whers notebook smaller..quiet too
     
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2013
  11. issa2006

    issa2006 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    3,143
    Location:
    AUSTRALIA (ADL)
    as you go faster gpu.. you need stonger psu/ cooling...

    i like the fact that it uses a brick pack psu....going away from box...

    but all the intel cpus(exp atom) have fans..not sure about amd?
     
  12. OP
    OP
    mathiex

    mathiex Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Messages:
    309
    Location:
    Brisbane 4152
    AMD have atom equiv that also fanless.

    whole point of build is not quietness but compactness. need to be invisible behind a tv/monitor.

    The silverstone is a nice case, I have the SG02. How annoying is that angular piece of metal for mounting fans??
     
  13. akromatic

    akromatic Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Messages:
    430
    i'd say its more useful then annoying, none the less im quite satisfied with the noise level of my ISK build and i get a**l about noise

    naturally being a SFF enthusiasts i've experianced all kinds of small builds like a SLi and later CF in a SG03(pretty much a shorter SG02 rotated upright) with i7, owns both top spec m11x R1 and R3, curently have 2 ITX gaming servers(to be clustered) with i7 and GTX670 using SG08 and CM elite 120, AMD E350 (atom equiv) HTPC and that ISK trinity as a portable steam box/arcade/console emulator

    honestly the m11x still has decent gaming in it as long as you dont require everything at ultra, i still run pretty much most game out there at 1080p on low except for a rare few, the trinity system has a fair amount more poke then m11x. none the less if you want the smoothest experiance then at 720p you can afford some eyecandy.

    TBH fanless heatsink with a fanless PSU in SG02 is kinda bad move, the SG02 depends on the PSU fan as the exhaust and you lack any solid intake as well.

    IIRC you cant have a fanless 8800GTX but you can with a 8800GT but still those things need air flow around them even while fanless

    you only need about a 300-450w to get respectable gaming performance. 300w can do a 660Ti and 450w can easily take on a 680GTX

    IMO going fanless is not always a smart move but rather the key is having some fans at the lowest noise level so that its inaudible
     
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2013
  14. issa2006

    issa2006 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    3,143
    Location:
    AUSTRALIA (ADL)
    with no fans in the system in summer it overheats, but i added a fan below the heatsink (which they now have a new pro model that does the same)

    i added a fan for the hdd+ use a automatic controller to control fans, only turn on at half speed if cpu overheats, hdd fans runs at 40% fixed

    it still dead quiet, esp if you put a ssd in it...im not sure what to do with my box, as notebook as made it obsolete..also you can use the ps3+ ps3 media server software

    might turn it into a raid server (vis external raid box=card)???
     

Share This Page