1. OCAU Merchandise now available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion here.
    Dismiss Notice

TV/Monitor/CRT Fault Diagnosis. (Pictures)

Discussion in 'Audio Visual' started by Shepete, Feb 19, 2003.

1. Shepete

Shepete Member

TV Fault Diagnosis. (Pictures)

Admin, I have posted this in "overclocking & hardware" also in "Modding & electronics." Please delete if you don't think it is appropriate.

Monitor diagnosis.

I make no claims to being an expert. But I have been doing this line of work for over 25 years.
    When I first had the idea to write this it was going to be a simple guide. It Grew!

Televisions & Computer Monitors share many similarities. As such, the following article contains reference to both. Generally speaking, what applies to one

applies to the other.
    This is by no means a comprehensive list of faults, But should cover the most common faults.
    I have the intention of adding or removing material as I see fit.

Dangers:
    There are many "bightee's" inside a TV or monitor case. Delve inside entirely at your own risk.
    The major dangers, apart from electrocution, while switched on are.

a: Getting zapped from a charged electrolytic capacitor. The main filter capacitor can store a substantial charge for days, if not weeks.It has a charged capacity of about 350 volts. They hurt.The capacitor can be discharged (obviously power off & disconnected) by shorting a 220 ohm 5 watt resistor across it for 5 or 10 seconds.
    b: Getting belted by the charge stored in the picture tube. Stay away from the lead (with the suction cup on it) that goes to the picture tube.The pic tube can store over 27,000 volts.Once again this charge can be stored for days or weeks.