Two sticks of ram causes freezing but not one

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting Help' started by deltoran, May 18, 2019 at 5:11 PM.

  1. deltoran

    deltoran Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    My system randomly freezes when playing games, but if I remove one memory stick (it does not matter which one I remove), it does not crash anymore. They are a matched pair that worked perfectly, for over two years, in my system until more recently & are running at stock. 8GB Each
    I have tried even tried putting them in the other two ram slots.

    Seems really weird that it works with ether one, but not both

    If someone could point me in the right direction that would be hugely appreciated
     
  2. Beavis_Wolf

    Beavis_Wolf Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Messages:
    82
    Location:
    Adelaide SA
  3. merlin13

    merlin13 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Messages:
    1,805
    Location:
    back in BrizVegas
    Yup, hard thrash with memtest to start with.

    Bleedin' Obvious suggestion is also try a different pair of sticks if possible, if the system still icks then it mightn't be actual memory sticks.

    For something really out left field do a hard BIOS reset.

    And scraping the bottom of the "What If?" barrel also check your power supply voltages and system temps whilst thrashing the system when gaming. Also ponder looking at the condition of all the heatsink compound in the system perhaps.
     
  4. Arctic_Silver08

    Arctic_Silver08 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1,080
    Have you eliminated the possibilities of it being one of the slots?
     
  5. Skexis

    Skexis Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    249
    Location:
    Adelaide, 5158
    Which make/model motherboard do you have?
     
  6. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    138,766
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Are there other people with a similar issue with the same setup (motherboard/ram) as you?
     
  7. merlin13

    merlin13 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Messages:
    1,805
    Location:
    back in BrizVegas
    Not the exact same setup, but I've got a couple of DDR2 Corsair sticks that acted up the same way in an old (as in XP old...) system lurking around here somewhere, that magically started behaving when I beefed the power supply up. Yum Cha sticks in the same board all behaved - go figure...
     

Share This Page