Ubuntu 8.10 "Intrepid Ibex"

Discussion in 'Other Operating Systems' started by IKT, Jun 30, 2008.

  1. Outcast_Aussie

    Outcast_Aussie Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    927
    Location:
    Peterboro, Distro:Ubuntu
    Don't set ANY as 100%
    Put them at 98% max as things tend to distort a tad at full whack.. No I don't mean your speakers.


    18 updates this morning and the thing has only just been released.

    I love Ubuntu :thumbup:
     
  2. Dimtar

    Dimtar Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,314
    Location:
    Coffs Harbour
    Sorry for noob question. Could someone tell me a quick and dirty way to add the bigpond repository?

    Thanks
     
  3. HyRax1

    HyRax1 ¡Viva la Resolutión!

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    7,951
    Location:
    At a desk
    Just finished upgrading all my workstations and a friend's HP lappy to Intrepid - all worked flawlessly. EDIT: Not quite - SpamAssassin appears to not be working anymore for Evolution.

    I'll leave my servers for the moment - no need to upgrade them just yet.

    Get whatever the URL is to their mirror and replace any reference to the old URL (eg: au.archive.ubuntu.com) with the new URL in the /etc/apt/sources.list file.
     
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2008
  4. von Stalhein

    von Stalhein Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2002
    Messages:
    2,097
    Location:
    Thurgoona NSW
    Thanks again - I eventually sussed that. It gets the upgrades, but the -f command finds nothing to do.

    I think it might have something to do with the UUID - it keeps coming up with the "kinit no resume image" message.

    I also tried
    Code:
    startx
    and it gives messages saying that there are errors parsing lines in the xorg.conf file. If I comment out the lines referred to, the error message refers to the last line uncommented as the issue.

    Code:
    sudo dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg
    didn't help either.

    later: Okay - fixed the kinit:no resume image issue by remaking the swap file. I still don't have a GUI tho.

    I've manually edited /boot/grub/menu.lst to add the 2.6.27-7 kernel references, but if I select that item the "Error 15 file not found" results on trying to boot.

    It's only getting to the CLI with the 2.26.24-21 kernel. So aside from the GUI issue I need to get that updated somehow.
     
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2008
  5. elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    45,079
    Location:
    Brisbane
    The "-f" command tells apt-get to fix missing dependencies. If it's saying "nothing to do", then there's no broken packages.

    No, that's normal. It's the kernel looking for a RAM image at boot to do a resume from (ie: after a hibernate).

    OK, try the following:

    Code:
    sudo apt-get update
    sudo apt-get install --reinstall ubuntu-desktop xorg xserver-xorg xserver-xorg-input-all -y
    sudo mv /etc/X11/xorg.conf /etc/X11/xorg.conf.backup
    sudo dpkg-reconfigure -phigh xserver-xorg
    
    That'll learn it.
     
  6. elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    45,079
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Once again, not limited to Ubuntu. Other popular distros are no different.

    More importantly, quick updates are a sign of what open source is all about. Compare and contrast to proprietary systems, where you sit vulnerable for weeks while only small volume of coders can provide fixes, and do so some after vulnerabilities are discovered.

    Patch early, patch often.
     
  7. von Stalhein

    von Stalhein Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2002
    Messages:
    2,097
    Location:
    Thurgoona NSW
    Sure did!!! Back in GUI :D

    Now I can continue my paving job without the better half yelling at me to get off the bloody computer!!
     
  8. aerospyke

    aerospyke Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    Messages:
    3,245
    Location:
    Sydney NSW
    took the advice of changing to the internode mirrors but i now get this one line

    W: Failed to fetch http://mirror.internode.on.net/pub/ubuntu/ubuntu/dists/hardy/Release Unable to find expected entry partner/binary-i386/Packages in Meta-index file (malformed Release file?)

    when updating... all other lines are ok.... did i mispell?

    the line in sources.list matches the syntax of all the others :confused:
     
  9. elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    45,079
    Location:
    Brisbane
    elvis: saver of wives' sanity since 1996.

    Glad you got it sorted.

    I can get to that file without problems from iiNet (also on PIPE).

    Are you with Internode and/or a PIPE networks peer? If not, you'll be blocked from that mirror.

    [edit]

    On second thought, it looks like a corrupt release file. That's not uncommon in downstream mirrors early into a release (perhaps they synced mid-update). While not terrible useful, the solution is to wait 24 hours and try again.
     
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2008
  10. Crinos

    Crinos Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    4,027
    Location:
    Tasmania
    Upgraded to Intrepid on my home computer this morning, and it broke X for me as well. Easy fixed, but slightly annoying...

    For the record, this is using the ATI binary drivers.
     
  11. HyRax1

    HyRax1 ¡Viva la Resolutión!

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    7,951
    Location:
    At a desk
    Post up your sources.list - let's gave a look to make sure there are no typos.

    At the moment I'm not getting such an error from Internode.
     
  12. Dimtar

    Dimtar Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,314
    Location:
    Coffs Harbour
    Hi all.

    Another noob question. I went to save my 'sources.list' and it told me i did not have permission.

    I think i have to change to super user in terminal and set permissions to that file? If thats the case i have no idea how to do that.

    Sorry.
     
  13. HyRax1

    HyRax1 ¡Viva la Resolutión!

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    7,951
    Location:
    At a desk
    That's right - only the root user (superuser) can edit that file. At the terminal, edit the sources.list as root with any one of the following lines:

    Code:
    $ sudo gedit /etc/apt/sources.list
    
    $ gksudo gedit /etc/apt/sources.list
    
    $ sudo nano /etc/apt/sources.list
    
    Don't apologise - Linux is the ultimate learning experience! :)
     
  14. Dimtar

    Dimtar Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,314
    Location:
    Coffs Harbour
    Well aren't you a handy fellow?

    That first line worked a treat. My sources.list file now has this at the bottom.

    deb http://mirror.gamearena.com.au/ubuntu/ intrepid-security main restricted
    deb http://mirror.gamearena.com.au/ubuntu/ intrepid-security universe
    deb http://au.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ intrepid-security multiverse
    deb http://mirror.gamearena.com.au/ubuntu/ intrepid-updates universe main restricted
    deb http://au.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ intrepid-updates multiverse
    deb http://mirror.gamearena.com.au/ubuntu/ intrepid main universe restricted
    deb http://au.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ intrepid multiverse

    This does not look super right since the structure of the mirror seems to be more like:

    http://mirror.gamearena.com.au/ubuntu/dists/intrepid/
     
  15. Grant

    Grant Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,729
    Location:
    Wollongong
  16. MadOnion87

    MadOnion87 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2002
    Messages:
    3,232
    Location:
    Old Trafford, Manchester
    8.04 worked better for my laptop I must admit :(
    couldn't get xbacklight to work in 8.10 for some reason. Oh well back to 8.04
     
  17. thetron

    thetron Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    8,167
    Location:
    Somewhere over the Rainbo
    You know you can change the apt mirror in Synaptic preferences and repo

    Where says download from choose other and select your country

    Sounds like GA isn't listed as official mirror by ubuntu
     
  18. von Stalhein

    von Stalhein Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2002
    Messages:
    2,097
    Location:
    Thurgoona NSW
    Again, thanks! As HyRax1 says, it's all a learning experience. I was more than comfortable wending my way around a DOS prompt, but 'nix is a whole 'nother world :) I admire the patience of "those who know", as there is no doubt the same question gets asked over and over again by us n00bs.

    I (again) woke up dumb today, and I know more tonight, so it's all good!!!

    Now, in the interests of furthering my education, I get list of what's starting etc after the splash screen - redolent of something you would use
    Code:
    @echo off
    for in a DOS *.bat file.

    How do I sort that so that it's hidden in the background?
     
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2008
  19. Outcast_Aussie

    Outcast_Aussie Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    927
    Location:
    Peterboro, Distro:Ubuntu

    I don't mind at all.
    Reason ?

    It makes me remember seldom used commands.

    I used to forget commands in debian a while ago which was infuriating.
    I'd spend 3 days googling something and it worked.. Then not use that command for another 6 months or so. Of course inevitably you need that command again but have forgotten parts of it !!

    Off a googling we go !!

    Grrrrrrr

    My sources.list here in UK

    Code:
    deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ intrepid main restricted
    deb-src http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ intrepid main restricted
    
    deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ intrepid-updates main restricted
    deb-src http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ intrepid-updates main restricted
    
    deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ intrepid universe
    deb-src http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ intrepid universe
    deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ intrepid-updates universe
    deb-src http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ intrepid-updates universe
    
    deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ intrepid multiverse
    deb-src http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ intrepid multiverse
    deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ intrepid-updates multiverse
    deb-src http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ intrepid-updates multiverse
    
    deb http://gb.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ hardy-backports main restricted universe multiverse
    deb-src http://gb.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ hardy-backports main restricted universe multiverse
    
    deb http://archive.canonical.com/ubuntu intrepid partner
    deb-src http://archive.canonical.com/ubuntu intrepid partner
    
    deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ intrepid-security main restricted
    deb-src http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ intrepid-security main restricted
    deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ intrepid-security universe
    deb-src http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ intrepid-security universe
    deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ intrepid-security multiverse
    deb-src http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ intrepid-security multiverse
    deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ intrepid-proposed restricted main multiverse universe
    deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ intrepid-backports restricted main multiverse universe
    deb http://download.virtualbox.org/virtualbox/debian hardy non-free
    
    
     
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2008
  20. foxmulder881

    foxmulder881 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Messages:
    5,884
    Location:
    Gold Coast, QLD OS:Linux
    Well I finally gave in to the urge and upgraded from 8.04.1 > 8.10.

    The upgrade went relatively smooth. The only error message I received was something about evolution-alarm-data config failed or something along the lines of that. But it seems to have fixed itself and the upgrade was smooth from there. That was until I had to reboot and then it hung with a black screen and a prompt. Not a terminal prompt, but a prompt on it's own.

    Anyway, I hit the reset button on the PC and performed a reboot and I was pleasantly greeted with Ubuntu 8.10 and my new Awesome 2.3.2 window manager. A nice update to the out-dated 2.0 package that I had been using.

    But my issue of not being able to reboot or halt the system correctly remains and I have no idea what's causing it. Any ideas? Or anyone else having similar issue?
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: