[WORKLOG] Übertower - 2x 560Rads in an 800D - Shutdown

Discussion in 'Extreme and Water Cooling' started by sjp770, Oct 30, 2012.

  1. sjp770

    sjp770 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,717
    Location:
    Sticks, NSW
    So I've had this PC up and running for almost a year, but recently I have started to get serious about it. For the last year I had Intels water cooler by asetek and it was lovely and quite with a nice Intel logo etc. etc. Long story short I'm finally doing watercooling :D

    I had an idea of fitting a 560 Rad into the top of the 800D, so i set to Google to see if it had been done before. There is a great build log on XtremeSystems by Church http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?261898-Lazylog-Nigredo-(Obsidian-800D-560-280)

    I liked what I saw, but wanted to mount the whole rad internally. This was going to be a slow build, but it has taken on a momentum of its own. The 560 is on its way from PCCG and the GPU block just arrived from performance-pcs, but otherwise the rest of the water gear is already mounted.

    System Specs:
    • Intel 3930K Core i7 LGA2011 CPU
    • ASUS Rampage IV Extreme Mobo
    • 16Gb Corsair Vengance 1600MHz DDR3 RAM
    • 2x ASUS R9 290X 4Gb w/ EK FC waterblock Crossfire
    • Intel 520 series 240Gb SSD
    • RAID 10 data array.
    • Corsair AX1200i PSU
    • Dell u3014 30" LCD
    • Logitech Z5500D Speakers, Corsair K95 KB, G700 Mouse
    • Aquaero 5 LT, PowerAdjust 2

    Watercooling rig:
    • Aquacomputer D5 pump w/ USB control
    • Aqualis 400ml pro xt res with nano coating and D5 pump base
    • Bitspower Compression Fittings
    • EK Supremacy CPU waterblock
    • EK FC 290X Waterblocks
    • EK FC Serial Bridge
    • 8x BitFenix Spectre Pro LED 140mm fans
    • 2x HWLabs Black Ice GTX 560mm Rads
    • Phobya 560 RadGrill HEXX

    So obviously there are a few obstacles to slipping a 560 rad in the top of an 800D. Firstly there are the Drive bays, then the power button & front I/O, then the top metal of the case.

    After some careful consideration I decided to go without the rarely used DVD drive and just map a network drive to another one in the house. That may change in the future, but it will require a lot more fu to get it to fit in the case well than I currently have. I also took a look at the rest of the front I/O and wondered if I ever really used them.. The answer is no because of the G110 keyboard providing headphone and mic jacks, the 27" Dell providing USB 3.0 and when it comes to the power button I can work with not having that there. Enter the Red Vandal switch that will replace the corsair logo in the base of the front bezel. The next issue is how to remove the logo without damaging the metal...

    Current system pic:
    [​IMG]

    Older iterations
    [​IMG]
    EDIT: Old System pic! with EVGA GTX 680. Put this in so you can see I eventually abandon the iPhone pics..:thumbup:
    [​IMG]


    EDIT: FLiR was only taken after the 680's were sold.
    [​IMG]

    So with the front I/O gone and no need for the optical drive bays (I wont be using drive mounted fan controllers) I set to work...

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    The white / clear tubing will be replaced with black as soon as I can spare the $$ for another order. I will also try to get better quality pics soon as well.

    Once the 560 is in im going to see if there is space for the 140mm rad where the optical drive bays were.
     
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2014
  2. Creekin

    Creekin (Taking a Break)

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Messages:
    10,109
    reserved for comment on pics... :rolleyes:
     
  3. xRdawGz

    xRdawGz Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    760
    Location:
    Sydney
    reserved for fun.
     
  4. OP
    OP
    sjp770

    sjp770 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,717
    Location:
    Sticks, NSW
    The fans aren't in their final location either.. I dont intend to have the HDD cage cooled.. might even move the 2tb to my NAS. And the AX1200 is going tonight, AX1200i inbound by the end of the week.
     
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2012
  5. OP
    OP
    sjp770

    sjp770 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,717
    Location:
    Sticks, NSW
    The pump:

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  6. OP
    OP
    sjp770

    sjp770 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,717
    Location:
    Sticks, NSW
    The rad grill
    [​IMG]
     
  7. OP
    OP
    sjp770

    sjp770 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,717
    Location:
    Sticks, NSW
    The water cooling setup:

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Sorry for the terrible pics, the ol iPhone isn't doing as well as I thought.

    Testing:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  8. OP
    OP
    sjp770

    sjp770 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,717
    Location:
    Sticks, NSW
    The fan grill arrives with the bitfenix fans and the EVGA water block.

    [​IMG]
     
  9. Ka0sX

    Ka0sX (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,786
    Location:
    Canadian in Australia
    With a 560 Rad there is no need at all for the other rad on the back of it

    But if you are hell bent to have it there why not get some BP crystal link and waterfill sets
     
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2012
  10. OP
    OP
    sjp770

    sjp770 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,717
    Location:
    Sticks, NSW
    When I got the 140 I was hoping to fit it internally at the rear fan space, but the surround to the mobo rear I/O prevented that.

    I will do a buy in a few months for a heap of fittings, but for the moment it's all a draft. I'm thinking of tryin to work the sr1 in some how but I won't be disappointed if it won't fit.
     
  11. Acesi7

    Acesi7 Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,149
    Location:
    Melbourne
    +1 to this.

    A 560 for 1 680 is crazy overkill...

    also the 1200watt PSU for 1 680...

    If it's worth doing it's worth overdoing I guess...:confused:

    Personally I'm running 3x680's off 1x560 and 1x360 on a 1050w PSU...
     
  12. OP
    OP
    sjp770

    sjp770 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,717
    Location:
    Sticks, NSW
    There might be another 680 on the horizon.. If I can sell a few other things..

    Overkill / over engineering is not a bad thing.
     
  13. Acesi7

    Acesi7 Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,149
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Your right it's not, but if your on a budget... Personally, 1x480 Rad + 850w PSU + 2x 680's over 1x560 Rad + 1200w PSU + 1x680. :leet:
     
  14. OP
    OP
    sjp770

    sjp770 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,717
    Location:
    Sticks, NSW
    But then when you get another 680 and you only got a 750w psu in the first place you have to upgrade that then as well..

    It comes down to personal choice really. A psu with a 7yr warranty will outlive the hardware it's running, and at 600w load its above 90% efficient.
     
  15. Acesi7

    Acesi7 Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,149
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I'm not saying your wrong, just asking... But... I said, 850w, not 750w ... Dropping the size of the PSU in question was noticed... lol :lol:

    Edit: Also, my 1050w PSU is 'Fanless' under 30% load, and playing most games, the fan only runs for about 5 seconds in every 2 minutes with 2 680's in SLi...
     
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2012
  16. xRdawGz

    xRdawGz Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    760
    Location:
    Sydney
    The 120 rad sticks out like a sore thumb. Move it internally... just in front of the psu.
     
  17. OP
    OP
    sjp770

    sjp770 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,717
    Location:
    Sticks, NSW
    I did change to 750w to illustrate the frustration of needing to change up parts when you upgrade. I'm also not saying this system will run at 600w, just making a point.

    It's going, don't worry.. probably where the drive bays were.. If at all. I might just keep it for another build some other time.
     
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2012
  18. OP
    OP
    sjp770

    sjp770 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,717
    Location:
    Sticks, NSW
    Started to clean up the front of the case, no more logo, no more front I/O

    [​IMG]

    I'm getting a spare drive bay cover off a mate with the same case soon.
     
  19. self_slaughter

    self_slaughter Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,411
    Location:
    4165
    Mmm nice and clean :thumbup:

    Also nothing wrong with overkill!
    I'm running an sr1 560 with just one 7970 (for now) but I'm going to stick a 2nd 560 in as water temps are pretty toasty already and summer is coming :)
    Also just because I can lol
     
  20. Ka0sX

    Ka0sX (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,786
    Location:
    Canadian in Australia
    how did you remove the logo ?
     

Share This Page