Universal TCP/IP Network Bootdisk (Version 6.5 - 23/MAY/2010)

Discussion in 'Networking, Telephony & Internet' started by driver, Dec 27, 2001.

  1. OP
    OP
    driver

    driver Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    3,581
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Use NERO floppy disk emulation when making a bootCD.

    There's instructions on the bottom of the download page about how to do it.

    ---

    Also glad it's been of use.

    It's amazing sometimes where I get emails from about it :)
     
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2004
  2. gibbz

    gibbz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    1,473
    Location:
    Adelaide, SA
    i dont have a floppy , but would love a cd based version!
     
  3. Iceman

    Iceman Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    6,647
    Location:
    Brisbane (nth), Australia
    If you scroll up the very page you are on you can read not only how to make your own, but why driver isn't making a cd distro.
     
  4. OP
    OP
    driver

    driver Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    3,581
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Version 4.92 was uploaded this morning. Bugfixes for two silly mistakes that have been introduced recently.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    driver

    driver Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    3,581
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Version 4.93 was uploaded earlier tonight.

    Changes
    Ability to change menu timeout within Menu
    * Ability to change Logon Script from the first menu
    * Ability to disable PCI auto detection (edit a:\autoexec.bat and change the set pciscan=1 to 0)
    * Saved/made ~30k more free space... by compressing Uhcarcd.exe and command.com as ZIP (Thanks to David!)
    * Added UltraDMA Support (Thanks Roy!)
    * Added Dlink DFE-650 Driver
    * Updated VIA Driver
    * Updated 3COM Gigabit Driver
    * Updated Realtek 8169 Gigabit Driver - although it still doesn't work with my 8169 card, so we'll all have to see how this one goes.
    * Updated Dlink 530+ Driver
    * Removed old Win98 DOS load-high references
    * Broadcom 0x170D ID added to auto-detection
    * Moved NTFS scripting to a:\filecopy\logon.bat
     
  6. sunesis

    sunesis Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    257
    Location:
    Perth
    Bumping with a very useful tool.

    If you are like me, and have to go through 10 floppies just to get one so you can then grab the image off it to create a bootable CD, then you will love this program.

    http://chitchat.at.infoseek.co.jp/vmware/vfd.html

    Very simply, it mounts and image (or will create one) as a floppy drive. Windows sees it as a floppy, and will happily format it. Changing all the references in Makedisk.bat from a: to b: example will then allow you to create your network boot disk to your virtual floppy. Load the .bin file into Nero, add your other stuff, burn, presto. It should also work for creating bootable disks for BIOS flashing, but I dont know if there will be enough memory left once you boot off a CD. Something to experiment with.

    Driver, do you plan on adding support for the new 9*5 chipsets? The current one throws an error on boot.

    Thanks for this awesome tool, I use it every day.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    driver

    driver Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    3,581
    Location:
    Brisbane
    *#&$(#*&$!!!!! That Virtual floppy drive is just what I've been looking for!! :leet: I'll have to try that out!

    /me looks at the zillon dead floppies on the floor!

    Is there a new 9*5 driver out now? If so, then yes I'll add it in. I've still got to sort out the problem with Intel Pro 1000 cards since the menu will almost always crash then.

    I've been quite busy lately, or in a CBF'd I'm too tired mood otherwise, so hopefully I'll get a chance to work on a new update. :sick: :)
     
  8. dreddnet

    dreddnet Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Ghost from CD

    I recently found your network bootdisk and have found it very useful. The one issue I am running into is being able to create this floppy version to a bootable CD and then being able to access Ghost.exe from the CD when I run the disk. Many of our PC's do not have floppy drives and we do not wish to use Network shares to access the Ghost executable. I would rather just run it from the CD and connect to the Ghostcast Server. Is this possible?

    Also in the ProtoADD.txt file, is there a way to add extra lines to the protocol.ini for different cards. Many of our PC's use Intel Pro 100 or 1000. I need to add a line: SPEEDDUPLEX=3 in order for them to get 100 Full Duplex. But we have a few 3com cards still such as the 3c905 that will now work if I add the SPEEDDUPLEX line for Intel cards, it cause the 3com's to fail to load.

    Thanks for any help!
     
  9. OP
    OP
    driver

    driver Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    3,581
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Well fella's, I've been at it again...

    VERSION 5.1
    Changes:
    * Out of Stack space for Pro1000 fixed??
    * WINS Server now supported for Static IP settings!
    * Menu Timeout value must be <32767 seconds
    * Added Driver for 3c562 3Com EtherLink III LAN+Modem PC Card
    * Added Driver for Adaptec 69xx
    * Added Driver for D-Link DFE-690 Cardbus
    * Downgraded 3com 905 Driver
    * UDMA Driver disabled by default
    * MS Client/TCPIP tweaks

    http://www.users.on.net/~driver/bootdisk/download.htm

    Enjoy! :leet:
     
  10. OP
    OP
    driver

    driver Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    3,581
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Version 5.2

    A new release of the bootdisk is ready for download. Additions and alterations to the disk are as follows:
    * References to www.netbootdisk.com URL added
    * Menu Crashing Fixed?
    * Corrected SMC 80412 Driver
    * Corrected WATTCP.CFG (so the contents are in dotted IP format - sorry forgot to fix this one!)
    * Updated Broadcomm BCM4401 Driver
    * Updated 3COM 575 Driver?
    * Updated D-Link 530TX+. Should also work for Dlink DFE-538TX.
    * Added D-Link 530TX (no plus version)
    * Added 3Com ELPC656 LAN+56K Driver
    * Added Linksys EG1032/EG1064 v2 Instant Gigabit Network Adapter

    www.netbootdisk.com/download.htm

    Thats right I now have a dot com!!
     
  11. Mistikal

    Mistikal Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    2,404
    Location:
    The Forgotten West
    Hey there,

    Great work on ya boot disk - Loving it here!

    I've got a small scenario... We have 3 different machine types here that we want to ghost, but we want to completely automate them thru the disk.

    What we would like is to be able to boot the disk from a CD, and have it load one of 3 ghost images, which would depend on what machine it is (make sense?).

    eg: Machine 1 has an Intel NIC and a P3, Machine 2 has a 3Com NIC and a P4, Machine 3 is a Realtek NIC and an AMD. The disk detects what machine its in, and uses the appropriate ghost image...

    Is this possible? Please let me know ASAP - it's pretty urgent :(

    andy
     
  12. OP
    OP
    driver

    driver Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    3,581
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Yep should be, look at the PCI0 DOS envionment variable. It gets cleared at the end of the bootdisk script, so to save editing the original files, just run PCISCAN again.

    eg: logon script / batch that that does similar:
    Code:
    pciscan ndis.map
    
    net use g: \\server\ghost
    g:
    
    if %PCI0%==E100B goto CloneIntel
    if %PCI0%==EL90X goto Clone3com
    if %PCI0%==SIS900 goto CloneSIS
    echo Not sure which PC to clone, ending...
    goto end
    
    :CloneIntel
    ghost.exe -blah -blah blah -clone intel.gho
    goto end
    
    ....
    ....
    ....
    
    :end
    
     
    Last edited: Feb 23, 2005
  13. Mistikal

    Mistikal Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    2,404
    Location:
    The Forgotten West
    Thanks!

    Works BRILLIANT! :D

    andy
     
  14. Mistikal

    Mistikal Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    2,404
    Location:
    The Forgotten West
    Dumb Question: How can I figure out what the %PCI0% environment variable is from the command line? Just a simple echo %PCI0%?

    andy
     
  15. OP
    OP
    driver

    driver Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    3,581
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Yep, answered your own question.

    %PCI0% holds the detected card's driver filename (apart from the .DOS extension).

    I'm gonna change 5.3 so it doens't delete this value. But I've been too busy lately. As a side note, I now have a CafePress store with NetBootDisk T Shirts!! :D With a total of 0 purchases since I started it last weekend.
     
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2005
  16. Mistikal

    Mistikal Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    2,404
    Location:
    The Forgotten West
    Just tried echo %PCI0% and got no results. Tried echo blah %PCI0% blah and jsut got blah blah :(

    If I get you the name/model of the NIC, are you able to get it for me?

    Thank you :D

    Edit: Here's what I get...

    Found SMC / Accton Technology Corporation [1113], SMC1211 Series Fast Ethernet [1211], 1/0/0
    Found Accton [1113], EN-1207D-TX Fast Ethernet Adapter [1211], 1/0/0


    andy
     
    Last edited: Mar 4, 2005
  17. Mistikal

    Mistikal Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    2,404
    Location:
    The Forgotten West
    I think I snagged it... SMC1211... looked up familiar strings in the ndis.map file, and came to the conclusion it was that...

    Edit: Yay! I worked it out!

    andy
     
    Last edited: Mar 4, 2005
  18. ahendric

    ahendric Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    Is there anyway to be able to touch local hard drives with boot disk

    I love your disk , it is so wonderful. But how do I access my local drives from the command prompt ?

    thanks so much
     
  19. OP
    OP
    driver

    driver Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    3,581
    Location:
    Brisbane
    A DOS bootdisk can't access an NTFS based hard drive by itself. You'll need to use a third party driver, like NTFS-DOS.

    Otherwise, if it's FAT based, you should just be able to go C: :)
     
  20. ahendric

    ahendric Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    I am not sure if this is the proper way to reply to this..

    I do have NFTS Dos..but I am clueless how to tie the 2 together :confused:

    thanks again
     

Share This Page