UNLIMITED TPG Plan & New TPG ADSL2+ Plans and

Discussion in 'Networking, Telephony & Internet' started by Fatmantan, Mar 9, 2010.

  1. ck_psy

    ck_psy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    4,229
    Location:
    Sydney, NSW
    cool
    saved me lots of money.

    not sure how much charges i will have to pay for downgrading thohugh
     
  2. ridecwb

    ridecwb Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    148
    Location:
    Sunshine Coast
    This mobile plan is one of the best going round. All our family and friends are now on it..... Uses Optus but has much better service than them. OK Back on topic, I can't get TPG ADSL2 on the Sunshine Coast here .
     
  3. OP
    OP
    Fatmantan

    Fatmantan Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2002
    Messages:
    9,361
    Location:
    Sydney
    $0 you downgrade
     
  4. ck_psy

    ck_psy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    4,229
    Location:
    Sydney, NSW

    i hope so.

    except i already downgraded already within 6 months (when they made it from 120gb to 150gb.)

    and im not even sure if im in contract
     
  5. OP
    OP
    Fatmantan

    Fatmantan Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2002
    Messages:
    9,361
    Location:
    Sydney
    Its fine.

    You wont get charged if you downgrade/sidegrade. As long as you are paying the same amount or less.
     
  6. shintemaster

    shintemaster Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    749
    I've changed, I'm like many in that I sync at about 5k which means that my real world speeds are only between 450-500kb/s on a good day. The way shaping is going I won't even need any quota soon, just a connection. :thumbup:

    I'm sure it's different for many in decent areas, however there will be a lot of people like me out there that will soon have an effective unlimited plan. I will tell you one thing, with a shaping speed of half my maximum I don't think I'll ever worry about the cap again, it's not enough of a hit to make me notice and 200gb will get me a fair way through the month.
     
  7. Sephir0th

    Sephir0th Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2002
    Messages:
    2,352
    Location:
    Melbourne
    slightly OT but havnt been able to find when searching.. we got onto TPG last week, got a fairly decent line speed, just wondering if it would be worth putting on an adsl line filter, given that we dont have an actual phone connected to the line and dont plan on ever having one?
     
  8. martino

    martino Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,225
    You only need low pass filters if you have any telephony devices on the line.

    No phones/faxes/alarms/foxtel boxes etc - no filters needed.
     
  9. Stoody

    Stoody Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Messages:
    268
    Location:
    Sydney
    anyone else tried bundling with the landline for $1 + the min monthly spend of $10...

    It seems really really good...

    Looking to update from my old ass Optus plan with 12/24gb bundled with landline with 3 mths free internet.
     
  10. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    58,456
    Location:
    brisbane
    erk, if only going naked didn't mean going offline for 10-20 days! Yuck!!

    Anyway just shifted from the old Super2 150 to the new 200 plan - should be good, love the 2/1 capping too that's absolutely brill.

    Way to go TPG!
     
  11. sammy_b0i

    sammy_b0i Laugh it up, fuzzball!

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,554
    Location:
    ACT 2913
    How are people on TPG finding pings to gaming servers? PS3 as well. Also, much congestion of the network at off peak times?
     
  12. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    58,456
    Location:
    brisbane
    I find pings quite good, no comment on PS3 as I don't.
     
  13. sammy_b0i

    sammy_b0i Laugh it up, fuzzball!

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,554
    Location:
    ACT 2913
    We're with 'Node at the moment, 40/40Gb for $89.95 a month or something. Highest speed i've seen from a node server is about 1200-1300kb/sec, which for only ~1k as the crow flies from the exchange didn't sound that great.

    We're finding that in the last few days of the month we're running out of quota in peak. Node has a massive freezone going for it, as well as its own unmetered gaming servers, but TPG has massive data allowance for cheaper.

    We could drop $40 a month to a 70/60 plan with 1mbs shaping and be a lot more content, but there is the worry of tpg with network congestion and having been with them before for ADSL a few years ago, the tech support was abysmal (PNG?).
     
  14. Lou

    Lou Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    436
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I've switched from Optus cable to Telstra phone line and TPG ADSL2+. I've had it since Friday.

    Speeds were abismal on Friday, 30KB/s.
    After support fixed it this morning speeds are now 1.4MB/s.
    With Optus the max for me was 1MB/s.

    So if this speed remains I'll be as happy as a pig in mud.
     
  15. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    58,456
    Location:
    brisbane
    yeah I am nowhere near the exchange and get a solid 13mbit.

    mate of mine was on node and switched to TPG and gets better speeds and pings even to node servers - lol.

    Never used support in my 2 years with TPG so can't comment on that side of things, but changing plans was painless and means no re-contracting either - i just logged in and changed plans, same pricing just 50GiB more data and higher capped speeds.

    All win as far as I'm concerned.
     
  16. shawns_maggot

    shawns_maggot Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    363
    Location:
    Mudgee - 2850
    Why oh why must they tease me with their awesome ADSL2+ Plans :upset:

    Stupid Tel$tra not giving TPG access to ADSL2 ports :thumbdn:
     
  17. OP
    OP
    Fatmantan

    Fatmantan Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2002
    Messages:
    9,361
    Location:
    Sydney
    I tell you what, you send me some wine and i'll download things for you :lol:
     
  18. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    58,456
    Location:
    brisbane
    what's crazy is even with all the advertising everywhere (buses, tv etc) when you say you are on TPG heaps of people still blank stare you like you mentioned some obscure provider.
     
  19. BuuBox

    BuuBox Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Messages:
    9,279
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Telstra Wholesale would be willing to sell TPG access to their ADSL2 ports: at a (high) price.
     
  20. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    58,456
    Location:
    brisbane
    zomg they've already changed my plan over.

    fucken TPG FTW!
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: