"Unofficial" Telstra Cable speed increase

Discussion in 'Networking, Telephony & Internet' started by the_antipop, Apr 18, 2018.

  1. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    143,707
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Mine is apparently due from the end of this month. Haven't heard a peep from anyone about it.
     
  2. iinsom

    iinsom Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    5,864
    Location:
    The Riff
    got appt with ausbb in 2 weeks to get my nbn connected.

    byebye telstra.
     
    Hive likes this.
  3. supasaiyan

    supasaiyan Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    4,598
    Location:
    3000
    NBN HFC became available in my area about a month ago, Telstra has sent me about 6 letters (and emails) saying "NBN HFC is available, but there's delays so don't sign up just yet"
     
  4. greencamel65

    greencamel65 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    359
    Location:
    Asgard
    nbn hfc turned on in my area. I'd pre-ordered with AussieBB. Less then a week and i was online. So much for the delays!

    I've still got my telstra account running for the next week or so, and side by side testing the download speeds are much the same, however upload is where its at!

    Frustrating when i realized the hfc more then capable to deliver a 220/45 internet connection however its not an option on nbn.
     
  5. garnet

    garnet Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    365
    Location:
    3020
    paying $79 for telstra hfc atm for 100/5, shame am in contract for another 18 months or so, am not gona go to nbn so I can pay more for less speed :(
     
  6. wintermute000

    wintermute000 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    2,019
    I only realised NBN was finally available for me when Telstra indicated they were sending out a new NBN compatible router. I had signed up on nbn.com ages ago but I never received a thing LOL.
     
  7. supasaiyan

    supasaiyan Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    4,598
    Location:
    3000
    Recently found out there is actually a 300/5 non NBN HFC that was trialled at work
     
  8. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    143,707
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    FFS, they've dropped me back to 50 "Standard Cable speed" now (according to my account anyways).....sigh.....have to call up again.

    But yet here is my speed on speedtest....what gives??

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2019
  9. evilasdeath

    evilasdeath Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,866
    NBN or still on telstra HFC?

    I think all of Telstra thinks "Standard Speed" on HFC and "Standard Speed" on NBN is the same thing.... They will move you from Telstra HFC to NBN and keep you on "Standard Speed" but you will actually go backwards.

    NBN standard speed is NBN50 (50/20) , Telstra HFC standard speed is now 115/5
     
  10. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    143,707
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Telstra HFC still.

    Ahhh ok, thanks.
     
  11. wintermute000

    wintermute000 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    2,019
    Allegedly (lol) going on Telstra NBN with speed boost come monday. Going from 100/5 to 100/40 so fingers crossed.
     
  12. wintermute000

    wintermute000 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    2,019
    10/10 would do again, down for all of 10 minutes.
    Unrelated rant: I wish people would teach all telecoms people the difference between a modem and a router. It makes communicating difficult for those of us who know....

    [​IMG]

    Side note: does anyone know anything re: flogging the Telstra Smart "modem" Gen 2 that they give you? Is it tied to you, esp. the SIM? Is it safe to flog if you simply remove the SIM?
     
  13. iinsom

    iinsom Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    5,864
    Location:
    The Riff
    You cant remove the SIM, and its tied to your account. So you cant sell it either.
     
  14. wintermute000

    wintermute000 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    2,019
    I just physically removed it.. lol

    Tried to hack it but it simply won't authenticate (according to the console python output anyway) despite the credentials clearly working on the web UI, oh well.

    Be nice to get 40-50 back for it? ONly really worried about the hardware itself tied to my account since you can remove the SIM. It looks totally fine for the average home user
     
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2019
  15. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    143,707
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    How much you paying?
     
  16. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    60,172
    Location:
    brisbane
    you sure as shit can remove the sim, i can't see why you can't sell it - is it the NBN/FTTN version?

    factory reset and it should remove your details. dunno why anyone would buy a technicolour hurl though.
     
  17. wintermute000

    wintermute000 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    2,019
    90 + 30 speed boost
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: