1. OCAU Merchandise now available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion here.
    Dismiss Notice

[WIN7] Upgrading to Win10 - a basic guide

Discussion in 'Windows Operating Systems' started by metamorphosis, Jul 5, 2019.

  1. Deeb0

    Deeb0 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    205
    Location:
    3207
    sketchy install to be honest; which I've spent the past half hour cleaning up, see photo below. It was adding chrome extensions, opera browser and avast. it wouldnt complete without AV off and connected to the internet, hardly any control using the program even in expert mode. I'm not sure what went on... edit, and wouldn't run in safe mode with networking.

    Click to view full size!
     
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2019
  2. FIREWIRE1394

    FIREWIRE1394 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    Messages:
    1,380
    If it quacks like a duck?
     
  3. kogi

    kogi Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,827
    Location:
    2031
    fek, nuke it from space
     
    Deeb0 likes this.
  4. Deeb0

    Deeb0 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    205
    Location:
    3207
    my thoughts exactly. NET framework installs that have different logos? pretty sketchy - all gone now though...
     
  5. OP
    OP
    metamorphosis

    metamorphosis Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2002
    Messages:
    2,019
    It doesn't do any of that. I'm not going to get into an argument with you here, but there's plenty of people who use it.
    And I just ran a malwarebytes scan over the entire snappy folder, including all the 15GB of downloaded drivers - no malware. Whatever you got is the result of something else you've been doing.
     
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2019
  6. elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    42,257
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I've seen at least two instances where the DNS sent a system to a dodgy site, and a different product was downloaded.

    I couldn't tell if this was local malware or a targeted DNS attack, but it appears to me that there is something odd going on.

    I don't think it's the SDI team. I think it's someone else trying to piggy back off their success via a DNS attack.

    Was easy enough to spot as I was familiar with the original tool. But the people affected were new to it, and got hit.
     
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2019
  7. OP
    OP
    metamorphosis

    metamorphosis Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2002
    Messages:
    2,019
    Interesting - might inform the team about that-
     
  8. chilli

    chilli Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    389
    Location:
    sydney
    So I used the SDI installer should there be something I should be doing to protect myself or is it to late ??

     
  9. elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    42,257
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I think of you're making it to the legitimate site and grabbing the right code, you're fine. I use SDI myself, no problems.

    I suspect the couple of systems I saw had problems before they hit the site, and that the redirect was a sign of something else going wrong. I didn't have time to investigate those in depth.
     
    chilli likes this.
  10. chilli

    chilli Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    389
    Location:
    sydney
    cheers thanks for putting my mind at rest
     
  11. chilli

    chilli Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    389
    Location:
    sydney
    Can I still use this method of install on a new computer as I have Win7-64 Pro disk , just want to avoid having to by Win 10 Pro :(
     
  12. OP
    OP
    metamorphosis

    metamorphosis Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2002
    Messages:
    2,019
    Having the disc doesn't really help, you need your Windows 7 key, which you can probably grab from your old machine if you're no longer using it, via Produkey or MagicalJellybean.
    Then do clean install ie. method 1.
     
  13. chilli

    chilli Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    389
    Location:
    sydney
    i actually upgraded old machine to win 10 , but still the same key ??
     
  14. kogi

    kogi Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,827
    Location:
    2031
    Yes, it's still free to upgrade any windows 7 machine to win 10 using the same win 7 key
     
  15. chilli

    chilli Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    389
    Location:
    sydney
    Thank you guys
     
  16. chilli

    chilli Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    389
    Location:
    sydney
    Unfortunately after using method 1 my win10 pro is not activated , It accepted the key I entered for the install and installed ok but now I am getting not activated message.

    Any ideas what I can do ??
     
  17. kogi

    kogi Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,827
    Location:
    2031
    Control Panel\System and Security\System

    *Change product key*

    Enter key again while connected to internet
     
    chilli likes this.
  18. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    154,023
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Try again as mentioned above. Then perhaps ring MS and say you have a valid upgrade path.
     
    chilli likes this.
  19. OP
    OP
    metamorphosis

    metamorphosis Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2002
    Messages:
    2,019
     
    chilli likes this.
  20. chilli

    chilli Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    389
    Location:
    sydney
    Capture.PNG


    Just wondering in my Microsoft account, in Devices it lists my old System would it make any any difference if I removed this unused one from the list ??
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: