1. OCAU Merchandise now available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion here.
    Dismiss Notice

Urgent system not powering up. Was working fine.

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting Help' started by vladtepes, Apr 19, 2020.

  1. OP
    OP
    vladtepes

    vladtepes Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    Messages:
    2,759
    Location:
    Brisbane, Qld
    BIOS deleted (battery out overnight) had no observable effect. :(


    de-overfiend it's not post-ing.
    Jumping the terminals gets the board 'alive' (some LEDs) and the CPU fan spins up (for a while, not too long)
    Nothing else.

    In fact I have the board plugged in to my monitor via the onboard HDMI connection, and it doesn't even think its getting a signal.
    It's my understanding that IF post was occurring this SHOULD display on a monitor, even though there's no GPU on the graphics chip - is that right?


    CAPT-irrelevant
    OK by USB peripherals do you mean mouse and keyboard? Those are the only USB ones connected.

    What about the M2 drives on the board itself, should I take those out to test as well (would require removing the cpu cooler etc)?

    Does BIOS require a CPU to be fitted? What if I was to remove the CPU and try to power on would that suit any practical testing purpose?

    Recharge, sadly the answer is "completely the opposite end of town from Inala" sadly.
    Human malware.. ROFL :lol:


    This is REALLY annoying me, so I really do appreciate the ongoing help you are all offering, a big THANK YOU and please keep it coming... :thumbup:
     
  2. asho444

    asho444 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1,713
    Location:
    Sunny Coast
    Yea, rip out those m.2 drives, get the board bare bone, probably wouldn't hurt to reseat the cooler anyways
     
  3. Kelvin

    Kelvin Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,690
    Do not use the onboard HDMI..

    You will get nothing!!! No output ie a completely blank screen..

    You must use a video card with Ryzen..5/7

    A CPU and a working video card and working ram is required to get any bios output on screen.





    [

    QUOTE="vladtepes, post: 18515997, member: 141104"]BIOS deleted (battery out overnight) had no observable effect. :(


    de-overfiend it's not post-ing.
    Jumping the terminals gets the board 'alive' (some LEDs) and the CPU fan spins up (for a while, not too long)
    Nothing else.

    In fact I have the board plugged in to my monitor via the onboard HDMI connection, and it doesn't even think its getting a signal.
    It's my understanding that IF post was occurring this SHOULD display on a monitor, even though there's no GPU on the graphics chip - is that right?


    CAPT-irrelevant
    OK by USB peripherals do you mean mouse and keyboard? Those are the only USB ones connected.

    What about the M2 drives on the board itself, should I take those out to test as well (would require removing the cpu cooler etc)?

    Does BIOS require a CPU to be fitted? What if I was to remove the CPU and try to power on would that suit any practical testing purpose?

    Recharge, sadly the answer is "completely the opposite end of town from Inala" sadly.
    Human malware.. ROFL :lol:


    This is REALLY annoying me, so I really do appreciate the ongoing help you are all offering, a big THANK YOU and please keep it coming... :thumbup:[/QUOTE]
     
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2020
  4. CAPT-Irrelevant

    CAPT-Irrelevant Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    7,257
    Location:
    Sydney
    hmmm OK, so maybe can't really try that.

    For a time, I had a similar issue where my PC (Ryzen as well) wouldn't turn on. I went as far as jumping the power pins, which de-escalated to just disconnecting and reconnecting the 24-pin mobo power connector, until 1 day I disconnected my whole PC (did not strip down anything in the case) for a house move, and since then everything has been working. I have a few USB and HDMI/DP peripherals (dedicated Radeon card, not onboard) which is why connection shorting was suspect, beyond other suspicion of a faulty front panel board. Since moving house 2 months ago, I've not had any issues since, and that's with my whole rig being re-assembled as it was.
     
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2020
  5. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2018
    Messages:
    666
    Location:
    Western Sydney
    Recharge, has offered to take a look at this build. Why not put everything in a box and send it to Recharge by courier. You haven't the expertise to trouble shoot, Vlad.You will end up bricking the board,if you haven't already.
     
    Defyant likes this.
  6. OP
    OP
    vladtepes

    vladtepes Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    Messages:
    2,759
    Location:
    Brisbane, Qld
    Couriers would bounce the thing around like nobodys business and it'd be more likely to get broken than anything else I reckon.

    I don't think there's anything I've done that could brick the board.

    I actually successfully trouble-shooted (trouble shot? ) a number of builds over the years and this is the first time I've had a problem like this.
     
  7. Defyant

    Defyant Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    Messages:
    1,409
    Location:
    Defyant Modded "Tail" Lights!
    Don't have time to read the whole thread soz .

    2 probs i had with my son's amd / b450..... ram wouldn't some times boot without correct volts.... board defaulted to stock volts and when i set the speed to 3200 it wouldn't boot.


    The other was m.2 and ssd sharing the same resource......
     
    DSTM (Dougie) likes this.
  8. adamsleath

    adamsleath Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    18,803
    Location:
    Sunnybank Q 4109
    [​IMG]
    a bit old fashioned. but it might do the trick.
    i have plenty of dead motherboards that power up and spin the fan...and nothing else. if you find a magic wand please give me a heads up.
     
  9. OP
    OP
    vladtepes

    vladtepes Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    Messages:
    2,759
    Location:
    Brisbane, Qld
    adam did you trace what the cause of those dead mobos was?

    Do you think that's the right hammer? I was thinking a deadblow hammer just because computers are delicate right :lol:
     
  10. OP
    OP
    vladtepes

    vladtepes Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    Messages:
    2,759
    Location:
    Brisbane, Qld
    Just saw this. OK I'll give that a go. Both of them you reckon?


    Thanks
    One wonders why the mobo has an HDMI and DP port at all then?!


    The troubleshooting - if we can actually establish the culprit - will allow me to return it under warranty.
     
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2020
  11. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    64,216
    Location:
    brisbane
    the onboard video is provided by the processor these days. so will only pass through if the processor has it onboard afaik.

    you only just bought this stuff right? no powering up on testbench? might be RMA time.
     
  12. Defyant

    Defyant Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    Messages:
    1,409
    Location:
    Defyant Modded "Tail" Lights!

    LOL for the G chips vlad..........
     
    vladtepes and DSTM (Dougie) like this.
  13. Defyant

    Defyant Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    Messages:
    1,409
    Location:
    Defyant Modded "Tail" Lights!
    Did you check ram voltage and remove m.2
     
  14. theSeekerr

    theSeekerr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,464
    Location:
    Broadview SA
    Because the Ryzen -G models have integrated GPUs (3000G/3200G/3400G)
     
    vladtepes and sonicthemouse like this.
  15. sonicthemouse

    sonicthemouse Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    913
    Location:
    3207 (BH) / 3033 (AH)
    I'm pretty sure it's already covered in the main troubleshooting thread but I'll lay it out for you here just in case.

    Read every step carefully, leave no steps out, report back at the step you get stuck at. Do not "I've already done that so I don't need to". Do every step.


    (0. Take CMOS battery out for 5 minutes. Short CMOS clear jumper while battery is out)

    1. Take it out of my case and put it on a test bench (motherboard box if you have to). DO NOT rest it on an anti-static bag

    2. Install the CPU, CPU cooler, and 1 stick of RAM only. Connect a 4-pin "PC speaker" to the board if you have one. Literally nothing else. Not one other single bloody thing

    3. Connect the PSU 24-pin ATX power and 8-pin CPU power. Ideally a "known good" PSU if you've got one

    4. Attempt to jump board with screwdriver to power switch pins

    If it starts and stays running (by which I mean fans spin), go to 5. If it doesn't, go to 0.

    5. Turn off PSU at mains switch

    6. Turn on PSU at mains switch

    7. Attempt to jump board with screwdriver to power switch pins

    If it starts and stays running, this will be the second time it has started successfully. Continue to 8. If not, main culprit at this point is BIOS chip is dead/faulty.

    8. Turn off PSU at mains switch

    9. Turn on PSU at mains switch

    10. Attempt to jump board with screwdriver to power switch pins

    If it starts and stays running, this will be the third time it has started successfully. At this point, and only at this point, I would consider the board to be 'powering up successfully'. Continue to 11.
    If not, main culprit at this point is BIOS chip is dead/faulty.

    11. Turn off PSU at mains switch

    12. Install GPU in 1st PCI-E slot. Connect 6/8-pin power (as required) from PSU. Connect monitor to GPU output.

    13. Connect a keyboard, only a keyboard, to a USB port. Basic keyboard if possible, nothing fancy

    13. Turn on PSU at mains switch

    14. Attempt to jump board with screwdriver to power switch pins

    At this point, if everything is working, wait up to 60 seconds to see if anything appears on the screen or if any beeps are heard
    • If you get a single beep and something appears on the screen, you're good to go, reinstall other components ONE BY ONE, powering off at mains between installing each component, until you're back up and running
    • If there are multiple beeps coming from the PC speaker, fault-find the beep code (not going to cover that in this post)
    • If there are no beeps, and nothing on the screen, press CAPS LOCK and NUM LOCK on the keyboard and see if the corresponding LEDs illuminate.
      If they do, chances are it's a GPU/display issue
    • If it powers itself off after a few seconds, or stays running but has no display, no beeps, and does not respond to CAPS LOCK / NUM LOCK, there are many possible culprits, but let's hope we solve it before then :thumbup:
     
  16. OP
    OP
    vladtepes

    vladtepes Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    Messages:
    2,759
    Location:
    Brisbane, Qld
    Thanks lads, and especially sonic for the detailed list I really appreciate it.

    Re 0: I don't have a jumper cap thingy. And looking at the mobo under magnification even I can't be SURE which particular item is the CMOS clear jumper I'd need to bridge to clear the CMOS
    The label seem to be between two items on mobo, and I'm not sure which is which. :confused:
    I want to be sure because I don't want to make anything worse :)

    Re 1: Yeah I have it on a piece of cardboard.
    It does occur to me though that at one point (while completely unpowered for days) it was placed on a sheet of bubble wrap. This is when I was building the case, checking stand offs and so on. I mention this in case it might be pertinent.

    PC speaker? Wow there's a thing from the past... :) I thought they were built in these days? My intel system had no external speaker.


    If someone can clarify the CMOS jumper for me I'll happily do those other steps and report back.

    Again, thank you.
     
  17. adamsleath

    adamsleath Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    18,803
    Location:
    Sunnybank Q 4109
    no. how can i? i did all the usual but the wand dint work. tried 6 individual sticks of ram in all sockets. inspected the cpu and cpu socket. attached an as new stock heatsink onto the cpu. used a known good psu. and a known good graphics card. ...and yes the cmos thing and even a new battery on the off chance that was the problem.

    i really just wanna use the hammer.

    thing is. do you have any clarity yet on which components are the good ones?

    plus, when i dont get any beeps i dont read that as a good sign.

    even my current mobo does the beepy thing. dunno if all do.

    here's a noob article which doesnt look very interesting or useful:
    https://www.easypcmod.com/know-motherboard-bad-fix-troubleshooting-guide-282

    https://www.techjunkie.com/motherboard-failure-diagnosis-solutions/
    ===

    an electrician minded person might test the individual components and circuitry but that's a hobby...and beyond me.

    how you can determine if it is the cpu and not the motherboard?. you need spares to test. if you rma a non defective part. what happens then?
     
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2020
  18. 151528

    151528 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    Messages:
    665
    Location:
    Sydney
    Refer to page 25-26 of the manual, I just had a look at the pdf available on MSI's website and the info is there.

    cmoshelp2.jpg cmoshelp1.jpg
     
  19. OP
    OP
    vladtepes

    vladtepes Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    Messages:
    2,759
    Location:
    Brisbane, Qld
    151528
    Thanks I looked in the manual that came with it, its a relatively small pic on
    the A5 page and my eyesight isn't all that wonderful. On the board the text JBAT1 appears between two components. So looking at the diagram you've posted above it is the one directly next to the front audio connector. That clears that up. Thank you. :thumbup: :thumbup: :thumbup:


    I'll have a fiddle tonight if I get a chance.
    Might even work on the computer after that... boom, tish ! Thanks I'm here all week... :lol:
     
  20. AgB deano

    AgB deano Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    926
    Location:
    Bendigo, Vic.
    How did you go? Up and running?
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: