USB 3.0 Front Panel Header Cable Issues

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Hardware' started by SiliconAngel, Jun 9, 2011.

  1. SiliconAngel

    SiliconAngel Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    602
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    I've been over on the Corsair support forums, trying to work out why their cases don't have internal header cables to their front panel USB 3.0 ports (their cables loop back to mainboard backpanel ports), and it appears they are yet to find or develop a cable to internal FPC headers that doesn't suffer from degraded signal quality resulting in lower-than-expected (and specified) USB 3.0 transfer speeds (and according to some members of the public, they have seen devices incorrectly detected and other anomalies due to poor quality internal cables). The odd thing about it is, this is the first time I've heard of a problem with USB 3.0 front panel header cables - surely if the issue is as big as Corsair thinks it is, people would be jumping up and down about it?

    Personally I haven't done enough testing with front-panel USB 3.0 over an internal header connected cable. I'm sure there are plenty of OCAU members with such systems, though - how many of you have full-speed USB 3.0 devices that can push the limits of the bandwidth (such as an SSD) and would you mind running some bandwidth tests? If the issue is as big as Corsair thinks, then the more public discussion there is the sooner a solution will be found.
     
  2. booksacool1

    booksacool1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,224
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I thought that internal USB3 headers were only developed recently?
    I know my USB3 card has an internal USB3 socket, presumably because it was pre-header standard, but perhaps this has something to do with it.
     
  3. FuzzyKaos

    FuzzyKaos Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,158
    Location:
    Adelaide
    This is why I am eagerly anticipating this from BitFenix until it comes out, i wont be using my front usb3 port.
     
  4. VelFog

    VelFog Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Messages:
    862
    Location:
    Melbourne
    that looks the goods. can't rememeber if my sabertooth p67 has the 20 pin header on the mobo itself...pretty sure it does
     
  5. Trdboy

    Trdboy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Messages:
    561
    Location:
    Brisbane, Queensland
    Yeah it does its the green plug next to your sata ports. My z68-ud7 has 2 of them 1 of which has the front panel usb3 breakout box that came with mobo connected to it so ill be looking at that bitfenix cable as well to connect the 2 usb3 ports up the top of my 650d to.
     
  6. FatBoyNotSoSlim

    FatBoyNotSoSlim Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2002
    Messages:
    14,056
    Location:
    Melbourne - 3149
    Lian Li already have one, UC-01. Around $25 and available now.
     
  7. FuzzyKaos

    FuzzyKaos Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,158
    Location:
    Adelaide
    ;) mine does, and so should yours.
     
  8. FuzzyKaos

    FuzzyKaos Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,158
    Location:
    Adelaide
    yer, that one looks like its gonna snap.
     
  9. brayway

    brayway Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6,706
    Location:
    Dun - New Zealand
    Needs to be right angle, due to above reason^
     
  10. FatBoyNotSoSlim

    FatBoyNotSoSlim Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2002
    Messages:
    14,056
    Location:
    Melbourne - 3149
    Pfft, hardly. Install once and it never has to move.
     
  11. Ctrlchris

    Ctrlchris (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Location:
    SE Melb
    If you snap it, youre clearly doinitwrong
     

Share This Page