using a small monitor

Discussion in 'Video Cards & Monitors' started by spit051261, Nov 30, 2019.

  1. spit051261

    spit051261 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2019
    Messages:
    220
    Location:
    Perth
    Just set up my new monitor which is tiny and had trouble getting other windows to show.
    Luckily I had the software for my AOC 35" which had software for splitting the screen.
    Installed it and it works a treat .
    Now it's just a case of setting up a split screen and I can use 2 windows on my 24" monitor.
     
  2. havabeer

    havabeer Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5,114
    [​IMG]
     
    terroristone, nope and Wozzernux like this.
  3. OP
    OP
    spit051261

    spit051261 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2019
    Messages:
    220
    Location:
    Perth
    It's not that bad lol
    Not as good as my 3 x 27" (144Hz) or my 35" (120Hz) but I can't really use them all together . I would need a 19 foot long table and 18 GPU's strapped together just to drive them :D
    After using 240Hz , or couldn't go back to using anything else TBH.
     
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2019
  4. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    60,568
    Location:
    brisbane
    Windows key + Arrow keys??
     
  5. OP
    OP
    spit051261

    spit051261 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2019
    Messages:
    220
    Location:
    Perth
    Yes but it doesn't work as well as the AOC software .
    Just set it initially and forget about it.
    No need to press anything then .
     
  6. OP
    OP
    spit051261

    spit051261 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2019
    Messages:
    220
    Location:
    Perth
    The split screen is not that bad.
    BTW I just ran a speed test for wired and wireless connection because I want the fastest for gaming and I never realized wireless was so slow .
    I will be sticking with the Ethernet cable for now .
    [​IMG]
     
  7. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    60,568
    Location:
    brisbane
    you need wireless AC at least to take advantage of internet that quick.
     
  8. OP
    OP
    spit051261

    spit051261 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2019
    Messages:
    220
    Location:
    Perth
    No need really .
    Just leave it plugged in.
    Thew laptop uses wireless but that is fast enough for that.
     
  9. OP
    OP
    spit051261

    spit051261 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2019
    Messages:
    220
    Location:
    Perth
    I have decided I need another monitor to go with this one .
    I like 2 monitors but not sure what to get .
    Will probably have to get the same speed or they might default to the slowest one.
    Maybe a samsung 27" 240Hz but not sure .
    I will be able to open my own monitor shop soon :rolleyes:
     
  10. Azzan

    Azzan Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,058
    Location:
    Melbourne
    lol I'd just keep 24" Asus XG248Q(240Hz) & 35" AOC AGON AG352UCG6(120Hz) and be happy with em(that's nice combo imo).. especially since you just upgraded from 3x 27" Samsung CFG73(144Hz) only after couple of days.. :D

    But if you have money to burn then replace 35" AOC with:
    27" Asus PG27UQ(4K, 144Hz) - ~$3200 or
    35" Asus PG35VQ(UW 1440p, 200Hz) - ~$3600
    and I'll buy your 35" AOC for half RRP. :thumbup:
     
  11. OP
    OP
    spit051261

    spit051261 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2019
    Messages:
    220
    Location:
    Perth
    I will keep the big monitor for now
    I am looking at getting a PG279Q
     
  12. OP
    OP
    spit051261

    spit051261 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2019
    Messages:
    220
    Location:
    Perth
    I have decided that this monitor is too small and I want a different one.
    I will probably get this one , any comments ?
    Am I making another mistake ?
    Acer Predator XB273KP UHD 120Hz G-Sync IPS 27in Monitor
    I think this one looks good :)
    If anyone wants my small monitor for 450 , it's yours and only a few days old ;)
     
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2019
  13. Azzan

    Azzan Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,058
    Location:
    Melbourne
    lol wtf? I thought you were in love with 24" 240" monitor just couple of days ago.. geez..

    I think you should just keep 24" Asus 240Hz and 35" AOC 120Hz.. but if you are def selling then I'd be interested in 24" 240Hz.
     
  14. th3_hawk

    th3_hawk Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,879
    Location:
    [VIC] Eastern Suburbs
    Wireless has always been slow compared to ethernet, and it gets exponentially worse the further you move from the base station... but then remember that for most people until recently DSL only managed a maximum of 24 Mbit making your WiFi faster than the internet anyway (even more headroom for those like me who were stuck on 4Mbit connections). NBN (or cable) has made WiFi more important, it's also part of the reason we are seeing mesh networks and other boosters in the mainstream as people need better wifi across their houses.

    On a side note, for gaming, it's all about ping, not raw speed. WiFi usually carries more latency than an ethernet connection making cable the better choice, but the loss in maximum speed (at those speeds anyway) aren't likely to have any impact in anything but downloading the updates. I'd also question that without a little counter showing ping in the corner of your screen most people wouldn't notice the difference between WiFi and ethernet in a blind test... especially in your case with both tests showing only 4ms.
     
  15. havabeer

    havabeer Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5,114
    4k on a 27" monitor
    [​IMG]


    you already know where you're going to end up, just by the $7000, 4k, 120hz, 50", G-sync, BFG monitors and just be done with it.
     
  16. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    60,568
    Location:
    brisbane
    24" isn't small, it's pretty much the standard atm.

    anything else is seen as large and peoples brains melt at 32".
     
  17. OP
    OP
    spit051261

    spit051261 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2019
    Messages:
    220
    Location:
    Perth
    My eyes would melt at 50":shock:
     
  18. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    60,568
    Location:
    brisbane
    i've had a 40 for 4 years, 50 would be ok i guess.
     
  19. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    144,550
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    I use dual 27's at work.....even at work I'm past 24" monitors : p
     
  20. th3_hawk

    th3_hawk Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,879
    Location:
    [VIC] Eastern Suburbs
    Dual 24" at work is pretty much the standard in our office now, the exception being people with older dual 22" setups. 27" is slowing becoming the norm too as 1920 x 1080 27" models are barely (if at all) more expensive than 24" models.

    At home I'm currently running 2 x 24.5" panels, perfect for my office based tasks (and dirt cheap).
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: