1. OCAU Merchandise now available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion here.
    Dismiss Notice

Using an AT Power supply to supply a VHF radio?

Discussion in 'Electronics & Electrics' started by Tas_Dean, Oct 12, 2006.

1. Tas_Dean

Tas_Dean Member

Hi All,

I've had a reasonably good search throught the threads already on here, and I've found some close projects but nothing the same.

I have a VHF radio (like an amateur radio but a slightly different frequency) that is is supposedly 13.8V but it seems to run happily on a 12v battery, until the battery starts to get too flat.

Can anyone see any problems in just connecting it to the 12v rail (fused of course) of an old AT power supply? Yes, I know about the live 240V power switch on AT power supplies (I used to be an apprentice electrician). Or should I attempt to volt mod the power supply to get it up closer to 13.8v? I don't really see a need to remove the excess wiring from the PS, just connect up to a 12V line and off we go. Am I correct?

The radio will only be used for recieving, absolutely no transmitting. I essentially use it as a scanner.

Last year when I was using it I ran it off a 12v battery jump-start pack, but it used to flatten that even while the charger was plugged in as the radio pulls about 2A on standby.

Cheers, Dean

2. GooSE

GooSE New Member

If you say it runs fine on 12V, then an AT power supply should be fine unless there is too much of a voltage drop on the 12V rail when you load it.

There's only one way to find out...

3. dantheman65

dantheman65 Member

Yeah.

Some power supplies though are sketchy with no load on the other rails, or may not even start. You might have to load the 5v rail depending on the PSU.

4. Big Trev

Big Trev Member

Plug it in, check for sparks and smoke...

:D

In theory it should be OK. Run the gauntlet son!

5. nux

nux Member

Should work fine.

6. Sadow

Sadow Member