using newer ram in older PCs

Discussion in 'Newbie Lounge' started by MotorAce, Dec 9, 2006.

  1. MotorAce

    MotorAce Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,471
    Location:
    AU
    im trying to source a 1gb stick of pc2100 ram for a relative but finding it difficult to do so. Generally can you use faster ram in older PCs or does it depend on the motherboard?
     
  2. sgtraven

    sgtraven Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2004
    Messages:
    3,046
    Location:
    Vic, Glenroy
    theoreticaly yes. all ddr ram is back compatable, but due to a lot of mb's being picky id say its one thing that you would be taking minimal risk on
     
  3. touchwood

    touchwood Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    4870, Qld.
    You may find this site helpful mate....
     
  4. JonP

    JonP (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,859
    Location:
    Bentley WA
    Ebay - heaps and cheap
     
  5. ShaneHm2

    ShaneHm2 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    3,619
    depends the limitation is fsb of ur new cpu, i tried ddr 2100 with a celeron d 775 and it worked, but i think its more just of pot luck
     
  6. terrastrife

    terrastrife Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    18,818
    Location:
    ADL/SA The Monopoly State
    ShaneHm2 try reading the original post next time.

    generally older boards will work with newer ram, as long as the total module size isnt too big or density is too high, so you have a good chance that a ddr400 512mb double sided stick will work, while a single sided one wont.
     
  7. ShaneHm2

    ShaneHm2 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    3,619
    umm next time u post that read the rules that this a flame free zone. and i wrong the question the wrong way around my mistake.

    Also since i have now re read the post, to the OP make sure your motherboard supports 1gb sticks and if u have other sticks in there make sure if the new module needs to be single or double sided or if it doesnt matter. Also in terms of speed wise, all modules will be automatically be clocked down to the slowest module, ie

    dimm 1 = 256 mb of pc2100
    dimm 2 = 256 mb of pc2700
    dimm 3 = 512 mb of pc3200

    all modules there for will run at pc2100 speeds
     
  8. terrastrife

    terrastrife Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    18,818
    Location:
    ADL/SA The Monopoly State
    that wasnt a flame, just pointing out that your post was useless in regards to the original topic.

    THIS REPLY on the other hand may be considered a flame as it has nothing to do with anything...

    :D
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: