Vamne's Athlon slot A 3dfx build

Discussion in 'Retro & Arcade Worklogs' started by Vanne, Nov 19, 2020.

  1. Vanne

    Vanne Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Messages:
    1,807
    Slowly getting a few parts together for my next build.

    Currently have:

    AMD slot A 750mhz AMD-K7750MTR52B A CPU (200mhz Fsb, and 512 2nd cache)

    Voodoo5 5500 64mb AGP OEM card

    Need:

    Mobo
    Ram
    PSU
    Case

    Any suggestions? ;)
     
    pH@tTm@N, okclock123 and JaC like this.
  2. OP
    OP
    Vanne

    Vanne Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Messages:
    1,807
    Hmm.. got me thinking now....

    Instead of buying more crap, i could just use the dual 1.4ghz Tualatin tyan setup i have hidden away.. and save the slot A Athlon for another dark and stormy day... any thoughts.. will Win2k be okay with the voodoo 5?
     
    okclock123 likes this.
  3. bYrd

    bYrd Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2001
    Messages:
    2,150
    Location:
    NE Melbourne
    Hi Vanne,

    I'd look for a 1Ghz+ setup for your V5 5500; it will scale well with this. Windows 2000 will be fine on the V5, but you'd be better off with one single "fast" core for Windows 98 - dual CPUs really mean nothing for early 3D accelerated games, and you'll find not all Win98 and below games will like Win2000.
     
    okclock123 likes this.
  4. OP
    OP
    Vanne

    Vanne Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Messages:
    1,807
    Sounds good, can you recommend me a single CPU board for the 1.4ghz Tualatin?
     
  5. bYrd

    bYrd Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2001
    Messages:
    2,150
    Location:
    NE Melbourne
    Is your Tualatin for a 100 or 133Mhz bus speed?

    For higher clocked Pentium IIIs you have compromise on features depending on the chipset used, or if any modifications are required. For ease of use, an ASUS TUSL2-C would allow you to overclock the Tualatin happily, but you'll lose out on no ISA slots and 512MB RAM max.

    If you want ISA for DOS games (and more RAM), a capable "premium" BX chipset based board (eg. ASUS P3B-F, Gigabyte BX-2000+) would be more desirable, but you'll probably need to remove pins on the CPU itself along with sourcing a decent slotket.

    An older board won't clock the Tualatin as high based on the limitation of the BX chipset, and could also put your AGP subsystem out of spec which a Voodoo 5 5500 might not like (and that's another thing - check the V5 is supported on whatever board you find - AGP Pro I believe might be out of spec for it).

    There are also VIA chipset based Tualatin boards, but I've not gone near them much over driver and hardware incompatibilities encountered previously.

    JB
     
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2020
    okclock123 likes this.
  6. OP
    OP
    Vanne

    Vanne Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Messages:
    1,807
    So this took a turn and ended up without a slot A CPU..

    Recieved my Athlon Abit KR7A RAID motherboard yesterday and just put it together today...

    [​IMG]

    Socket A
    VT8366A North Bridge
    VT8233 South Bridge

    Xp 1900+ CPU (came with the board)

    [​IMG]

    Voodoo5 5500

    2 gig of unbuffered ram

    It lives...

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2020 at 9:58 PM
    JaC and adz like this.
  7. ecroF

    ecroF Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    1,303
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Love how so many china phones watermark the photos! I can read most of the tiny mobo print! kudos to you redmi!
     
  8. OP
    OP
    Vanne

    Vanne Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Messages:
    1,807
    Pretty stoked the voodoo 5 still works.. that hasn't booted in over 14 years.
     
    JaC and pH@tTm@N like this.

Share This Page

Advertisement: