Very weird P3V4X PS2 problem....

Discussion in 'Other CPUs and chipsets' started by MWP, Jul 29, 2001.

  1. MWP

    MWP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    4,632
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Hey all...

    I just tried to move my MS Explorer mouse from the USB port to the PS2 jack using the supplied green adapter.

    For some reason, when its plugged into the PS2 mouse port, the PC wont get past BIOS post (mem check screen). It just sits there at the "Init Plug and Play devices..." text.

    Anyone else had this problem?

    Thanks...
     
  2. DeLaw340

    DeLaw340 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    58
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, Louisiana
    Mine works fine that way. Check for latest drivers and also that plug doesn't fit very tight. make sure you got a good connection.
     
  3. Peacekeeper

    Peacekeeper Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    489
    Location:
    Brisbane, QLD, Australia
    second that mine used to lock in usb never an issue in ps2 port. double check nothing sharing with the ps2 port irq12.
    tony
     
  4. Pauley

    Pauley Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    35
    hehe 3 days ago i tried to plug the explorer into the usb and i ended up losing the mouse altogether

    in fact the system became so f u b a r that i reinstalled the os and then i came to realize that the mouse would no longer be recognized at all! i even cleared the cmos and enabled setup defaults in a last ditch effort to no avail. the led is still on but it is not sending the signal to make the os see it ...... oh well

    one phone call to microsoft resulted in a new mouse being shipped in. should be here in 2- 3 more days

    i believe that the ps2 adapter is more friendly to this mouse in win 98se
     
  5. johnnyriCo

    johnnyriCo New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    170
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    hmmmm.

    I've had a similar problem..
    Have you got it working again?
    If you haven't...
    Try...
    Swapping RAM into a different bank, or even taking out a stick.
    Then reboot.
    Make mouse is in USB...
    orta work..
    hopefully :p

    WIERD.

    On a side note, I'm getting rid of my P3V4X...
    Toooooooooooooo temperamental.....
    like a woman.
     
  6. johnnyriCo

    johnnyriCo New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    170
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    hm.

    Actually.
    On a similar subject...
    Check this for wierd...

    I boot up.
    everything runs sweet..
    do some stuff works fine.
    Then I suddenly get a random lock-up...

    It'll just lock.

    reset... nothing
    turn off/on... I get long beeps. (bad ram/ vcard ram..)

    OK.
    TAKE EVERYTHING OUT and fark around with it heaps.
    still nothing.

    get pissed off and leave the focker for ages.
    Come back the next day and it's working sweet again...

    Then... another random lock.

    ANY IDEAS?
    cause I don't have a clue... I think it's maybe to do with the network card... MPX chipset. (Accton 1207D-TX... hm.)

    Oh well... I'm selling out and getting Athlon :) (Isn't everybody)

    If anyone has any ideas... LOVE to hear them...
     
  7. scummer

    scummer Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    Michigan
    If you need the usb port for something else, pick up a usb hub and plug in your extra stuff to that and keep your mouse on usb.


    ASUS P3V4X, Apollo Pro133A,1005 bios
    Step ThermoDynamics PIII 700 @ 933 1.90 vcore
    Promise Fasttrack 100 (raid 0)
    2x IBM GXP75
    SB Live Platinum
    512 meg Crucial cas2 ram
    Pioneer 115 DVD
    Plextor 16/10/40A CDRW
    Utobia DVD decoder with Remote
    ZIP Drive
    Netgear nic
    WIN ME
    Radeon 32DDR clocked 187MHz
    Belkin powered usb hub
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: