via 4 in 1 driver prob

Discussion in 'Other CPUs and chipsets' started by fergo83, Jul 27, 2001.

  1. fergo83

    fergo83 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2001
    Messages:
    42
    My comp was running fine (win2k) but when i installed the new via 4 in 1 dirvers it wont load windows.
    I get a stop error when it starts loading.

    Is there anyway to uninstall them and go back to my old ones? (i cant get to windows even in safe mode)

    this is what it says (blue screen):
    Stop : 0x00000050 (and some other 000 sutff)
    page fault in non paged area
    address 804BOBEO base at 80400000, DateStamp 3ad7as60 - ntoskrnl.exe
    then says to disable shadowing and cacheable in BIOS (do that same prob)
     
  2. G e n o c | d e

    G e n o c | d e Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    333
    Location:
    Sydney
    um.... I think if you can just install another version on top, but I'm not too sure
     
  3. OP
    OP
    fergo83

    fergo83 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2001
    Messages:
    42
    yeah thats be good, but cant thru dos
     
  4. sabretooth

    sabretooth Overdue for a new title

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,164
    Location:
    QLD
    This belongs in the VIA forum.

    Onward! *teleports thread*
     
  5. JunFan

    JunFan Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    233
    Location:
    Hopetoun, WA
    I had the same prob. With the via 4-in-1s supplied on the CD with the abit KT7A-RAID. Random files would go missing and i would boot up in the mornings with that message, resorted to installing Win2k about 5 times in 1 week. I thought i had a dodgy hard drive but i downloaded the new Via 4-in-1s from viahardware.com and all the probs have gone away.
     
  6. JunFan

    JunFan Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    233
    Location:
    Hopetoun, WA
    You can install it again in the same directory, however you will have to reinstall all your programs and drivers.
     
  7. aussie7

    aussie7 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2001
    Messages:
    1,987
    Location:
    Maroochydore QLD
    Upgrading the drivers:
    I'm not sure but I think you have to uninstal the old 4 in 1 drivers before you instal the new ones. Never had to upgrade them yet just read it in another thread.

    Fresh install of windows:
    When you first install windows, on your first boot after install before windows or you instal any drivers you have to first instal the 4 in 1 drivers then all your other drivers and software.

    Current 4 in 1 drivers are 4.32

    Try Paul's Unofficial ABIT KT7 FAQ, Drivers page for more info.

    http://www.viahardware.com/faq/kt7/kt7faq.htm

    if your system is overclocked then try booting windows with defualt CPU and memory bios settings.

    According to the other 4 in 1 thread don't install the 4.32 IDE drivers in Win 2k as SP2 has better drivers.

    http://forums.overclockers.com.au/showthread.php?s=&threadid=5202
     
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2001

Share This Page

Advertisement: