VIA 4in1 drivers: install all four?

Discussion in 'Other CPUs and chipsets' started by loko, Jul 24, 2001.

  1. loko

    loko Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    357
    Location:
    London
    someone told me b4 the via drivers for IDE werent as good as the windows drivers.. has this changed? or should i just install some of em?
     
  2. Manaz

    Manaz (Damned or Belated)

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    4,779
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    That's what I've been told - though I got told that after I installed all of them on my Win2K system. :p
     
  3. OP
    OP
    loko

    loko Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    357
    Location:
    London
    so which drivers should i install? leave out just IDE?
     
  4. Rampage101

    Rampage101 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,034
    Location:
    Country NSW
    well apparently if you use the IDE from Via you get slower performance in Win2k (fine in ME/9x as far as I know) but that was when the drivers were at 4.28 when that problem was around, but it still may be the case. Just install all but the IDE if you want (or if IDE is ok as is - hard disk performance) otherwise I would just install all 4 and put Service Pack 1 then 2 on.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    loko

    loko Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    357
    Location:
    London
    thanks.. im running winme.. and soon to dual boot a win2k... ill probly go back to 98se as well... ill take your advice and just go with VIA... cant be that big a drop in performance anyways...
     
  6. MoRpHeUs

    MoRpHeUs Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,892
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    dont install ide drivers with 4in1 and win2k. just trust me, and i mean if u are worried u cant loose anything. only better performance
     
  7. IPfreely

    IPfreely Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,927
    Location:
    Sydney
    I second that opinion.

    In Win2k do NOT install the 4.32 ide driver unless you're experiencing SBLive probs. It's slower than the drivers bundled with SP2.
     
  8. OP
    OP
    loko

    loko Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    357
    Location:
    London
    what bout for win98 se?
     
  9. IPfreely

    IPfreely Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,927
    Location:
    Sydney
    definitely install the ide drivers for Win98SE
     
  10. Addict4

    Addict4 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2001
    Messages:
    147
    Location:
    Adelaide
    I second that for win 98se to many probs without m8.Crashing every five minutes is not a pleasurable experience.
     
  11. OP
    OP
    loko

    loko Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    357
    Location:
    London
    crashing every 5 mins? i didnt install the via ide driver... but it seems allrite... by the way .. its called atapi drivers now ... yes? but since u guys reckon thats the way to go... then ill be installin it pretty soon
     
  12. grimraeper

    grimraeper (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    533
    Location:
    below the poverty line
    What if your running SP1 not SP2? Are the IDE drivers bundled with that better than the VIA's?

    I wish I knew about this before I installed them :(
     
  13. paulhoopen

    paulhoopen Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    836
    Location:
    Goldcoast
    So using via 4 in 1 could cause my speed drop!

    I'm using win2k installed via 4 in 1 V4.32final and after that Sp2
    Before this
    My sytem was running win98se with via 4 in 1 V4.32final and I had overall around 10% higher scores in sandra sisoft 2001Te
    like dry/whet 3923/1925 win98se now around 3800/1875 win2k

    Would uninstall via 4 in 1 and reinstall Sp2 solve all this and will I get higher scores again and How to uninstall via 4 in 1 there is no option in add/remove software

    So this could all be causing my pc to run this slowwww
     
  14. IPfreely

    IPfreely Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,927
    Location:
    Sydney
    No... in fact with SP1's bundled drivers ATA100 drives aren't recognized properly on the KT133a chipset. Use the 4in1's if you're running SP1. You should really upgrade to SP2... it includes a couple of other VIA/AMD fixes

    I doubt it, those figures you quoted are from Sandra's cpu benchmark. The 4in1 ide driver only affects the drive benchmark.

    I'm pretty sure that to uninstall the 4in1 driver all you have to do is run the 4in1 setup program again and untick the ATAPI driver option.
     
  15. synaptyca

    synaptyca Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Perth
    similar problems...

    I'm having similar problems (though I can't reall offer a solution).

    I have a KT7 that I recently installed W2K on. I installed the OS, then then SP2, then (foolishly so it seems) the 4.32 4-in-1's. I have two HD's on the prmary IDE channel, one gets recognized as Ultra DMA, the other as PIO 4 :(((( The sandra disk benchmark takes hours to run and comes up with performance equallying a ZIP drive or something which is a bit dissapointing really. The ACER CDRW on the other IDE channel gets recognized as DMA fine though.

    I'm not sure how to get rid of the via drivers. I tried re-installed SP2 but that didn't make any difference. Unticking the checkboxes on the via install didn;t seem to work either. I have a nasty feeling i may have to start from scratch...

    any more ideas??
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: