VIA KT400 almost ready to roll

Discussion in 'Other CPUs and chipsets' started by GreenBeret, Mar 27, 2002.

  1. GreenBeret

    GreenBeret Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Messages:
    19,370
    Location:
    Melbourne
  2. paulhoopen

    paulhoopen Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    836
    Location:
    Goldcoast
    I wouldn't go for a new one even if I got it for free! via sucks

    I always have had Intel based boards and tried the asus A7V133 Raid with a Via chipset
    I think it's the biggest crap having to use patches and patches having sound issues etc.etc. etc.
    all kinds of so called better Via4in1's

    Sorry this was my first and mostlikely the last via based motherboard
     
  3. gabbs19

    gabbs19 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    951
    Location:
    Perth
    I have a a7v133 and i havnt had any major problems with it. I might go the kt400 when its tax time.
     
  4. Creative

    Creative Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    7,834
    Location:
    Melbourne
    April has 30 days :D
     
  5. Acid

    Acid Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    4,881
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    I'll repeat what I said in the last KT400 thread..

    "Why are you psyched for the KT400? The Athlon's slow bus can't even make use of DDR333 memory let alone DDR400. I'm waiting for a Pentium 4 chipset that supports DDR400 and a 533MHz bus personally."
     
  6. OP
    OP
    GreenBeret

    GreenBeret Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Messages:
    19,370
    Location:
    Melbourne

    Why ? Because WE ARE OVERCLOCKERS ! :D
     
  7. OP
    OP
    GreenBeret

    GreenBeret Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Messages:
    19,370
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Re: I wouldn't go for a new one even if I got it for free! via sucks


    You gave up too early. I'm very suprised that you couldn't fix those issues. I've owned quite many VIA-based boards and have built many for friends. I have problems sometimes but I always manage to fix them. I always blame myself first, not the hardware or software, for the problems I have.

    Btw, I haven't downloaded installed any 4in1's for a long time since WinXP was available.
     
  8. Acid

    Acid Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    4,881
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    lol.. I look forward to seeing what you can obtain on a KT400 system that you can't on a KT266A system with PC2100 memory.
     
  9. chainbolt

    chainbolt Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    108,709
    Location:
    Tokyo
    from that popint of view evberybody should have staeyd with one of the first AMD 760 boards, from end of 2000 :D
     
  10. chainbolt

    chainbolt Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    108,709
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Really? I doubt you will see such aboard on OZ shores before June. And then you will see that the only difference to a KT266A or KT333 is AGP 8x, but nothing at all in performace. And anyway at the time of the KT400 market launch ppl will start talking about the successor to socket A boards, because the KT400 is the last one of it's kind. So, from that point of view, you better stay with a AMD 760 or KT266A board.

    But anyway, I will try a KT400 board as soon as I can get one :D
     
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2002
  11. Cathar

    Cathar Storm Father

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2001
    Messages:
    6,524
    Location:
    Aussie living in the USA
    Hmmm, was reaching up to 182FSB on my KR7A with my Crucial PC2100 CL2.5 memory, and at that point I'm reaching the memory's limit. Mobo will do 210FSB stable.

    Not sure I want the AGP/PCI dividers anyway. A high AGP bus speed is what improves 3D performance since the CPU->vid card transactions happen faster.
     
  12. Acid

    Acid Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    4,881
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    No because the new chipsets actually gave a performance difference. KT333/400 performs exactly the same.
     
  13. elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    40,406
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Re: I wouldn't go for a new one even if I got it for free! via sucks

    my first via board was a via apollo chipset. (not even the apollo pro). it sucked donkey balls in a huge way. since then i was always wary of via chispets, but recently took the plunge and got a KR7A (KT266a). yes you have to patch them and always stay on top of driver releases, but it was well worth it i say.

    i agree that the duron/athlon arent the best CPUs for a 400MHz bus, but still it does sound tasty!
     
  14. Jab

    Jab Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2001
    Messages:
    828
    Location:
    Brisbane, QLD
    Reaper,

    Don't take what Sisoft states too much at this stage, there is a known incompatibilty with the KT333 chipset.

    I have spoken to Via, and they are working on it with Sisoft evidently.

    Jim :)
     
  15. GreyWolfe01

    GreyWolfe01 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,321
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Well if its being released in April, then theoretically it should be a stable platform for when the Hammers come out in October. That's what the kt400's are for realistically....

    mmm October...mega upgrade month :p
     
  16. Lithium

    Lithium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2002
    Messages:
    336
    Location:
    Newcastle
    I think you guys are too optimistic about release dates in Aus.

    I have been waiting for the ABIT KR7A-133 to appear on these shores for the past 3 months. It was released overseas in Nov/Dec last year, shortly after the KR7A was released. It still hasn't arrived!

    I think Nov/Dec will be the more likely upgrade month :D

    Lith
     
  17. BlackPantha

    BlackPantha Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2001
    Messages:
    802
    Location:
    Melbourne
    What are you talking about son??? The ABIT KR7A-RAID-133 has been out here for ages, I bought mine back around February.
     
  18. xtortion

    xtortion Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2002
    Messages:
    4,013
    Location:
    North Sydney
    i have an ASUS A7V333, and i know that it doesnt have much difference with my cousin's KT266A board, im very satisfied except that i spent a lot with the new board on the fact that i can get the 266 one for lesser but almost the same performance.

    people buy this new stuff (with the same performance as the others) just to satisfy themselves that they have the latest MoBo on the market (just like me before), and to be honest... it feels a bit good (though others might find it unreasonable)

    IMHO, get the latest one to your (im refering to the ones who are gonna buy) hearts content. anywayz, we're not the one who is gonna pay. :)

    just my opinion..
    *poof* :cool: :cool: :cool:
     
  19. chainbolt

    chainbolt Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    108,709
    Location:
    Tokyo
    well said, only thing I would add: I certainly use and enjoy 6-channel sound, USB 2.0, and Firewire on my A7V333, which are not available at KT266A board. I also like the 1/5 divider on the A7V333 which is not present at KT266A boards.
     
  20. Lithium

    Lithium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2002
    Messages:
    336
    Location:
    Newcastle
    BlackPantha,

    Yep you got the RAID 133 in February. The ABIT KR7A-133 is a different board, and has native ATA 133 on the primary and secondary IDE channels, not just on the RAID controller channels/

    Lithium
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: