VIA_IDE Accelerator_V120b

Discussion in 'Other CPUs and chipsets' started by yotka, Feb 15, 2005.

  1. yotka

    yotka Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Messages:
    593
    Location:
    W A
    these drivers came out in early Feburary 2005
    --> VIA_IDE Accelerator_V120b.zip

    http://www.viaarena.com/downloads/d...rator_V120b.zip

    supposed to accelerate the ide controllers.


    Reported problems / effects:

    1. HDtach does not recognise driver
    2. Seems more responsive / stable
    3. Gives more info on drives.
    4. Problems with optical drives, eg. burning
    (similiar problems as the old nvidia ide drivers)

    5. Other benchmarking programs --> unknown

    Recommendation : install oni if u have chipsets kt400 or newer.
     
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2005
  2. Fish_Munger

    Fish_Munger Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Messages:
    666
    Location:
    Sydney
    sic gonna bench em with HDtach3 :) and Sandra05
     
  3. []WILDFIRE[]

    []WILDFIRE[] Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2001
    Messages:
    133
    Location:
    QLD
    After I installed these drivers HDTach no longer works even with a reinstall of the program so I can't give any feedback on if they improve the performance or not.
    The OS has no problems so far with using them so the problem may only be with HDTach, and yes it is the latest version that they offer for download.
     
  4. OP
    OP
    yotka

    yotka Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Messages:
    593
    Location:
    W A
    have u tried to burn cds /dvds with these new drivers?


    nvidia ide drivers used to have problems with them.
     
  5. kingyubbo

    kingyubbo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,906
    Location:
    couch potato
    I've got them on. Haven't noticed much. Will test 3dmark though.
     
  6. Fish_Munger

    Fish_Munger Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Messages:
    666
    Location:
    Sydney
    Yeah HDtach does not recognise driver but they seem more responsive and stable in my rig.Just use the inf file if the setup exe does not work,thats what i had to do.Their is heaps more info in device manager too about your IDE devices cheers via :thumbup:
     
  7. OP
    OP
    yotka

    yotka Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Messages:
    593
    Location:
    W A
    looks very promising.

    any1 else tried them?
     
  8. syxx

    syxx Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,994
    Location:
    Everton Hills , Brisbane
    yeah im running it no problems so far


    syxx
     
  9. noboundaries-au

    noboundaries-au Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    7,571
    Location:
    Canberra, ACT
    no probs here, although currently no optical drive, bein repaired down in sydney (SONY DVD+/-RW DL 16x :D )
     
  10. Troppo193

    Troppo193 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    294
    Location:
    Australia
    S.M.A.R.T sees no longer HDs (SpeedFan) - otherwise all works flawlessly
     
  11. syxx

    syxx Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,994
    Location:
    Everton Hills , Brisbane
    ive uninstalled it , didnt notice any difference really
    it locks the pc up to many times for my liking


    syxx
     
  12. Troppo193

    Troppo193 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    294
    Location:
    Australia
    reading the VIAarena forum it becomes pretty clear the new 120b is not troublefree for everyone. Older chipsets (KT266 and older) are more affected than newer (KT600 and up). I guess overclocking plays a significant role as well.
     
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2005
  13. syxx

    syxx Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,994
    Location:
    Everton Hills , Brisbane
    im running a kt880 chipset and yeah nah lockups so i have now uninstalled and ill see how things go


    syxx
     
  14. OP
    OP
    yotka

    yotka Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Messages:
    593
    Location:
    W A
    hmm... my kt133a hangs as well...
     
  15. MustaineC

    MustaineC Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    1,280
    Location:
    Mexico City
    Kt400 and kt600 here working troublefree since the first day the drivers were released. Windows XP SP2 with the Write Caching enabled. One of the disks is ATA133 the other is ATA100. I do video edition, and they have increased the benchmark that Studio 9 performs on the disks from 47 mb/s to 59 mb/s. That is in the ATA133 disk. (I tested in the KT600 machine)
     
  16. Troppo193

    Troppo193 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    294
    Location:
    Australia
    We need to consider all the overclocked systems mentioned here. Then overclocking might be the true culprit and not the ide driver.
    Nowadays it's a bit fussy accusing a driver when it is installed on a box runnig outside of specifications.
     
  17. xman01

    xman01 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    243
    Location:
    Trinidad and Tobago
    my kt266a crashes with certain apps
     
  18. Fish_Munger

    Fish_Munger Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Messages:
    666
    Location:
    Sydney
    I went back to the old MS ide in Sp2 my Liteon DVD burner was not working so for some bunners,dvd roms could be a prob still :thumbdn:
     
  19. OP
    OP
    yotka

    yotka Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Messages:
    593
    Location:
    W A
    alrite, 1st post updated.
     

Share This Page