Viper Gaming 4400 C19

Discussion in 'Memory' started by M1ck1, Aug 8, 2021.

  1. OCMunkee

    OCMunkee Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,806
    Location:
    Melbourne, VIC
    micsway123 likes this.
  2. micsway123

    micsway123 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2020
    Messages:
    850
    Location:
    Melbourne 3015
    Nice.

    “Our data points indicate that Geardown Mode should be disabled for gaming if you can achieve your desired memory overclock with a 1T command rate. Theopposite holds true if 1T CR proves too aggressive to reach your desired clockspeed--leaving Geardown Mode enabled may get you there. Finally, when itcomes to GDM vs. 2T CR (not shown), specific memory throughput testing should be conducted as the balance of power will come down to your other memorytimings”
     
  3. micsway123

    micsway123 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2020
    Messages:
    850
    Location:
    Melbourne 3015
    Oh and the overall conclusions

    “Conclusion #1 dual rank DIMMs (yellow) offered the best performance amongst “set and forget” (light blue, orange, yellow) memory configuredautomatically by XMP profiles.

    Conclusion #1a:But the increased overclocking headroom of single rank modules was more than enough to overpower the benefits of rank interleaving,so manually-tuned single rank DDR4-3200 and 3466 won the day (dark blue and green).

    Conclusion #2:BankGroupSwap should likely be disabled for users that want the best PC gaming performance. As always, test your specific use case.

    Conclusion #3:Chasing the highest possible clockspeed required timings so relaxed that real world performance suffered versus lower frequencies withtighter timings. This is a fine balance, however, so testing on your platform is always helpful.

    Conclusion #4:Geardown Mode should likely be disabled if your overclock is stable with a 1T command rate. Test for your specific use case”
     
  4. PULS8R

    PULS8R Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2003
    Messages:
    666
    Location:
    3029
    Thanks OCMunkee some great tips and reading there. I highly recommend grabbing some of this ram if you're after cheap performance and don't need rgb haha

    Here's this mornings test results.. highest read and lowest latency I've seen, even running my ram at 3800 C15 1T GDM disabled didn't see better than this.

    upload_2021-8-17_10-16-11.png

    And another quick test - GDM mode, with some timings unchanged and others on auto.

    upload_2021-8-17_10-44-2.png
     
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2021
    OCMunkee likes this.
  5. glnn_23

    glnn_23 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    564
    PULS8R

    Can you try this with flat 15 primaries


    tFAW. 16
    tWR . 10. tRTP . 5. or tWR. 12. tRTP 6
    tRFC. 270
    tRFC2. 201
    tRFC4. 123
    tRTP. 5. 6.
    tRDWR. 8
    tRRD. 1
     
    PULS8R and micsway123 like this.
  6. glnn_23

    glnn_23 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    564
    1.2v is pretty low but you could try something like this with good B-Die.

    [​IMG]
     
    Cynide and PULS8R like this.
  7. PULS8R

    PULS8R Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2003
    Messages:
    666
    Location:
    3029
    Thanks, trying this with the 4000 settings now. Won't post with all those changes, need to see what sticks so far trfc works.
     
  8. OP
    OP
    M1ck1

    M1ck1 Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    Messages:
    577
    Location:
    Toowoomba Qld
    Thanks dasa 2, OCMunkee, micaway123,PUL8R,ginn 23 and anyone I've forgotten, I was just wondering how the settings work,AddCmdSetup, CsOdtSetup , CkeSetup as in lower no.s lower stability and less performance loss ,anyway my second set of vipers arrived so more of the same only with 4 sticks, cheers
     
    micsway123 and PULS8R like this.
  9. micsway123

    micsway123 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2020
    Messages:
    850
    Location:
    Melbourne 3015
    good luck! Dual rank for win but at the cost of max frequency likely
     
  10. PULS8R

    PULS8R Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2003
    Messages:
    666
    Location:
    3029
    All good, I'm still learning and experimenting but I've got some more kits of this ram coming too and I'm going to see which is best for 4x8GB performance so I'll join you in the journey! haha
     
  11. PULS8R

    PULS8R Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2003
    Messages:
    666
    Location:
    3029
    This might be as good as it gets with this kit, might try lower tFAW, but yeh, anything else I touch and lower makes it unstable. Still gotta be happy about it. What is this I hear about a bug at 2000fclk? I think I may be suffering from it?

    upload_2021-8-17_18-51-16.png
     
    M1ck1 likes this.
  12. OCMunkee

    OCMunkee Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,806
    Location:
    Melbourne, VIC
    F***ing Amazon or seller just bumped the price from $140 to $160, hopefully it comes back down when I actually have some cashola to buy! I'm keen to try B-Die !!
     
  13. dasa2

    dasa2 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,014
    Location:
    Northern VIC
    tFAW should be able to come down to 24 at that and tWRRD should be 1-2.
    I take it that VDDG IOD up to 1060mV doesn't help?
    Getting the RTT right may help with stability but sorry I cant remember what that is for single rank.

    Maybe still cheaper buying from Amazon US.
    https://www.amazon.com/Viper-Steel-...d=1&keywords=viper+4400&qid=1629197125&sr=8-1
     
  14. PULS8R

    PULS8R Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2003
    Messages:
    666
    Location:
    3029
    Wow, must be selling well I think. Cheap Bdie for sure. I may have a spare kit for you after I bin a couple. Let me know if you're keen.

    Awesome thanks for the tips yet again, keep em coming! I've been experimenting a fair bit and finally got it to this... yet to test full stability.

    upload_2021-8-17_23-4-46.png
     
    OCMunkee, M1ck1 and micsway123 like this.
  15. OP
    OP
    M1ck1

    M1ck1 Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    Messages:
    577
    Location:
    Toowoomba Qld
    Maybe try VDDG CCD and IOD 1.025v VDDP 0.950v cad bus 24 20 24 24 or 40 20 24 24 though your setting generally works.
    I read somewhere that memory prices are supposed to be going up
     
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2021
  16. PULS8R

    PULS8R Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2003
    Messages:
    666
    Location:
    3029
    Is there any benefit to increasing voltages apart from stability? Do the CAD bus setting help with latency, I might try go to 24, 20, 24, 24 to see if it works but what's the benefit I wonder?

    I was having trouble booting with 2100FCLK but raising SOC and VDDP etc fixed it. I'm happy to stay at 1900 or 2000 since the timings on the ram are tighter and it's much more stable. Running a TM5 stability test now and then OCCT.

    edit: loving this ram
    upload_2021-8-18_16-42-3.png

    And just for shits n gigs.... 2100 fclk

    upload_2021-8-18_16-44-22.png
     
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2021
  17. OP
    OP
    M1ck1

    M1ck1 Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    Messages:
    577
    Location:
    Toowoomba Qld
    If it makes it more stable latency should be better, Blue screen bad for latency, The more stable it is the less retry's the memory makes which saves a bit of time, I think this is where sometimes tighter timings though running and seemingly stable don't necessarily get better scores. thats a great result, must have good cpu
     
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2021
  18. OCMunkee

    OCMunkee Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,806
    Location:
    Melbourne, VIC
    PULS8R let me know when you're done binning your kits, how many did you end up grabbing?

    Those are some great results, definitely looks like a strong CPU/IMC

    Side note: I wonder why ZenTimings doesn't pickup my VDIMM/MEM VTT, I'm guessing my motherboard doesn't present those sensors to OS..?
     
  19. PULS8R

    PULS8R Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2003
    Messages:
    666
    Location:
    3029
    Will do, I'll have 4 kits all up, luckily I bought just before the price hike and 1 off a mate, I'll let you know how I go with the kits, I'll probably keep 2 for 4x8GB action, you have first dibs.

    CPU is a good one, got lucky there.

    No idea on the ZT volts thing, might just not be able to read them yet, perhaps a newer version will enable it? I use VDIMM from HWINFO anyway, seems to be 0.1v more than ZT.
     
    M1ck1 likes this.
  20. OCMunkee

    OCMunkee Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,806
    Location:
    Melbourne, VIC
    Cheers!
    I assume it's the motherboard, as it doesn't show in HWInfo either. Difference between HWInfo/ZenTimings maybe one reads VID at the regulator, and the other reads the input volts at the DIMMs?
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: