[WA] Electronics shop to fix my Z5500 Pod?

Discussion in 'Electronics & Electrics' started by R3-5eNn, Jan 13, 2016.

  1. R3-5eNn

    R3-5eNn Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    362
    Does anyone know of an electronics shop that can fix my Z5500 control pod?

    This is what it looks like after being powered on for 30 seconds.
    [​IMG]

    No sound will play once this happens.

    I contacted Logitech and their tech support linked me to Amazon, Gumtree and eBay for a new control pod which all cost in excess of $180.

    I'm after an electronics shop around Perth/Mandurah if possible.
     
  2. broccoli

    broccoli Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    21,502
    Location:
    Perth
    I don't know whether they'd do that, but I noticed an electronic repair 'guy' at the Malaga Markets last weekend. It had a sign that they fix phones and ipads (or something, I didn't pay much attention)
     
  3. Franc

    Franc Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Messages:
    4,987
    Location:
    Melbourne North Sub
    The pic link doesnt work - edit: nvm shows up on second loading.
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2016
  4. OP
    OP
    R3-5eNn

    R3-5eNn Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    362
    Yeah I see them around a lot. I don't think they'll be able to diagnose and fix things like this. Phone screens is simply just replacing what's smashed to pieces.

    Thanks anyway
     
  5. broccoli

    broccoli Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    21,502
    Location:
    Perth
    It didn't say just screens, it said something about fixing the devices.

    The thing is that with the cost of labour here, it might never be economical fixing/trying to fix rather than just buying a new unit.
     
  6. ShadowBurger

    ShadowBurger Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,412
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I've seen this a couple of times... it's an issue with the amp not the control pod. I'm not totally sure what breaks in it though you might have to open it up and have a look. Got a friend with a set you can test your pod on to make sure?
     
  7. OP
    OP
    R3-5eNn

    R3-5eNn Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    362
    I've got a second set that was doing the same thing however my original control pod worked fine on it...
    Now my control pod won't work on my original set.
     
  8. OP
    OP
    R3-5eNn

    R3-5eNn Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    362
    I pulled the back of the amp off and I can't see anything wrong. No domed capacitors. This is really strange and frustrating.
     
  9. ShadowBurger

    ShadowBurger Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,412
    Location:
    Melbourne
    you could try testing the wiring at the sub to see if any of the voltage supplies are wrong, this is the wiring pinout:

    DB25 pin - function
    ============
    1 - Right Rear in
    2 - Sub In
    3 - Left Rear in
    4 - Center in
    5 - Left Front in
    6 - enable in (ground pin to enable input)
    7 - enable in (ground pin to enable input)
    8 - enable in (ground pin to enable input)
    9 - Right Front in
    10 - +8V logic supply out
    11 - ? 100 ohm impedence to ground and a DC offset of 0.140 mV
    12 - ? 100 ohm impedence to ground and a DC offset of 0.140 mV
    13 - ground
    14 - +18 V supply out
    15 - -18 V supply out
     
  10. ShadowBurger

    ShadowBurger Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,412
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2016
  11. OP
    OP
    R3-5eNn

    R3-5eNn Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    362
    So I put power to the amp and check these one at a time with a multimeter?

    Thankyou for that. I have the pod apart but none of my chips look burnt like that one, but I do suspect it could be an issue with a chip getting too hot since it only lasts 30 seconds before it cuts out.

    Maybe I should replace the chip anyway and see what happens.
     
  12. ShadowBurger

    ShadowBurger Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,412
    Location:
    Melbourne
    yep keep your negative probe on ground while testing the +8V, +18V and -18V respectively

    if you're still not sure I'm happy to test your pod on my sub if you want to post it. Do you have the other pod still? i'm looking for a busted pod to build my own controller in :leet:
     
  13. OP
    OP
    R3-5eNn

    R3-5eNn Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    362
    I haven't been able to test my amp yet, but I think I have 2 buggered control pods.
    I have 2 Z5500 systems so I don't exactly have a spare pod. I want them up and running.

    I'll check them out on my other amp again and see what happens.
     
  14. OP
    OP
    R3-5eNn

    R3-5eNn Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    362
    Electronics shit me... My second control pod and second amp now work fine together... They didn't work on New Years.

    Both control pods work on my second amp.
    Then I tried one on the first amp and no dice. Cuts out and I get all bars after 30 seconds.
     
  15. ShadowBurger

    ShadowBurger Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,412
    Location:
    Melbourne
    so definitely the first amp then? that's a good thing... Hopefully it's popped caps. Fortunately they aren't very complex... if you can test the voltages at the output that will tell you where to start with the repair. I have a few parts for the amps... if you can identify the part i could probably help you out
     
  16. OP
    OP
    R3-5eNn

    R3-5eNn Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    362
    Excellent. Thanks for your help!
    Can't see any physical signs of damage but when I get back from work in 2 weeks I'll be testing the voltages at the output like you said.
    Will keep you posted!
     
  17. JugV2

    JugV2 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Messages:
    6,087
    Location:
    Darwin
    Jeez.

    Mine is still running strong after 5 years, I am so not looking forward to the day it gets sick and passes away.
     
  18. ShadowBurger

    ShadowBurger Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,412
    Location:
    Melbourne
    put some heatsinks on it! they'll die eventually from the heat

    [​IMG]
     
  19. JugV2

    JugV2 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Messages:
    6,087
    Location:
    Darwin
    I'm useless with this sort of stuff, I wouldn't know how.
     
  20. OP
    OP
    R3-5eNn

    R3-5eNn Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    362
    What do we use as an adhesive?
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: