Warning for Asus Xonar users & Windows 8.1

Discussion in 'PC Audio' started by VeeK, Oct 22, 2013.

  1. VeeK

    VeeK Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    610
  2. DeejW

    DeejW Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,946
    Location:
    Margaret River WA
    People are still using win8?

    :sick:
     
  3. OP
    OP
    VeeK

    VeeK Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    610
    I actually didn't mind the OS after putting some effort into configuring it.

    I can see why people might hate it though, it was pretty horrible out of the box and tries way too hard to push apps + microsoft account integration down your throat.

    If anybody knows of any third party drivers that enable the Xonar cards in Windows 8.1 feel free to post them.

    I found this one but it's not yet fully compatible in Win 8.1, should be worth keeping an eye on in the coming weeks though:
    http://maxedtech.com/asus-xonar-unified-drivers/

    In the meantime I'll be sticking to my Win7 drive.
     
  4. terrastrife

    terrastrife Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    18,414
    Location:
    ADL/SA The Monopoly State
    I think you're talking about Win8. Xonars hare just fine with Win8.

    The problem now is if cmedia release a 8.1 driver.
     
  5. Renza

    Renza Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    4,660
    Location:
    Melbourne
    been using the 8.1 preview for a while with my xonar STX fine... haven't updated to final but it should still work right?
     
  6. terrastrife

    terrastrife Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    18,414
    Location:
    ADL/SA The Monopoly State
    That's the problem, RTM is more secure, same thing with Win7, release candidates don't have drivers locked down.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    VeeK

    VeeK Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    610
    Nope - driver signing is strict in the RTM.
     
  8. Radioactiv3

    Radioactiv3 (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    906
    Location:
    Sydney
    Wonder what kind of updated model (refresh of same xonar stx or something better/new)
     
  9. Vladdo

    Vladdo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    8,496
    Location:
    Laverton, Melbourne
    No real surprise..

    I had a xonar d2x for a few years and you'd be lucky to see a new driver every six months even tho it's abundantly clear that the drivers still needed a lot of work..

    Leading up to Win 8 release, asus said in their forums that they weren't sure if they were going to create a win 8 driver.. and when they finally did, it was released as beta.. I gave up after 6 months and went back to Creative.. Products live or die by drivers and if they're not going to bother supporting an expensive soundcard that's still in product channels.. it sends a clear message..

    Irrespective of whose fault it is, asus or cmedia, it reflects poorly on asus as the buck stops with them. IF they can't get their supplier to support their product, what chance as end users have?

    Edit: Essence STX is still being sold even tho it's not compatible with Win 8.1? oh dear..
     
  10. Lancer2012

    Lancer2012 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Windows 8.1

    Most of the legacy drivers from Windows 7 will at least give you some compatibility.

    Some of the sound blaster cards have the same issue:lol:

    Still prefer to use the newer O/S, maybe but a sound blaster Z ?
     
  11. OP
    OP
    VeeK

    VeeK Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    610
    Really? Has this been tested?
     
  12. Linkin

    Linkin Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    6,322
    Location:
    Sydney
  13. OP
    OP
    VeeK

    VeeK Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    610
    OK I got the Unified Drivers to work :)

    Just need to enable Test Mode in windows to remove the driver signing requirements.

    From command prompt with admin rights type:
    bcdedit /set testsigning on

    Restart computer and now my Essence STX is being detected and working perfectly fine :thumbup:
     
  14. d3vour3r

    d3vour3r Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    Messages:
    253
    Location:
    Brisbane
    ah man I just bought a stx and win 8.1 at same time from PCCG.

    I havnent removed the stx from the box, should I try return it or wait and see if drivers get released/use unified drivers?

    its weird cause Microsoft is saying it is compatible...?

    link
     
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2013
  15. Raptor_Eye

    Raptor_Eye Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,309
    Location:
    Bathurst NSW
    seems sound cards in general are not well supported, no driver will ever be made for my Prelude that works with windows 8

    sure it is old, but its not like there is improvements with sounds cards every 6 months like video cards! And yet i could get a working driver for a video card released the same time as my sound card for windows 8.1...

    shits me :mad:
     
  16. dmandn

    dmandn Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,895
    Location:
    Western Australia
    Not sure with the Essense Stx but the Xonar d2x has working windows 8.1 drivers....don't they use the same (or similar) cmedia chipset?
     
  17. NSanity

    NSanity Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    17,413
    Location:
    Canberra
    I'm in Test mode to make it work :/
     
  18. Lichking

    Lichking Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    919
    Location:
    Nangiloc
    Mines a DG and it works fine on Win8.1...Asus drivers...Uni drivers won't install unless your in "test mode" and I cbf trying it.
     
  19. NismoR31

    NismoR31 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,046
    Location:
    Sydney
    my prelude works just fine in 8 & 8.1
     
  20. dmandn

    dmandn Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,895
    Location:
    Western Australia
    Mines running perfectly fine in normal mode. It shows correctly in device manager, the asus xonar audio center works with it perfectly too.
     

Share This Page