Wedding Photographer Retainers

Discussion in 'Photography & Video' started by SSJX, Feb 27, 2012.

1. SSJX

SSJX Member

I'm admidst booking a wedding photographer however his/her terms & conditions state that a $2000 non-refundable, non-transferable retainer/deposit is required to secure the date. Additionally, the retainer will not be credited to a new date if a date change occurs.

Is this common?

2. berek

berek Member

Fark and that's just the deposit!!

3. Big Trev

Big Trev Member

Sounds like a rip-off to me, but I'm not an expert from either side of the lens (that deposit is about double what we paid for our wedding pics IIRC). Although wedding dates tend to be fixed; not getting cold feet already are we? :weirdo:

4. 3stars

3stars Member

i'd say keep on shopping

5. OP
    OP
    SSJX

SSJX Member

it's almost 50% deposit...

no cold feet; just thinking if it buckets down on the day, then wouldn't it be nice if the photographer could shoot 'proper' ones on a sunny day?

any recommendations?

6. 3stars

3stars Member

sorry can't help with that one, 2k deposit is a lot of wedge though and a few too many restrictions

7. Deftone2k

Deftone2k In the Darkroom

Most wedding togs are 50% retainer to save the date. Some are 30% but yeah.. the majority I know through the business are 50%.

There are lots of flakers out there.. if someone wants to book you on one of the most popular wedding days of the year (and some are super busy.. but any day is potential for more than one client).. then if for whatever reason the date doesnt go ahead then what you just going to sit around for a couple of hundred? The T&C is up to the tog.. on what constitutes a reason for having the date cancelled as acceptable for a refund (or partial) if they offer it.

It's a livelihood.