Well . cracked 15sec Pi 1M

Discussion in 'AMD x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by m1one, Jul 6, 2010.

  1. m1one

    m1one Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    197
    [​IMG]

    Took a little effort , but looks like I got the fastest AMD for Pi 1M on Hwbot for now [ all 6 cores enabled ] on Air .

    Need a new CPU cooler + much better ram , and just might be able to crack 14 seconds :lol:
     
  2. m0n4g3

    m0n4g3 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    3,637
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    Nice work m1!

    Might have to try some Pi runs when i'm home next weekend.

    What board are you running?

    Also clean xp install on that?
     
  3. Psychotik

    Psychotik Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,472
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    LOL, AMD is so much fail.

    My i7 860 @ 4GHz smashes that by 42% or 4.4seconds and I've got shit running in the background. Thats without even trying...
     
  4. Mensuri

    Mensuri Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    746
    ignore psycho M1.

    damn nice oc !!
     
  5. /\/\usE+

    /\/\usE+ Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2002
    Messages:
    2,174
    Location:
    in the matrix
    Guess you never heard of bracket racing either!?!?!? .........:p



    You live by the Pi you die by the Pi :Pirate:


    OP: Well done matey :thumbup:
     
  6. Sundarjee77

    Sundarjee77 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,252
    That hexacore would eat your fail 1156 i7 for breakfast in encoding.
     
  7. Psychotik

    Psychotik Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,472
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    ePenis isnt measured by encoding times!
     
  8. Sundarjee77

    Sundarjee77 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,252
    You're right, its measured by how many physical cores you have, OP wins ;)
     
  9. SpudBoy

    SpudBoy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2001
    Messages:
    5,281
    Location:
    Under the Bed.
    ahahaha pwnd
     
  10. oriphin

    oriphin Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Messages:
    211
    im on intel and have 8 cores that means i win? (2 x e5420 xeon)
     
  11. SpudBoy

    SpudBoy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2001
    Messages:
    5,281
    Location:
    Under the Bed.
    logical cores dont count.

    eh - you ninja edited... /ignore myself.
     
  12. OP
    OP
    m1one

    m1one Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    197
    Naa

    Fully loaded XP - This is my desktop machine , and every now and again I like to go drag racing ..

    Yeah , no contest against intel CPU's ..

    Wish I had a spare drive so I could do a clean XP install , would be nice to see how it went on a nice clean install .

    MB is Gigabyte 890GPA-UD3H Rev.2 [ rev.3 released lately ]
    Ram is slowest cheapest Patriot 1600 DDR3 , and it hits the wall hard @ 900/1800 ...

    From what I understand , these CPU's [ 1090T ] really like fast ram , so this slow stuff cant be helping , I see people running Cas 6-6-6- at up to 2000 and I wonder , how the %*(77 do you find ram like that ?

    The original BIOS was a POS , as was the second BIOS release , the 3rd one , the FC BIOS , well , its like chalk and cheese .

    I thought I maxed out at 4590mhz , but playing around with the NB voltage , I found that 0.075v added was a bit of a sweat spot and let me push the cpu past 4600mhz , unfortunately the ram is walling hard and voltage boosting is not helping very much , copper heat spreaders helped a little , but I was hopping it would go close to 2000 # CAS-9-9-9 .

    Also noted a lot of instability if you slowed the ram to CAS 10-10-10 or lower , blue screened , same if you lowered the NB multiplier bellow 10 , seemed to make things very unstable .

    Gskill makes 2200 DDR3 ram , ???

    I will have to look into what ram to get if I want to push things , it should be possible to break 14 seconds on Air - Should ! If I can find some fast ram .
     
  13. Psychotik

    Psychotik Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,472
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    But I have less logical cores yet faster speeds and significantly faster PI times.

    I win?!
     
  14. James086

    James086 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,454
    Location:
    Perth
    It's a single threaded process so the number of cores makes no difference to the pi calculation time.
     
  15. mAJORD

    mAJORD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Messages:
    9,737
    Location:
    Griffin , Brisbane
    Boasting how you're 44% faster at calculating pi with a 15 y/o program = Fail. :weirdo:


    Super Pi is not for comparing Architectures or Modern CPU's in general given it's single threaded also.



    To Demonstrate how slow super Pi is.

    http://www.numberworld.org/y-cruncher/

    AMD, Intel Quad, Hex... doesn't matter, all do 1M Pi in less than half a second with this program.
     
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2010
  16. SingAlong

    SingAlong (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    474
    Location:
    Sydney 2035
    Well done! :D

    Do you think that chip could go all the way to 5Ghz on water? :confused:

    4.6Ghz is good on air already don't get me wrong! :thumbup:
     
  17. Copie

    Copie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    13,541
    Location:
    Newcastle
    And i beat you by another .4 seconds with my 930, whats your point?
     
  18. xlot

    xlot Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2005
    Messages:
    437
    Location:
    Northern Beaches, NSW
    Just for context, that puts Super Pi in the days of Windows for Workgroups 3.11 :sick:

    Interesting Pi prog link MajorD - their site is a bit lacking in AMD comparo times. Only a 2.3GHz Barcelona. Would be interesting if someone could post a 100 million digit time for a quad and hex-cored AMD?

    Thinking I should grab a 550 or 555 for some fun. I'm getting bored with my low-power consumption systems, but two small kids = no time for playing games right now.


     
  19. Frontl1ne

    Frontl1ne Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,886
    I think intel boys are getting jealous... their 6-core cpu's cost way over $1000 :D
     
  20. OP
    OP
    m1one

    m1one Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    197
    5GHZ

    Possibly could , when I ran water it was good for another 200mhz at least [ XP Days ] and this chip seems to scale much better , it would very much depend on the ambient temp and how quickly the water block can remove the heat from the cpu .

    Im thinking since its much colder outside , I might set up the computer outside and have it at least 10deg C cooler if not 15deg C cooler in the wee hours of the morning . :tongue:

    Im not sure Im that keen though , but it just might let me push it past 4700mhz .
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: