What do I need to do?

Discussion in 'Other CPUs and chipsets' started by Deanodriver, Jun 30, 2001.

  1. Deanodriver

    Deanodriver Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    7,430
    Location:
    Melbourne
    i have Windows 2000 Professional installed on my system

    Duron 700
    Abit KT7A (KT133A, 686B)
    384MB PC133
    Quantum lct20 20gb 5400
    SB Live! Value

    but i try to set the hdd mode to autodetect DMA in the BIOS, but in device manager, it still says it is PIO, and it takes about 3 minutes to boot Win2K
    i thought some new VIA 4 in 1 drivers would help
    what does everyone else think?

    Dean
     
  2. Ripper

    Ripper Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    124
    Location:
    Dallas, TX -- USA
    Have you installed MS Service Pack 2 for Win2K. There were some IDE related fixes as part of SP2. Primarily it involved ATA100 recognition, but MS is prone to including fixes to problems not widely advertised.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    Deanodriver

    Deanodriver Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    7,430
    Location:
    Melbourne
    yeah, but it has been running for 5 hours straight now, just sharing the net to this, and it is running at 43c :(

    mine is 27c
     
  4. OP
    OP
    Deanodriver

    Deanodriver Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    7,430
    Location:
    Melbourne
    oops, i have 2 windows of IE open, and i typed a response to the wrong one :(

    Dean

    i'm on dialup, i'm not really a big fan of leaving it on downloading
    i'm on dingo blue, and i might be getting close to the 1.5gb dl limit
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: