What do you use as your HTPC/ Media Player

Discussion in 'HTPC' started by Pugs, Oct 30, 2015.

  1. wintermute000

    wintermute000 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,589
    Can your TVs' plex clients play 4K UHD natively without transcoding?
     
  2. slickric

    slickric Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Adelaide
    similar story here. I had a Netgear ReadyNAS for ages but these does doesn't have enough power so built a small PC as a NAS running FreeNAS. Serves as a plex server to the ATV4 in one room and Xbox One in the other.
     
  3. aokman

    aokman Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2001
    Messages:
    12,453
    Location:
    Melbourne
    PLEX is pretty garbage when it comes to knowing what a players capabilities are. Both my ATV and LG OLED can play natively with no transcoding yet the server refused to do anything else.
     
    frnak likes this.
  4. th3_hawk

    th3_hawk Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,729
    Location:
    [VIC] Eastern Suburbs
    Plex has always been like this, from what I understand this was because there were using Apples player (which had to be in just the right format) rather than their own which could decode locally. I tested with MrMC at the time and confirm it had zero issues playing back any of my files over a wired connection and decoding locally.

    While I haven't looked into it in any detail, I believe Plex now uses it's own player so it can do more work locally, although this is a switch I was prompted to press when they introduced it recently.
     
  5. neRok

    neRok Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    2,798
    Location:
    Perth NOR
    If you lot are having trouble with HTPC, you should get my companies IT department to hook one up for you. I just found out they re-purposed one of our CAD machines to run the TV in the reception area. Nothing like a 10 core Xeon, 32GB ram, and a GTX1080 to run your 720 videos on a 1080 TV :lol:
     
  6. aokman

    aokman Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2001
    Messages:
    12,453
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I abandoned them for Infuse Pro quite a while, they seemed disinterested in feedback and stupidly focused on useless cloud garbage.
     

Share This Page