What do you use as your HTPC/ Media Player

Discussion in 'HTPC' started by Pugs, Oct 30, 2015.

  1. Treggs

    Treggs Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    706
    I have used steam link on my XPS 13 with HD4000 intergrated graphics and it works like a champ. Realistically, anything new should be capable of streaming the video feed for steam as the steam box is only a single core arm processor with a h264 chip (IIRC). Consistent (read wired) networking makes more of a difference although it also worked fine on N wireless on the XPS13.
     
  2. Sledge

    Sledge Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8,818
    Location:
    Adelaide
    I have a dedicated box with an i3-2120 as my main HTPC.
    But in the bedroom i have a dell optiplex 9010 for a HTPC in there.. does everything i want it to..
     
  3. grrrr

    grrrr Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    1,087
    Location:
    Cornubia
    Oh yeah that would be great for streaming redtube. ;) :D :sick: :wired:
     
  4. MaximusSmurf

    MaximusSmurf Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    853
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I just persevered with my original c2d e8400 build with an ssd. Has an ati 6950 video card. Kodi is all up and running seems all good and smooth so far.

    Did have a very quick play with steam streaming a little side scrolled game from my desktop. Was not very impressed. All on gig LAN. Set it to 'fast' performance and there was noticeable lag. Not exaclty a twitch fps but certainly detrimental to have that delay. I'll be keeping the vid card in and paying games locally as much as possible.

    Pretty happy I didn't burn 210bucks on a new intel g4560 setup. It would be better / nicer. But not really needed.

    #sidenote - called scorptec about bios updating boards. The h110 boards needs bios update to use the new g4560 cpu. They were charging 20bucks to update the bios which I thought was a bit shit if I was buying the board, cpu and ram for them. I don't have a cpu to boot the board to apply the update myself.
     
  5. bart5986

    bart5986 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Messages:
    4,931
    Location:
    Brisbane
  6. Rockman.EXE

    Rockman.EXE Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Messages:
    169
    Location:
    Ballarat
    Done away with HTPC w/ NAS and gone the route of a Plex media server:

    CPU: Core i5-3470

    CPU Cooler: Scythe BIG Shuriken 2 Rev. B

    Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-B75M-D3H Micro ATX

    Memory: Crucial Ballistix 4GB (1 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory

    Crucial Ballistix Tactical 8GB (1 x 8GB) DDR3-1600 Memory

    Storage: 4x Western Digital Caviar Green 3TB 3

    RAID Card: Skymaster PCIe 4-Ports SATA 6G Card EST11B

    Case: Fractal Design Define Mini

    Power Supply: EVGA 850W 80+ Gold

    Optical Drive: Asus DRW-24B3LT DVD/CD Writer


    Receivers are my Samsung 55" Plasma with Plex app built in for lounge room, and Lenovo Tab for bed time viewing. :thumbup:
     
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2017
  7. flu!d

    flu!d Never perfect, always genuine

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    19,416
    Ubuntu 16.04 server with 4TB of storage, i7 2600, 16GB ram, SSD for OS running TVheadend and a PlayTV dual DTV tuners streaming via Cat5e to my HTPC with running Ubuntu MATE 16.04 with a Kodi frontend and the TVheadend addon for FTA TV with all media streamed via the server to the HTPC w/Kodi frontend.

    Easily the best setup I've ever had.:thumbup:
     
  8. mctrix

    mctrix Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    151
    Location:
    ACT
  9. bart5986

    bart5986 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Messages:
    4,931
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Anything it appears.

    Plays my 60GB 4k movies as well as the one HDR movie I have.
     
  10. daehenoc

    daehenoc Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,817
    Location:
    Mt Gravatt E, BNE, QLD
    Running mythtv:

    Backend:
    • i7 NUC (total overkill)
    • 8Gb RAM
    • 120Gb mSATA for boot
    • 2x 4Tb USB3 2.5" external HDDs for storage in mirror
    Frontends:
    • Kids room:
      • i3 NUC
      • 4Gb RAM
      • 64Gb SSD
      • HDMI straight to the TV for audio and video
    • Lounge:
      • Pentium G2020 CPU
      • 4Gb RAM
      • Asus ITX motherboard
      • Silverstone ML06B-E (if you don't care that the video card is hard up against the PSU, and there's no room for a double wide video card heatsink, you can get the cheaper ML06B)
      • NVIDIA GT710
      • HDMI to the TV for video
      • Optical SPDIF to the receiver for audio
    There is just a touch of a delay at times when seeking in a recording on the lounge frontend, which has come about after I replaced the ATX server (which had internal 3.5" SATA HDDs), I'm pretty sure that it's the USB3 connection which has introduced this delay.
    The lounge frontend works just fine and dandy with a fresh clean install of mythbuntu 16.04LTS, but if I patch it, the NVIDIA driver breaks totally. I have pulled down a copy of 17.04 and will give it a whirl to see if I can get it stable.
     
  11. Scandrew

    Scandrew Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2003
    Messages:
    2,425
    Location:
    Sydney
    Backend: N54L, 8GB RAM, 160GB HDD o/s, 2 x 2TB HDD, Windows 10, Plex

    Lounge: PS4
    Bedroom: Intel Compute Stick (2016)
     
  12. ~Spyne~

    ~Spyne~ Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,409
    Have always ran the same - 2011 Sammy TV has Plex built-in, so just run the server side of it from my main PC, which also has all the media stored on it. No NAS, no intermediary box. Just PC > TV.
     
  13. samus

    samus Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,264
    Location:
    Baulkham Hills, Sydney.
    HP Microserver Gen8 w/ Freenas

    HTPC: IBM ThinkCenter E8200 w 4gb ram and some random low profile video card.
    Win 7 + WMC + MediaBrowser 2.6.2 + Media Center Master

    That's it. I bought the genuine MCM Keyboard/Remote/Receiver. It's the highest WAF setup I could make. I honestly haven't had to change much for well on 4 years now. We don't care about live TV, and I don't have any streaming services right now.
     
  14. trevor68

    trevor68 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    4,384
    Location:
    Canberra
    Similar here I guess it's 6-7 years old now.

    Q9440 8gig Ram, 4x 2gig drives running Win7, Media Centre, media Center Master and Emby, so it's the server for all our devices.

    Logitech Harmony One remote is the icing on the cake for WAF. :thumbup:
     
  15. mctrix

    mctrix Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    151
    Location:
    ACT
    Current
    Storage: HP NL54 3x2TB no raid
    HTPC: gigabyte brix s i5-5200u 4GB Ram.

    Future....
    Im looking at upgrading the Brix because it cant play 4k media.

    Im looking at upgrading to the new kaby lake i3 NUC for ~370. Im guessing the ram and ssd from my Brix will be compatible with the NUC...?
     
  16. Copie

    Copie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    14,326
    Location:
    Newcastle
    No KL uses DDR4L and the ssd they use m.2 rather then msata.
     
  17. HyRax1

    HyRax1 ¡Viva la Resolutión!

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    7,935
    Location:
    At a desk
    I'm using several Brix GB-BKi5HA-7200 units at work. It's Kaby Lake and play 4K pretty well (under Linux anyway - don't use Windows these days, so I can't say how well it runs there).

    They even play some mid-level Steam games really well.

    Considering upgrading my existing Brix at home with one of these now.
     
  18. mctrix

    mctrix Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    151
    Location:
    ACT
    Thanks! i will just sell the brix as is then :thumbup:
    Have you tried the I3 versions?
     
  19. HyRax1

    HyRax1 ¡Viva la Resolutión!

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    7,935
    Location:
    At a desk
    No, but the only difference is that it will simply have two cores with HyperThreading instead of four cores with no HyperThreading - the rest of the hardware will be identical. The video playback is performed by hardware decoding, not CPU, so it should be no different in that department.
     
  20. mctrix

    mctrix Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    151
    Location:
    ACT
    Maybe im better off building a small for factor kaby lake to allow future purchases like a dedicated graphics card down the track for HTPC...
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: