What have you done to your PC today?

Discussion in 'Modding' started by brayway, Oct 1, 2010.

  1. dmandn

    dmandn Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,891
    Location:
    Western Australia
    The reason I said I recommend changing the plastic clamps is because the plastic perishes, Mine were correctly fitted but one broke after approx 4 months, letting the coolant leak out onto my 7950gx2's second pcb.
     
  2. Asteroid

    Asteroid Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,443
    Location:
    Lapping Freo
    After many, many years I have reclaimed my mk1 Ikea Jerker desk. I <3 it.
     
  3. mugginz

    mugginz Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Messages:
    540
    Location:
    Victoria
    It came time to install this....

    [​IMG]

    So I bought one of these to put it onto....

    [​IMG]

    So then I took this....

    [​IMG]

    And grabbed this outta there....

    [​IMG]

    And squeezed this in its place....

    [​IMG]

    Connected it, closed her up and put her back from where she came from, did the install and then I had this....

    [​IMG]

    And then I was like....

    [​IMG]
     
  4. 605jimmy

    605jimmy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    Messages:
    502
    Location:
    Penrith
    just got my Lian Li PC-V352B Black case from pc case gear and one or two other things, pulled out fans and had a look at the layout... first lian li case and pretty good build/product for the price $158... will sleeve fan cables, front panel cables etc even though they cant be seen due to no window...
     
  5. StreekG

    StreekG Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,807
    Location:
    Melbourne, 3165
    I decided to finally remove the original TIM from my GTX580 and i replaced it with MX-4. Good move.
     
  6. WishBone17

    WishBone17 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Messages:
    4,349
    Location:
    Rouse Hill (Sydney)
    did you then proceed to put a waterblock on it?
     
  7. mugginz

    mugginz Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Messages:
    540
    Location:
    Victoria
    How far did the temps drop?
     
  8. StreekG

    StreekG Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,807
    Location:
    Melbourne, 3165
    This i did not do. :(

    mugginz: well i dropped 10 degrees in BF3.
     
  9. Dumpty

    Dumpty Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,308
    Location:
    Geelong
    Installed an Intel 520 180gb
    went through the painful process of backing up (noobishly used my boot drive as my storage drive)
    wiped the Hard drives fresh
    installed windows
    installed the drivers and what not
    installed BF3 + its 5 gigs in updated (FML mobile broadband)
    and got my CPU to 4.2 GHz (i7 920 1.35v PILL 1.88v I didn't want to take it any higher) stable which however was let down by the epically stupid and pointless AIO cooling solution i have. Temperatures easily reached 90+ degrees during a 3 hr run of Intel burn test. which is a fail thus me turning it down to a sensible 3.8Ghz
     
  10. Creekin

    Creekin (Taking a Break)

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Messages:
    10,109
    So i modded my desk abit today, it is so to part of my pc! :p
    i originally had 2 odd sized monitor shelves to slide my KBs under, but was always jack of the centre legs, and recently got a dual monitor arm so was time for a rebuild.
    the biggest pre cut shelf at bunings was 1200mm and i needed at least 1350 :(
    so i got an 1800mm piece of melamine and cut it down to size, which allowed me to go 1400m to space the speakers out a bit more :thumbup:
    Before:

    Click to view full size!


    After:

    Click to view full size!


    there was about 2mm of droop in the centre but a manfrotto pipe clamp on the monitor pole fixed that :thumbup:

    Click to view full size!


    i also got a 3m piece of heavy duty plastic angle, i have cut it into 2x 1200mm bits and will screw them to the back of the desk tomorrow to make a cable U channel :leet:
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 28, 2012
  11. mugginz

    mugginz Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Messages:
    540
    Location:
    Victoria

    Noticed something while I was working that made me a sad panda!

    [​IMG]

    In need of another drive, I was lucky I had a couple of these I wasn't using.

    [​IMG]

    Not much to stand in the way of progress. Light application of a screwdriver and then....

    [​IMG]

    And off they pop!

    [​IMG]

    Open up and say aaahhhh......


    [​IMG]

    Warranty?

    [​IMG]

    Something that might come in handy later for slow data transfers :|

    [​IMG]

    And here's what were afta.

    [​IMG]

    And in the USB 3.0 toaster, added to the array, and recovery on the way :)

    [​IMG]


    No more sad panda. :)

    [​IMG]
     
  12. Ma Baker

    Ma Baker Retired

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    10,866
    Enough of the off topic or this will be closed! :thumbdn:
     
  13. WishBone17

    WishBone17 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Messages:
    4,349
    Location:
    Rouse Hill (Sydney)

    Nice work Creeks, lovin the Li Li, looks super impressive. Ill try and make my way down sometime during the week.. Need to grab does CCFL extenders off you
     
  14. self_slaughter

    self_slaughter Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,097
    Location:
    4165
    errr... I um tilted my machine on an angle lol.

    Stupid fan filters for the hdd fans on my TJ11 were hitting one of the fans again, stuck a few bits of cardboard inbetween the fan and the filter and it stopped making the noise, then an hour later the other fan started banging away on the filter!!

    Tipped the machine on an angle to try get to the thumbscrews at the back and the noise stopped. *an idea was formed* So I just jammed a guitar pedal underneath one side and although it looks stupid my pc is as quiet as its gunna be again :D

    Too bloody late at night for this shit... tomorrow those p.o.s filters go in the bin!
     
  15. Dumpty

    Dumpty Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,308
    Location:
    Geelong
    [​IMG]

    Uploaded with ImageShack.us
    so i installed the Intel SSD (180GB)
    and these were the results, i am not sure whether they are good?
    Probably bad because of the SATA II port but since Intel promise a 550/Mbs read and 530/mbs write... well i expected more :confused:
    probably plug it into the Laptop and compare it to the Corsair GT
     
  16. Madengineer

    Madengineer Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    11,689
    One of my 6950s is making a bad noise with the fan :D Debating whether i try and find out what the problem is, or just chuck in one of the other 3 6950s :D
     
  17. Dr Evil

    Dr Evil Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,837
    Location:
    Perth
    Little bit of thread digging and BAM!

    Added castor wheels to my Fractal XL File Server. Much more easier to maneuver around. 40-45 Kilos of lugging around isn't pleasant.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  18. Mustang68

    Mustang68 (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Messages:
    45
    How did you get to the figure of 40-45kg? Even full of hdd's you would be struggling to pass 35kg.

    Why not look at a lighter case such as a Lian li a71/77?
     
  19. Dr Evil

    Dr Evil Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,837
    Location:
    Perth
    Took it to dad's workshop which has a large scale. Was above 40 kilos with full drives (No hdd's in the 5.25" bay at the time).

    Corsair HX850 + 8800GTX + 5x 3.5" drives + 1x Blu-Ray Burner + Network card + 1x 4 Port SATA RAID Card + 1x 8 Port SATA RAID Card

    Fractal cases are very very heavy for what they are. And I definitely wouldn't spend anything over $200+ for a case that was going to store drives its entire life. Anything above that I would start investing in a server rack :p
     
  20. StreekG

    StreekG Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,807
    Location:
    Melbourne, 3165
    I finally got onto the 120hz bandwagon...

    At first i was like "Yeah i guess its smoother"
    Then i went to nvidia control panel and its default setting is 60, so i changed it to 120hz
    Then the difference became apparent, its amazing! Loving life right now haha

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: May 10, 2012

Share This Page