What have you done to your PC today?

Discussion in 'Modding' started by brayway, Oct 1, 2010.

  1. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    148,200
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Looking good! Although not enough blue :p
     
  2. shane41

    shane41 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,366
    Location:
    dice que no sabe
    OMfakken gawd. One tight Phobya res hey. Recommend vaseline on the
    O rings, perhaps a little on the thread too may help undoing next time
     
  3. shazbot83

    shazbot83 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Location:
    Melbourne, 3082
    MNPCtech CNC acrylic front panel + full Corsair RGBtard setup...

    [​IMG]

    Please don't hate me. :(
     
  4. /invariance\

    /invariance\ Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2012
    Messages:
    940
    Location:
    Brisbane
    That's more colourful than a striped awning.
     
  5. shazbot83

    shazbot83 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Location:
    Melbourne, 3082
    Not the worst response I've had thus far... :p
     
  6. shazbot83

    shazbot83 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Location:
    Melbourne, 3082
    Rerouted GPU power to go down into the grommet at the bottom of the case, and added G.Skill Trident Z RGB memory...

    [​IMG]
     
  7. money_killer

    money_killer Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,384
    Location:
    Sunshine Coast
    Oops wrong forum
     
  8. elh9

    elh9 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2016
    Messages:
    107
    Location:
    Perth NOR
    cleaned up all the parts in my loop, running it with some sysprep type stuff in the loop.
    testing the hardware on air to try to find the cause of an issue that caused the tear down.
    [​IMG]
     
  9. elh9

    elh9 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2016
    Messages:
    107
    Location:
    Perth NOR

    Damn bad luck, lost two cards by the sounds of it ? :(
    Nice upgrade opportunity though I guess :)
    I have the same res as the one that broke on you (alphacool i think?), going to treat it very gently now, what happened that caused it to break like that?
     
  10. Huggy_Bear64

    Huggy_Bear64 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,096
    Location:
    Melbourne, VIC, 3127
    Yeah I was due for an upgrade anyway, so it's not all bad :Pirate:
    The res was a phobya balancer.
    I'm not sure if it broke because it's 5ish years old, or because I used some cleaning chemicals on it that might have reacted with the acrylic.
     
  11. Ratzz

    Ratzz Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Messages:
    9,337
    Location:
    Cheltenham East 3192
    I've watched acrylic tube simply shatter, and been able to just crumble it in my hands, by pouring metho down it to try and shift a stain. Never, ever clean acrylic tube with metho :lol: . Not sure what kind of material the phobya is made of but I think that's the best guess.
     
  12. elh9

    elh9 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2016
    Messages:
    107
    Location:
    Perth NOR
    ah yes, i think only kerosene and naphtha are ok on Acrylic. With my preference always being naphtha (Shellite by Diggers @ bunnings). It is literally the best chemical for cleaning - about as aggressive as isopropyl alcohol but way cheaper.
     
  13. Retard3dDonk3y

    Retard3dDonk3y Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2013
    Messages:
    126
    Location:
    Melbourne
    went from an mITX RVZ01 to a 600T :lol:
     
  14. Narcoticx2

    Narcoticx2 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2003
    Messages:
    4,347
    Location:
    The Redlands
    I drilled two holes in the front of my case...

    I don't have the right tools to mod.. trying to do something like this

    http://www.overclock.net/t/1107685/best-gpu-for-sugo-sg05/80

    I've got the right size card now ready to go in, and the power supply is on the way, so really need to cut this thing.

    Any tips? Not going to buy a dremel, might as well buy a new case if I do that!
     
  15. Ratzz

    Ratzz Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Messages:
    9,337
    Location:
    Cheltenham East 3192
    Dremel = nice neat, professional job you can be proud of, and a cheap Ozito knockoff or whatever will do the job just as well and use all of the same bits a Dremel does, so you can buy the quality consumables. Mind you, a Dremel 200, with a little kit of accessories, is only 70 bucks. Thats just a 2 speed variant, the more expensive ones are variable speed, and the low speed on a Dremel 200 will stall as soon as you try to do anything with it so its effectively a single speed machine. Still very handy.

    You can pick up an Ozito for 30 bucks, but you will need to buy cutting disks with it, there are none in the Ozito kit.


    New case = probably about the same price, or more, depending on which case you use.

    Old case, not done neatly, doesn't cost money, keeps looking at right back at you every time you look at it and saying 'you tightarse... :mad: '.

    A Dremel/knockoff is a tool you will never tire of, and always have multiple uses for. A case is just a case, it only has one purpose.

    Buy a Dremel or a Dremel knockoff. :thumbup:
     
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2017
  16. Grom Hellscream

    Grom Hellscream Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    3,206
    Location:
    SE QLD
    Buy a Dremel knockoff and a pack of genuine Dremel heavy duty cutting disks. I've hammered the shit out of my Ozito and the Dremel disks last longer.
     
  17. Narcoticx2

    Narcoticx2 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2003
    Messages:
    4,347
    Location:
    The Redlands
    Okay, might be the way to go. I think i actually had a rotary tool somewhere, if I can use the dremel cutting disks that might be a win.

    I'm not worried about the cut looking messy, I'm happy to put some rubber U channel stuff there and then put the front of the case back on. Won't even see the damn thing!

    edit: Found it. It's a DSE Rotary Tool. Looks like i'll need to get a dremel attachment and then a cutting disk. Any recommendation on a cutting disk?
     
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2017
  18. Ratzz

    Ratzz Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Messages:
    9,337
    Location:
    Cheltenham East 3192
    5 seconds to change a disc...

    EZ lock mandrel
    5 pack EZ lock cutting disk
     
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2017
  19. Narcoticx2

    Narcoticx2 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2003
    Messages:
    4,347
    Location:
    The Redlands
    Hey Ratzz, thanks for your help, I really appreciate it

    Grabbed a kit with the EZ lock attachment, and 10 cutting discs for everything. Just tried it out and it works a treat. I'm still very noobish at cutting though but it's straight enough. I can file it down, right? Hopefully next post will be a pic of my 1080ti wedged in an SG05 :D
     
  20. tree86ers

    tree86ers Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    340
    Location:
    Brisbane
    added a PSU shroud to my 750D

    [​IMG]


    should be done... for now.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: