What is "H" network?

Discussion in 'Mobile Phones & Devices' started by foxmulder881, Feb 12, 2011.

Tags:
  1. foxmulder881

    foxmulder881 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Messages:
    5,884
    Location:
    Gold Coast, QLD OS:Linux
    I noticed something on my mobile phone the other weekend that I had never seen before. And I'm just really curious as to what it was/is.

    To be specific for location, I was at Byron Bay. Normally here on the Gold Coast my phone says which network I'm connected to at any given time. Obviously the two being "3G" and "GSM". When I was in Byron, it displayed the network as "H".

    What the heck is network "H"?
     
  2. Oppressa

    Oppressa Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2004
    Messages:
    5,551
    Location:
    Sydney
  3. OP
    OP
    foxmulder881

    foxmulder881 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Messages:
    5,884
    Location:
    Gold Coast, QLD OS:Linux
    So assuming your link is correct, it is actually better than 3G?

    If so, how the hell does Byron Bay get this but not the Gold Coast?
     
  4. Oppressa

    Oppressa Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2004
    Messages:
    5,551
    Location:
    Sydney
    Yes HSDPA is faster. In refrerence to Byron vs Gold Coast, depends on how many people are on the towers I guess?
     
  5. Khalil

    Khalil Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    855
    Location:
    Sydney
    Which network are you on ?

    If you're on 3 it might be you are roaming on next g as there is no 3 coverage where you are.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    foxmulder881

    foxmulder881 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Messages:
    5,884
    Location:
    Gold Coast, QLD OS:Linux
    I'm with Virgin, which runs on Optus network.
     
  7. aurionix

    aurionix New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2002
    Messages:
    441
    Location:
    WA
    Technically HSDPA/HSUPA *is* a 3G technology. So it's not "Faster than 3G", however it is faster with the "H" symbol than with the 3G one. Just sayin' ^_^
     
  8. glimmerman

    glimmerman Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Messages:
    2,198
    Location:
    Perth
    well that's completely false seeing as the only people who can use next g are telstra customers.
     
  9. Albinus

    Albinus Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2001
    Messages:
    3,258
    Location:
    Crows Nest, QLD
    The base UMTS speed is a theoretical maximum of 2Mbps, HSDPA is anything up to 21Mbps depending on network, handset and operating limitations. Telstra seems to have the highest downlink and the greatest data speed of any network, that said in a rural town lucky enough to have Optus/Vodafone 900MHz UMTS coverage, you usually get the whole 10Mhz band to yourself and can get some awesome speeds :p
     
  10. eskimo2452

    eskimo2452 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    323
    OMG I've been wondering about this myself - thanks for clearing that up.

    FWIW I'm with Optus in Coffs and i only seem to get the 'H' or 'G' networks. Never had the '3G' icon...
     
  11. Albinus

    Albinus Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2001
    Messages:
    3,258
    Location:
    Crows Nest, QLD
    All 3G networks these days in Australia employ some form of HSDPA, plus Telstra and Vodafone employ EDGE as well (superset of GPRS, 2G network). For some strange reason Optus hasn't followed suit with employing EDGE on their 2G network.
     
  12. nexx

    nexx Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2002
    Messages:
    6,363
    Location:
    Brisbane
    This is the range of connections I get on my phone (in order of speed):

    H = HSDPA (fastest)
    3G = 3G
    E = EDGE
    G = GPRS (slowest)
     
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2011
  13. BuuBox

    BuuBox Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Messages:
    8,894
    Location:
    Melbourne
    3 customers can roam on sections of the Telstra NextG network.

    http://www.cnet.com.au/3-turns-on-telstra-3g-roaming-339295968.htm

    Unfortunately it is very limited, only giving access to less than a third of the network.
     
  14. SaTaN

    SaTaN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2002
    Messages:
    4,762
    Location:
    Caulfield-ish
  15. BuuBox

    BuuBox Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Messages:
    8,894
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Telstra NextG roaming is still in operation for 3.
     
  16. sanjay

    sanjay Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    15,057
    Location:
    Pascoe Vale, Melbourne
    3 customers can still roam onto telstra, its just the third priority after running out of vodafone GSM coverage.
     
  17. hak

    hak Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,921
    Location:
    Doncaster
    im on telstra's edge with 3 sim, its a very old sim card though, like 7 years old :D
     

Share This Page