1. OCAU Merchandise is available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion in this thread.
    Dismiss Notice

What is the best CPU for Asus Crosshair VII Hero WiFi mobo?

Discussion in 'AMD x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by DerekP, Mar 8, 2022.

  1. DerekP

    DerekP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    Messages:
    722
    Location:
    Canberra
    I'm thinking of upgrading my Ryzen which is a 2700X on the Asus board. But i don't know what the board is capable of or if there's much point unless the chip is cheap. It's a X470 chipset.

    https://rog.asus.com/au/motherboards/rog-crosshair/rog-crosshair-vii-hero-wi-fi-model/

    Thinking also of using the 2700X for my unRAID box if i can get a board inexpensively. Is that a dumb idea? I run Dockers and the occasional VM but nothing hardcore.

    Thanks.
     
    nope likes this.
  2. Borg3:16

    Borg3:16 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Messages:
    725
    Location:
    Sydney
  3. randomman

    randomman Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    5,294
    2700x isn't a bad processor and would be overkill just for some containers and a VM. What are your full specs? Maybe you're better off upgrading something else.
     
  4. Nian

    Nian Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,064
    In less than a month, the best will be the Ryzen 7 5800X3D for the ASUS Crosshair VII Hero (Wi-Fi).
     
  5. OP
    OP
    DerekP

    DerekP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    Messages:
    722
    Location:
    Canberra
    Sorry, i've been MIA.. personal problems.

    Yeah, i'm really not sure what i'm going to do. I would prefer an Intel for the quicksync efficiency. So i think i'll keep my desktop as is (the 2700X) and find something non-new for the server :)
     
  6. OP
    OP
    DerekP

    DerekP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    Messages:
    722
    Location:
    Canberra
    Pretty amazing upgrade path! That will be a great upgrade in a couple more years. To be honest, i'm perfectly happy with my desktop as is. Perhaps the video card could do with an upgrade (Radeon 580). I don't think i really need more CPU power right now.

    Cheers! I will keep this info handy.... btw - what's the "3D"?
     
  7. straiton

    straiton Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    571
    Location:
    Adelaide
    derek, AMD added 64MB of vertical cache to the 5800x chip(from 32MB to 96MB), which improves gaming performance significantly

    Only if you're after every fps for gaming. And the $$$ compared to 5800x or 5900x isn't good at the moment.
    Productivity - 5900x or 5950x
     
    Last edited: May 28, 2022
  8. OP
    OP
    DerekP

    DerekP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    Messages:
    722
    Location:
    Canberra
    I've decided I won't be using this PC for the server, so I won't be looking for an upgrade for a while and instead i'll build a server separately. I wouldn't be terribly fussed between the two CPUs - it'd come down to the price difference and availability at the time :) Thanks for the info though! :)
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: