What is throttling my video editing on my PC rig?

Discussion in 'Photography & Video' started by Scratchy, Jun 9, 2019.

1. Scratchy

Scratchy Member

Hi all,
    I'm a photographer that has started to dabble in video. I built my PC around processing photos but in the last year I've been doing more video. I've been using Davinci Resolve 15 which is great but I can't get smooth playback when editing (I guess I'm doing online editing without proxies?). I've tried the optimise media setting and the smart cache which helps a bit but I wondered if there was a particular piece that was bottlenecking my edits? I use DSLR, GoPro & DJI so get a mix of 1080 and 4K content to edit.

Rig is a from 2013 but I figured I'd explore what was the issue before simply buying a new rig.

2013 built
    Intel i7 4770 Haswell 3.4ghz 8mb
    32GB RAM (4x8gb) DDR3 1600 mhz
    2x 250gb SSD Samsung 840 evo (one is primary drive, second is where video is stored/edited).
    Added in 2017
    GPU Nvidea 1060 6gb

I'm running windows 10, which updated from Windows 8. I've been contemplating do a fresh install but I'm interested if this rig is capable of editing video smoothly or if I'm woofing up the wrong tree!

Help appreciated.

2. Jazper

Jazper Member

You’re trying to edit 4K content with insufficient ram and insufficient video card memory for davinci

Those are your primary bottlenecks.

3. theicemagic

theicemagic Member

Looking at your specs, there are two maybe three bottlenecks. Your 840 evos are sata? They will be good but will slow down the copying and accessing speed. Just switching to nvme/pcie will make a huge difference. CPU is a little on the old side, and might be you next stop. The memory is another area... if your working with a small number of files at any one time and short movies, you should be fine... if they’re really long, and many of them... you’ll quickly want more.