1. OCAU Merchandise now available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion here.
    Dismiss Notice

What is throttling my video editing on my PC rig?

Discussion in 'Photography & Video' started by Scratchy, Jun 9, 2019.

  1. bcann

    bcann Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    Messages:
    5,893
    Location:
    NSW
    silly question not having used da-vinci pro, but is it just something as simple as a tick box option like some adobe products where you merely haven't turned on GPU acceleration? Also update video card drivers. And you need some data to actually see the problem rather then replacing bits to see if it fixes the problem. even just simple task manager (on a newer Windows 10 build that also shows GPU Usage) will give you a good deal of info and point you in the right direction. you can then drill down even better in resource monitor.
     
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2019
  2. OP
    OP
    Scratchy

    Scratchy Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    Messages:
    581
    Location:
    Perth WA
    Yes that is a good point. Under GPU setting from Auto I've turned switched it to CUDA for my Nvidea GPU. I've drilled through and while I've changed a couple of small things, there wasn't anything major that should/would impact. Having said that it now feels a bit better. No metrics to say definitely but it is getting close (maybe a fast NVME SSD will push it over the line).
     
  3. Nerb

    Nerb Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    1,219
    Im not sure how davinci works, but with most editors the editing should not be using 4k anyway. All the editing is done in lo res and then it just renders to export in 4k right? Maybe davinci is just shit?
     
  4. OP
    OP
    Scratchy

    Scratchy Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    Messages:
    581
    Location:
    Perth WA
    No Davinci isn't shit. It's me learning the best setup.
    Oscar-nominated films that used Blackmagic Design products include:

    • Marvel Studios’ “Avengers: Infinity War” used DaVinci Resolve, UltraStudio, Smart Videohub 40×40, DeckLink Quad 2, DeckLink Mini Monitor and a variety of converters for on set work by DIT Kyle Spicer;
    • “BlacKkKlansman” graded with DaVinci Resolve Studio by Tom Poole at Company 3;
    • “Bohemian Rhapsody” graded with DaVinci Resolve Studio by Greg Fisher at Company 3;
    • “The Favourite” graded with DaVinci Resolve Studio by Rob Pizzey at Goldcrest Post;
    • “Green Book” graded with DaVinci Resolve Studio at FotoKem;
    • “Hale County This Morning, This Evening” graded with DaVinci Resolve Studio by Dave Francis of Technicolor PostWorks;
    • “Minding the Gap” graded with DaVinci Resolve Studio by Tyler Roth of Company 3;
    • “A Quiet Place” graded with DaVinci Resolve Studio by Stefan Sonnenfeld at Company 3;
    • “RBG” graded with DaVinci Resolve Studio by Ken Sirulnick of Glue Editing & Design, along with using Fusion Studio for stabilizing work;
    • “Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse” graded with DaVinci Resolve Studio by Natasha Leonnet at EFILM;
    • “Solo: A Star Wars Story” graded with DaVinci Resolve Studio by Joe Gawler of Harbor Picture Company;
    • “A Star is Born” graded with DaVinci Resolve Studio by Stefan Sonnenfeld at Company 3; and
    • “Vice” graded with DaVinci Resolve Studio at FotoKem.
    Source: https://www.provideocoalition.com/blackmagic-design-congratulates-2019-oscar-nominated-films/
     
  5. havabeer

    havabeer Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5,766
    Again this isn't true. It's a work around if you're running a system that can't handle editing 4k on the fly. It's a helpful tool on some laptops and less powerful systems.

    But again my setup has no issue with 4k editing at all.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    Scratchy

    Scratchy Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    Messages:
    581
    Location:
    Perth WA
    I understand that if I was doing a large project then setting up proxies etc would makes sense but the majority of my work is bringing 2 or 3 videos in 4K editing it to a sub 1 minute video output, no major effects added and then outputting. With Davinci you can "Optimise Media" which I think creates a proxy but it takes about 10 minutes if the clip is about 4 to 5 minutes long so it sometimes feels quicker just to plough on without a proxy rather than waiting 10 minutes to save a couple of minutes in editing.
     
  7. elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    41,475
    Location:
    Brisbane
    No.
     
    dche5390 likes this.
  8. vladtepes

    vladtepes Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    Messages:
    2,749
    Location:
    Brisbane, Qld
    Interesting thread - your system specs are near identical to my own. :)
     
  9. vorg

    vorg Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2001
    Messages:
    102
    It sounds like you are using the free version of DaVinci Resolve . It does not use the full power of the GPU in your system .

    If you purchase the full Studio version , then it will use more of the GPU , and give better results. About $395 locally .
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: