What kind of mining set up are you runnning?

Discussion in 'Blockchain & Cryptocurrency Mining' started by DarkStyle, Dec 11, 2017.

  1. koss

    koss Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Messages:
    8,014
    Location:
    Vic
    Whattomine and the Nicehash calc both only include the card power. You need to add 60-70W for the motherboard etc. I measure my power at the wall.
     
  2. NerfDude

    NerfDude Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Messages:
    450
    Location:
    Victoria,Australia
    It would be useful to know what hardware makes up your rigs regardless..
     
  3. duck_boy

    duck_boy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    1,258
    Location:
    Southern River 6110
    Not very efficient mining. The wattage that you see only your GPU what about the rest of the compents?
    The barebone system mainboard, CPU, ram and SSD draw around 70w-100w.

    I stop mining Zec now and take a gamble at RVN got 7k RVN, get a round 600RVN a day. I hope to net 10k before the diff get to high.
     
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2018
  4. koss

    koss Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Messages:
    8,014
    Location:
    Vic
    As I mentioned above, I measure my wattage for each PC at the wall, so it includes all the hardware (except the monitor) not just the GPU. That's why I concluded that Zcash is non-profitable at $US 0.22c per kWh for electricity that we have to pay.
    Oh for solar!

    It's quite possible the ZEC price will recover, it's been over 400% higher ($875) than it is currently ($214) I don't know why it's so far down, being about the most anonymous coin out there. It use to be top 10 last year.
     
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2018
  5. 426

    426 Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    221
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Still dont know what makes up your systems?
    How many cards per system?
    Can you consolidate cards into less/single system?

    ~AU 0.30/kwh in Vic? Before or after discounts?
    I've moved over to Globird. After discounts, average price is under AU16c/kwh (inc GST)
     
  6. shredder

    shredder Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2001
    Messages:
    13,969
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Sell off your hot exhaust air to the surrounding buildings for heating :lol:

    But yeah, freaking cool man. :thumbup:
     
  7. Myne_h

    Myne_h Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2002
    Messages:
    11,054
    Tried solo (winner takes all) pool mining eth.
    Few days.
    Got an uncle.
    Fuck yeah!
     
  8. duck_boy

    duck_boy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    1,258
    Location:
    Southern River 6110
    How many Mh/s ?
     
  9. Myne_h

    Myne_h Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2002
    Messages:
    11,054
  10. koss

    koss Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Messages:
    8,014
    Location:
    Vic
    https://www.cnbc.com/2018/03/26/ana...ew-cryptocurrency-mining-chip-from-china.html

    I will be looking for a cheap gtx 1070 for gaming at fire sale price when the ASICs hit the market!
     
  11. NerfDude

    NerfDude Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Messages:
    450
    Location:
    Victoria,Australia
    I believe these Eth ASICS won’t be an enormous improvement on current GPUs in either price/Mh or power efficiency.
     
  12. 426

    426 Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    221
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Perhaps the same thing will happen with dagger that is going to happen next month with cryptonight.
    Wont see much of a fire sale on anything if the devs brick newly discovered asics (that have been mining for the companies selling them now that they will be defunct) by changing algorithms.

    Will be back to the drawing board (for the asic manufacterer (for that algorithm))...and expensive GPUs
     
  13. Court Jester

    Court Jester Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    3,634
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    ll believe in ETH asics when I see them

    they will most likely be dedicated mining GPUS( like the new nvidia 1080ti mining GPU;s) in a custom rig/case
     
  14. Court Jester

    Court Jester Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    3,634
    Location:
    Gold Coast

    I also switched to mining RVN a few days ago I suspect it will pump hard in the next few months.
     
  15. Myne_h

    Myne_h Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2002
    Messages:
    11,054
    What's RVN?

    Got a rough TLDR of its features/why you think it'll pump?
     
  16. duck_boy

    duck_boy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    1,258
    Location:
    Southern River 6110
    I don't mind it it is pump and dump. I intended to keep them for a long run. The diff is more than double when I started to mine it. I hope to get to 20k before it getting to hard.
     
  17. Court Jester

    Court Jester Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    3,634
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    It is raven coin

    New algo that is asic resistant ( X16R -- constantly swaps between 16 mining algorithms)
    good community
    no ico / no premine / no dev reserve

    it has gained a lot of traction in a short amount of time so far with little to no advertising.
     
  18. gmturner

    gmturner Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,384
    Location:
    Launceston
    You still powering ahead with these big plans given the current market? not looking very strong.
     
  19. Myne_h

    Myne_h Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2002
    Messages:
    11,054
    Well I threw the NVs at it but the AMD didnt work.

    Error:
    [10:06:58] Started sgminer 5.5.5-gm-a
    (( ((i+16)*(0x0555555555555555ull)) + SPH_ROTL64(mv,i+1) +
    ^
    <kernel>:357:16: error: 'long long' type is not supported
    (( ((i+16)*(0x0555555555555555ull)) + SPH_ROTL64(mv,i+1) +
    ^
    <kernel>:365:16: error: 'long long' type is not supported
    (( ((i+16)*(0x0555555555555555ull)) + SPH_ROTL64(mv[[10
    07:07] Failed to init GPU thread 0, disabling device 0
    [10:07:07] Restarting the GPU from the menu will not fix this.
    [10:07:07] Re-check your configuration and try restarting.
    Press enter to continue:

    Tried the usual setx stuff but no dice.
     
  20. Court Jester

    Court Jester Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    3,634
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    try
    try using --gpu-platform=1

    I had to on my system with onboard graphics.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: